We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

I went on a weekend trip from Seattle and would definitely stay here again. Everyone from the shuttle driver, concierge/front desk, and maid service was very friendly and accommodating. Also the activities we wanted to do were in walking distance of the hotel. We came slightly before our original room was ready, but they immediately gave us an alternate room to meet our needs. They also gave us a late check out. My wife and I were both very pleased with our stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

766 - 772 of 1,378 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012

We love Royal Scot - We have stayed here a few times over a period of time. Always same great friendly service and very clean. This time we came as "walk-on" passengers taking the Coho ferry from Port Angeles. Hotel is only a short walk from ferry terminal. Another great plus is that they provide courtesy shuttle service. One of the nights it was cold to walk to city so we used their shuttle service.
Had a great breakfast with excellent service by Kelly (I see another review mentioned her as well). Very friendly with recommendations on couple of sites to see. She even wrote down for me name of book to read about the Dunsmuir family. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank love2dine50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This was my first time to take the Port Angeles ferry to Victoria. I chose this hotel based on the price but found after I arrived that even though it was one of the least expensive hotels, it was in great shape and the staff went above and beyond to be friendly and accommodating. It is a hotel that I could easily walk off the ferry with luggage and get to. I highly recommend Royal Scot!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I can't say when I've experience better value. The room was spacious, clean, quiet and convenient to everything. The bonus is an indoor pool and hot tub, both kept very clean. The Royal Scot provides free many things for which higher-priced hotels charge extra: Newspapers delivered to your door, coffee in the lobby, Wi-Fi, early check-in, late check-out, cookies in the room, frig in the room, apples on the front desk, free shuttle van to points around town, plus very personal and friendly service. The hotel has an old-fashioned, boutique feel, with up-to-date decor and service. The price - under $100 a night in winter - is right (but no AC so don't know what things might be like in summer). I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pwiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Our group of 7 had a great breakfast here. The food was tasty, and the service was friendly and efficient. The waitress, Kelly, and her sidekick (sorry, i forgot her name), have been doing the breakfast crowd for years. The prices were reasonable (much better than than at the fancy hotel across the street.)
Cannot comment on the hotel rooms, since we did not stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gmh777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The location was excellent, only 5 minutes walk from downtown, our rooms were spacious, with all modern conveniences, clean and very comfortable. The in-house laundry room was a godsend. Our welcome by reception was excellent. The only reason we did not give the hotel an 'excellent' overall rating was because of the ambience of the restaurant and the somewhat offhand approach to customers by the restaurant staff, unlike most other establishments in Canada. We would still recommend the hotel to others and would stay there in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mushetStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have visited Victoria several times. In August we did a spur of the moment trip and decided to try the Royal Scot located near the Parliament building. We put our 19 year old twins and our 17 year old in the 1 bedroom suite (one bedroom with two beds and a pull out queen sofabed) while we had a king room. We were very pleased with our rooms. The closets were deep, the furniture sturdy and the beds very comfortable. We were looking for something clean, well kept up, with character and a relaxed attitude. We found it at the Royal Scots.
The rooms were very clean, the linens spotless, and not even a dust bunny under the bed. While the teens had a small balcony and a very nice street view we had a view of the parking lot. Amazingly enough it was quiet all night long.
We had breakfast each morning in the restaurant. The service was good, the waitstaff very friendly and the food delicious. The front desk staff was helpful, took the time to talk to us without making it feel rushed and were very nice. Our encounters with other staff members left a positive impression with us. The hotel is not new and does not have the bells and whistles of hotels such as the Delta or Marriott BUT we really enjoyed the hotel and it's atmosphere. The swimming area, pool room and game room were a pleasant surprise. We will definintely return to the Royal Scot on our next visit!

Room Tip: I would choose the suite if traveling with younger children. The queen sofabed, according to my 19...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank F C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 49 in Victoria
2,119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.3 mi away
The Fairmont Empress
The Fairmont Empress
#21 of 49 in Victoria
3,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Scot Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Scot Hotel & Suites

Address: 425 Quebec St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Victoria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#15 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $109 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Scot Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See why so many people return to the Royal Scot time and time again! Immaculately clean, the Royal Scot is a service oriented hotel, ideal for couples and families alike. Make yourself at home in a Studio or One Bedroom Suite. Both offer a fully equipped kitchen and living room area. Just steps from Victoria's beautiful Inner Harbour, the Royal Scot offers free wi-fi as well as an indoor pool & hot tub, games room, gift shop and free downtown shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Scot Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Scot Hotel And Suites
Royal Scot Victoria
Royal Scot Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing