We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good rates, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good rates, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

My sister and I spent a weekend at the Royal Scot last November and were very happy with our stay. The cost of the suite we booked was extremely reasonable--less than many of the single rooms at other hotels we considered. The decor is looking just a wee bit tired, but the rooms were clean, cozy, comfortable and quiet. We didn't make much use of the fully equipped kitchen, but we definitely made note of it for the future, and I've recommended the hotel to friends who have kids.

The hotel is within easy walking distance of the Parliament buildings, the Inner Harbour and the Provincial Museum, as well as the main downtown shopping area, but far enough away that it's easy to get an uninterrupted sleep. We'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kern W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    453
    66
    14
    12
See reviews for
354
540
49
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
B.C.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

The Royal Scot provides comfortable guest rooms at a moderate price for such a central location. We particularly appreciated having two comfortable arm chairs for when we were relaxing in our room. It was also handy to have a small fridge in the room. Our room had a huge walk in closet so we could lay our suitcases out without them getting in the way. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub as well and appreciated how clean everything was kept. We were given an early check-in and found the service in the hotel was excellent. We appreciated the quietness of the neighbourhood too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank contemplativecouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
869 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 480 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had a very nice stay at the Royal Scot on a summer trip to Victoria. The location is great and close to many downtown attractions. It was a bonus to have a suite with a separate kitchen (full size fridge and stove plus the necessary dishes and utensils), a separate bedroom and living room for the same price one would pay just for a hotel room. It is showing its age (we also stayed here years ago) but still a very nice place with great service and friendly staff! Front of building comes with a kilted mascot!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank seetheworld2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

This hotel is located in james bay, and is so close to everything downtown. We stayed in a suite with our 3 children and it was very comfy. Nice to have a kitchen and separate bedroom! The staff was very friendly and helpful, we ordered a roll away bed, no problem! We also ordered breakfast through room service and it was very good, and super fast. It is an older hotel but very clean. I think it's a good value as you would pay the same for just a room in many of the fancier hotels! We would stay again for sure!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

We frequently travel to Victoria B.C. to visit our son (who cannot accommodate us in his one-bedroom apartment). We always stay at the Royal Scot hotel because it is an easy walk to everywhere, and for the price of an ordinary hotel room elsewhere, you have a suite with a full kitchen. Always clean, quiet, roomy and reliable. Would not stay anywhere else in Victoria. When a partner snores (not me of course) there is always the living room couch……in a separate room. Beats sleeping in the bathtub in other hotels. Back when I first started staying here in the 80's or 90's, the valet staff wore kilts. Oh well. Time marches on.

Room Tip: Quieter in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 330lynt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had a short getaway to Victoria recently, and had a wonderful stay at the Royal Scot. I had booked the site on the hotel website at a great price, I thought, but then discovered that they were running a Fall special that included an upgrade and free parking - an unbelievable price of $400 plus tax for 5 nights! I contacted the hotel by email and there was no hesitation in extending the offer to us.

When we arrived, we were delighted to discover that we had received a double upgrade from a standard room to a full one bedroom suite. It was a lovely unit - immaculately clean, perfectly maintained, roomy and comfortable. The staff was a joy to deal with.

We regularly visit Victoria, and would stay at the Royal Scot again in a minute! Thanks for a wonderful stay.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dophi49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, possibly the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in. I have nothing negative to say about this hotel, it was lovely. Best hotel we stayed in on our journey from Vancouver via Vancouver island to Calgary. If we ever go back to Victoria we would stay here without hesitation.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Scot Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Scot Hotel & Suites

Property: Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
Address: 425 Quebec St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Victoria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#15 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Scot Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See why so many people return to the Royal Scot time and time again! Immaculately clean, the Royal Scot is a service oriented hotel, ideal for couples and families alike. Make yourself at home in a Studio or One Bedroom Suite. Both offer a fully equipped kitchen and living room area. Just steps from Victoria's beautiful Inner Harbour, the Royal Scot offers free wi-fi as well as an indoor pool & hot tub, games room, gift shop and free downtown shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Scot Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Scot Hotel And Suites
Royal Scot Victoria
Royal Scot Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing