We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in Victoria”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed in a suite at the Royal Scot as part of a package offered through the Black Ball/Coho Ferry. The room was very clean, comfortable, and quiet. There was a small kitchen that had everything we would have needed had we wanted to cook; it was nice to have tea when we wanted it. The downstairs restaurant was convenient - we ate two breakfasts and one dinner there and the meals were decent. The location was a short walk to the ferry and the hotel offered a shuttle that took us into the downtown/inner harbour area. This was especially helpful as my knee was being tricky. We had a good stay here and would be happy to book again if we plan another overnight in Victoria/

Room Tip: The studio rooms with small kitchens are very convenient if you want to prepare simple meals. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cookiebreath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

760 - 766 of 1,406 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

I was in a one bedroom in the 'long stay winter deal' rate but booked 3 days before i arrived, so room selection was pretty poor for a 10 day stay. I ended up in the Royal suite (300) but across the street, hidden in bushes, is another building's air cleaning device which is super noisy around 6 am. You want to book early and ideally select a room facing Kingston St. the south side of the building. Gillian the front desk manager was super with handling my early departure and the hotel staff were professional and accommodating.

Room Tip: book early and ask for a room top floor and facing Kingston St. (south side) for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharonr806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

While visiting Victoria we went to the hotel were we thought we had a confirmed reservation only to find they hadn't any record of us. Front desk phoned the Royal Scot and we got a good room there. Staff very helpful and we would go back.

Room Tip: Like Room 240 we were in 339 and it was noisy as it is over the entrance/office area. Smokers hang a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed here for a week's break. This hotel is older, but in an excellent location, within walking distance of downtown. There is a complimentary shuttle service within a reasonable distance. The room we had was a studio suite which was very clean and well equipped and maintained. We really enjoyed being able to buy a few groceries and save some money by doing so.

The pool and hot tub are clean, but if anything was a bit lacking it was the exercise facilities. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: A studio suite is quite adequate for a couple, even when staying for an extended time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gord P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Compared to other budget hotels in Victoria, the Royal Scot scores top marks. We always stay there when we visit Victoria for a week's break. The location can't be beaten and it has a wonderful relaxed retro feel about it. It's bright, roomy, comfortable, quiet and clean. We get a kitchen unit with a south facing balcony. The staff are very polite, helpful and professional. There's a free shuttle bus to anywhere in the downtown area. The restaurant is very good but slightly expensive. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Visit Victoria often on business, and normally stay at the Royal Scot, not the best hotel in Victoria perhaps but the combination of location, cleanliness, and a great inhouse restaurant made this a nice place to stay. That was until I stayed in the dreaded room 240, it sits over the driveway separating the parking lot from the main entrance. Every diesel truck that leaves and enters passes under your room, and this seems to be a popular mode of transport for the guests, creates a small earthquake effect with full sound effects. (perhaps in preparation for future, more serious events in this part of the world). Since there is no air conditioning or room fans windows have to remain open in order to get any sort of air into the room. I mentioned this to the hotel day manager who indicated that my concern was duly noted but I somehow remain unconvinced that anyone else will not suffer the same fate.
This room is also next to the elevator shaft creating a more low level but distinct vibration. And did I mention the walls in this room are paper thin and if there is nothing on TV you can be entertained by your neighbours since you can hear their every word. (or even worse)
Will I stay here again? Maybe. Will I ever agree to stay in a room facing the parking lot. Never!

Room Tip: Avoid room 240 at all costs and be very wary of any rooms facing the parking lot. The rooms facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Scot, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Scot Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that your were disappointed with your stay this time around.

We do take great pride in our cleanliness and our restaurant. You raise a good point about the noise in room 240. All of our rooms and suites should have fans in the rooms, so I will look into why there was not one in your room during your stay.

If you would like to contact me directly at ggreene@royalscot.com, I can make a note on your file to make sure you are not assigned this particular room in the future.

Sincerely,

Greg Greene
Director of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This gets top marks primarily because of the service. We were there for two nights and from the moment we arrived we were treated magnificently. We were upgraded to a manor suite which was the size of a small apartment and had a separate bedroom, a kitchen, a full size living room and a balcony.
The location is marvelous. It's a couple of blocks from the ferry landing,a block from the Parliament and maybe 3 blocks from the Empress. We didn't have a car and didn't need one. The Inner Harbour is very walkable and even more importantly, you can catch a city bus (the #75 with out changing or the 30 or 31 with a transfer) directly to Butchart Gardens for only $2.50. So, without a car, you can still get to Butchart inexpensively.
While the service was good throughout (Chris, the shuttle driver and Kelly in the restaurant deserve special mention) the best service we received actually came after we checked out. We had planned on taking a float plane to Vancouver but, due to high winds, it was canceled. Stephanie at the front desk was our hero at this point. She first found out our flight was canceled, then she checked the weather forecast and saw it was only supposed to get worse and that's when she looked into an alternate way to Vancouver. What she came up with was a bus to Swartz Bay to catch the ferry to Tsawwassen, then bus to downtown Vancouver. Chris shuttled us to the bus station and we took care of it from there. It wasn't as fun as a float plane would have been but it worked and Stephanie set it all up. Our hero!

Room Tip: If possible request an upgrade to a manor suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelguy51_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 46 in Victoria
2,194 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 46 in Victoria
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 46 in Victoria
1,619 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 46 in Victoria
2,879 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 46 in Victoria
4,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Scot Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Scot Hotel & Suites

Address: 425 Quebec St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Victoria
#14 Business Hotel in Victoria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $97 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Scot Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See why so many people return to the Royal Scot time and time again! Immaculately clean, the Royal Scot is a service oriented hotel, ideal for couples and families alike. Make yourself at home in a Studio or One Bedroom Suite. Both offer a fully equipped kitchen and living room area. Just steps from Victoria's beautiful Inner Harbour, the Royal Scot offers free wi-fi as well as an indoor pool & hot tub, games room, gift shop and free downtown shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Scot Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Scot Hotel And Suites
Royal Scot Victoria
Royal Scot Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing