We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice luxury suite, fabulous flowers, pool, staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Scot Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
132 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“very nice luxury suite, fabulous flowers, pool, staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2007

for my wife's birthday, we enjoyed a 1 bdrm luxury suite, balcony toward harbor, full kitchen for $ 139 CDN, great deal. nice indoor pool, exercise rm, beautiful flowers on the grounds, and staff was most attentive. and everything is very close to the hotel, parking is free... we want to return....

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank garymiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    451
    66
    14
    11
See reviews for
350
540
49
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2007

We booked this hotel on advice from tripadvisor, but it wasn't quite what we expected. We are a family of five who stayed here in a one bedroomed suite on a trip through BC and Washington State. The hotel is in a great location, provided free car parking, an indoor pool and we found the staff extremely helpful.

The suite provided was a fairly good size, but we found the decor and furniture quite dated, the room had a musky smell and the bathroom was tiny.

As Vancouver Island has the warmest winter climate in Canada, we presumed this hotel must be used as a winter destination/getaway for elderly/retired people in Canada as the vast majority of the other guests were older.

  • Liked — Good location
  • Disliked — Decor needs updating
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank madowninguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2007

We spent 2 days here in one of their standard hotel rooms, as opposed to a suite which is moe typical of this hotel. The room was comfortable, with a large iving area with comfy sofa and armchair. The total floor area was easily double that of many luxury rooms I have stayed in in Europe. The staff were friendly and the restaurant attached is good for breakfast.
The location is good. It's in a cluster of hotels close to the waterfront and about 5 minutes walk to the start of the downtown area. A bonus is that the hotel run a free mini bus service that will deliver or collect you to/from downtown so you can save on taxi fares.
One slight downside for us (but may be what you are looking for) is that many of the residents seemed to be on the elderly side and the decor and ambience of the hotel rather reflects this. My mother would have felt very much at home there. But overall, great value for money.

  • Liked — Size & comfort of room
  • Disliked — Elderly ambience
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bassmanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2007

We loved our 4 day stay at the Royal Scot. Our suite was quiet and clean, and the hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. The restaurant had good quality meals ( we usually had breakfast there) and there's a lovely dining courtyard if you chose to eat outdoors. We didn't rent a car because the hotel van was always available to take and retrieve us. All in all, a great experience!

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SondraDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2007

Just returned from Canada. My sister and I stayed at the Royal Scot for four nights. Booked a studio. Very spacious for two people. Full tiny kitchen. Very nicely maintained property. Great location in Inner Harbor. Able to walk to many tourist attractions. Easy access to catch bus to other attractions. Staff very courteous and accommodating. Did not eat in the hotel's restaurant so can't comment on that.

  • Liked — Roomy for two people.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank WandererAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2007

We stayed at the Royal Scot for 2 nights in February.
The location is superb, very close to the Government buildings, and waterfront. We came on the Clipper and did not have a car, so having a complimentary shuttle van was very nice. Our room was ready when we arrived at 11 am, and we didn't have to wait in a long line to check in. The staff was friendly and helpful. The pool and spa were fun for our children, and there are lockers and plenty of towels in the pool's changing room. On the last night of our stay our daughter became sick, so we decided to take an earlier boat home the next day. Having a sick child, luggage and no car we asked if we could have the shuttle take us to the Clipper terminal. The shuttle was not available because of a tour, but the front desk was kind enough to order a taxi for us and the hotel even paid for it!
We have been to Victoria many times and this hotel had the nicest staff and the most comfortable homey feeling to it of any we've stayed at.

  • Liked — Friendly professional staff
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank micki4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2007

We spent our Christmas vacation at the Scot and can't say enough good about it, although it's taken me a time to get to the review.

Here's our story,

We had an accomodation budget of $100/night for a week in Victoria for 2 adults and active 3yr old. Eating 3 meals in a restaurant with a toddler can try everyone's patience, so we needed a light housekeeping suite.

We booked the Royal Scot in the fall during their Fall sale, and got a basic room for only $95 dollars a night, but because we were staying over 2 days, we got a free upgrade to a studio suite with a kitchenette!

HINT: We found hotel websites are rarely up to date and often say they are fully booked when they aren't! We emailed the Scot on a whim and a prayer as it was so highly rated and the only hotel we could find with a pool and LHK. Hotel staff told us about the great deal!

The entire staff are amazing but top marks to front desk folks and the shuttle service people! They never miss a beat! Cleaning staff are very approachable, considerate, and hard-working, but they have a really busy day, so call the front desk if you need anything and they will have your problem solved within minutes!

The 3rd floor studio suite was heaven!

The mattresses are a dream! Even the sofa bed is amazingly comfy. The rooms are fresh and the kitchenette has all the basics you need, including salt and pepper!

We spent our first night in pure luxury in our lovely room, but woke up the next day with a sick toddler. The front desk arranged for the shuttle to take us up to the James Bay walk in medical clinic (you'll be in an out in minutes! - pharmacy right next door or in the Thrifty Mart if you need a few grocieries).

Our toddler had Chicken Pox! They were done within the week, and thankfully didn't bother him much, but we still had to quarantine him in the suite for the majority of the visit. Thanks to the sofa bed, visits from his much adored Grandma and Auntie, and Treehouse TV, he couldn't have been happier! The staff were very understanding and helped us carefully exchange our bedding and towels so that we didn't infect anyone else in the hotel, including the housekeepers. They were very professional and considerate about everything.

Clearly we can see why this hotel is such a hit with so many folks and they have such a popular long-stay program. It really does make you want to stay longer.

My Three top hints for staying at this hotel are:

HINT: Use the shuttle service - it's fast, it's free, and it saves your feet. The shuttle drivers are great guys. Take a card to call them when you are downtown loaded with shopping and tired feet!

HINT: Volunteer to do the laundry! It's right next to the Pool so you can easily slip into the hot tub or swimming pool while you wait! Or do a little exercise in the exercise room, or play billiards or shuffle board or relax in the games room, or use the computer down the hallway. Great amenities!

HINT: If you are super busy, or super lazy, cleaning staff will wash your dishes when you are paying a daily rate! Who knew? What service!

Thanks to all for such a lovely Christmas holiday!

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
13 Thank Prairie_Sunflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#15 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Scot Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Scot Hotel & Suites

Property: Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
Address: 425 Quebec St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Victoria
#15 Family Hotel in Victoria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Scot Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See why so many people return to the Royal Scot time and time again! Immaculately clean, the Royal Scot is a service oriented hotel, ideal for couples and families alike. Make yourself at home in a Studio or One Bedroom Suite. Both offer a fully equipped kitchen and living room area. Just steps from Victoria's beautiful Inner Harbour, the Royal Scot offers free wi-fi as well as an indoor pool & hot tub, games room, gift shop and free downtown shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Scot Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Scot Hotel And Suites
Royal Scot Victoria
Royal Scot Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing