We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place. Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place. Great service”
Reviewed July 11, 2007

We booked this hotel following the ratings on Trip Advisor and I can only say that we were impressed with what we got. for the money. The suite had a great little kitchen, which was fully equiped and a useful dining area. The hotel is very close to the waterfront and all of the main attractions. In terms of service I can't fault it. We were picked up by the complimentary bus and were also told that we could call to be picked up from anywhere in Victoria. The hotel has a great little shop where you can buy your provisions for the kitchen. This is one of the few hotels that I've stayed in that I would unconditionally recommend.

  • Liked — value, location & service
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeIsotech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    714
    459
    68
    15
    12
See reviews for
357
553
52
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redding,CA
Level Contributor
144 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2007

We booked the Royal Scot after reading positive reviews and obtaining a very good summertime rate. Although the room was not ready at 3:45, they found another one that was and put us there. Room was large and comfortable, though furniture was dated, as were most of the furnishings and carpet in this hotel. Everything, however, was very clean.This hotel is within walking distance of the ferry and the inner harbor. We walked to most attractions but took their very efficient shuttle out to dinner one night and to the castle the next day.

  • Liked — proximity to inner harbor
  • Disliked — dated furnishings
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2007

The room was huge and everything was very clean. We had a room with a kingsize bed in separate bedroom, and a hide-a-bed in living room. When we entered the room, there were two fans on, and the windows were open, which we appreciated. The lady in the giftshop and the front desk staff were VERY friendly. We would return again! They really care about customer service.

  • Liked — Large room size & cleanliness.
  • Disliked — Carpets are looking a bit old.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2007

Terrific hotel, which is well presented and staffed by friendly helpful people.
The hotel is located in a quiet position very close to the inner harbour of Victoria and ideal for all city locations and transport.
Our room was spacious with a good sized bed, large bath/shower room, fridge, microwave oven, tea/coffee making facilities and TV.
There is a large indoor swimming pool and a restaurant that serves an excellent range of good valued food.
It is only a 5 minutes walk to the inner harbour and parliament and no more than 10 minutes to the main shopping district.
I could not fault this hotel or staff.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RWGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Staffs, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2007

Stayed 4 nights at this hotel at the end of June in a studio suite. Could not believe the size of the accommodation, we had a lounge, well equipped kitchen/dining area, bedroom and bathroom. All were immaculately kept and we had useful equipment such as an iron and ironing board, fridge/freezer, full size cooker, microwave, coffee maker, kettle, toaster etc.
Our only complaint was that although the entire floor we stayed on was marked as non-smoking, our suite smelled of stale smoke the minute you opened the door. We used to leave the patio doors open and the fan working to try and disperse the smell, but it was still there, we think this must have previously been a smoking room. Other than that, couldn't fault our stay there, including a decent meal at reasonable cost on our first evening. The location in a quiet tree lined street just a couple of minutes walk to the harbour, parliament buildings etc. was great.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank Laurague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2007

Stayed 4 nights in this great hotel from 25th June 2007. Very impressed by the welcome received by the staff. Room not available when we arrived but we were several hours early and when we returned room was available as promised. Room great, spotless and everything we needed was supplied. In fact there was even a note to say if we'd forgotten anything eg toothbrush, shaving gear etc they would supply it free of charge! Facilities excellent! Pool, hot tub, pool room and leisure room. Even a laundry which was easy to use and cheap!! Gift shop was great with very pleasant and helpful staff. We had breakfast in the hotel which again was AWESOME and staff friendly and helpful. Location was perfect couldn't have asked for more! Not surprised its No 1 with Trip advisor.

  • Liked — Location and facilities
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mentalmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2007

We Booked Here Because We Had a Discount In Our Happenings Book, Plus It Was #1 On TRIPADVISOR.
At First Look I Thought "I CAN'T BELIEVE THIS IS #1 FOR VICTORIA ON TRIPADVISOR". However IT Does Grow On you. Everyone from The Front desk, to the waitresses, maids, information desk & even maintenance guys went above & beyond anything they did. The Place Was Very Well Kept , an affordable price & We Enjoyed The Hot Tub each evening & visiting with other guests. It is in a perfect location for walking to all the touristy stuff in Victoria.

We flew into SEA, drove a couple hours almost to Vancouver & took a ferry to within 1/2 hour of Victoria. When we left we took a ferry directly from Victoria to Port Orchard, WA, Drove An hour to BAINBRIDGE, Then another ferry right in to downtown SEA. Both were enjoyable.

We enjoyed Butchart Gardens, the beach, the free Parliament Tour & just walking around seeing everything from the boats to the street vendors. Our favorite restaurant was Milestone Below the Victoria Information Bldg.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — have to remember to put a card on bed in order to get clean sheets.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tompammc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Scot Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Scot Hotel & Suites

Property: Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
Address: 425 Quebec St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Victoria
#15 Family Hotel in Victoria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Scot Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See why so many people return to the Royal Scot time and time again! Immaculately clean, the Royal Scot is a service oriented hotel, ideal for couples and families alike. Make yourself at home in a Studio or One Bedroom Suite. Both offer a fully equipped kitchen and living room area. Just steps from Victoria's beautiful Inner Harbour, the Royal Scot offers free wi-fi as well as an indoor pool & hot tub, games room, gift shop and free downtown shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Royal Scot Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Scot Hotel And Suites
Royal Scot Victoria
Royal Scot Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing