We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A family friendly place minutes to the tourist hot spots.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A family friendly place minutes to the tourist hot spots.”
Reviewed October 25, 2009

We stayed at this charming hotel for two nights on Thanksgiving weekend in a one bedroom suite, with two twins, which was spacious. The suite is like an apartment with a living room, small dining area, kitchen, bathroom (off the hall) and bedroom. Ours also had a small balcony. The place was clean, comfortable and cozy. Would have been perfect for a week long stay.

The rate was $121.50/night, which I thought very reasonable. I believe we had to pay for parking. The hotel is a very convenient walk to downtown and all the touristy areas. They do have a restaurant though we didn't eat there.

Our room was quiet but they were doing work on the roof and my brother (in another part of the hotel) was woken up on Tuesday morning by very loud workers.

My only complaint is that the internet service is not wireless and the connection was not convenient - should be moved to the dining table.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mostly_business1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    460
    69
    15
    12
See reviews for
358
555
53
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2009

My girlfiend and I spent 4 nights here in September. It is close to the inner harbour and downtown, but not as close as the Empress and some others. The hallways appeared fairly worn, as did the rooms, but the appeal of this hotel is that most rooms have their own kitchenettes. We were able to save a bit of money by walking to the grocery store 3 blocks away and getting our own suplies for breakfasts..dining out in Victoria can be pricey. The hotel seems to cater to an older clientele, so I had the pool/hottub to myself each night. Another unique feature is the games room and the shuffleboard and pool tables. When (not if) your feet get sore from walking around Victoria all day, it can be nice to spend the evening relaxing at the hotel.

The service from the staff was excellent, and the shuttle provides fast service around downtown.

The only thing I didn't like was the on site restaurant; the menu is limited and the food, while plentiful, was pretty plain. It also leans heavily on seafood to the point of being difficult to find something without. There are many better restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linco71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2009

In the heart of Victoria. Great location, great service, clean, beautifully appointed rooms, very comfortable. Prefer wireless internet to wired line.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingCanadian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Just a block from the Harbor/Ferry terminal. Easy to walk to anywhere in the central part of the city. Staff was friendly. There was a little construction on the exterior of the building during our stay, but they kept the noise and disruption to a minimum.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrstixSalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2009

My wife, my son (who is 7 years old) and I stayed at the Royal Scot while in Victoria from October 1, 2009 to October 2, 2009 (1 night). The room was great, very clean and confortable. The hotel amenities, such as the pool, were a huge hit with our son. The staff was very nice and very helpful. They shuttled us FOR FREE all over Victoria to the various museums, restaurants, etc.. we wanted to see. They also kept our suitcase a whole day for free after we had already checked out of the hotel and while we were visited a few other attractions before catching a late afternoon ferry to Seattle. They also continued to provide shuttle services for us despite the fact that we were already checked out!
The location of the hotel is also great. They are a block away from the Seattle-Victoria ferry terminal, and a couple blocks away from the Parliament building and the Royal British Wax Museum. Next time our family will go to Victoria, we will stay at the Royal Scot again. A great choice for any family in downtown Victoria.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christeldt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fresno, ca
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Nice, clean room- we got a suite which included a den like sitting area with TV, kitchenette, and a separate bedroom with another TV. Great bath products. Very small bathroom, and warning -NO AIR CONDITIONING!! Fans were provided however. The hotel is older, but charming and very close to everything in Victoria. Note that the store closes at 10- they have the groceries if you want to cook in your mini kitchen, as well as VCR rentals and videos, so plan ahead.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plannit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

If you're taking the Black Ball ferry to get to and from Vancouver you'll find that the location of this hotel is perfect. You can walk between the buildings that are between this hotel and the harbor and you're right at the ferry terminal. So on the morning we left we were able to take the car over there to get in line for the ferry and then go back to our hotel to have breakfast. We were totally happy with our 3-night stay here and wouldn't hesitiate to return. Very walkable to all the attractions of the Inner Harbor. Note: Our guidebook said that the parking is free, but it isn't.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelbymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Scot Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Scot Hotel & Suites

Property: Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
Address: 425 Quebec St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Victoria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#15 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Scot Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See why so many people return to the Royal Scot time and time again! Immaculately clean, the Royal Scot is a service oriented hotel, ideal for couples and families alike. Make yourself at home in a Studio or One Bedroom Suite. Both offer a fully equipped kitchen and living room area. Just steps from Victoria's beautiful Inner Harbour, the Royal Scot offers free wi-fi as well as an indoor pool & hot tub, games room, gift shop and free downtown shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Royal Scot Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Scot Hotel And Suites
Royal Scot Victoria
Royal Scot Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing