We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new must-stay place in Victoria”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“My new must-stay place in Victoria”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Spent just two nights here, but I plan to stay again every time I'm in Victoria. Why? For starters, having a spacious suite with a full kitchen made my stay with young children so much more enjoyable and relaxing. We were able to stay in for breakfast and eat at a real table, instead of sitting on beds or lining up to an office desk to eat. Add to that the property's location: Just a half block to begin sightseeing at the Parliament buildings. I hadn't even realized how well situated this place was when I booked. A short walk to the ferry, too.

Service at the front desk was excellent. They mentioned that the hotel provides free shuttle service within a 1-mile radius--the entire downtown area with all the sights, including Beacon Hill Park. Wonderful! No need to even find a taxi, just give them a call. On-site amenities were also nice. Our family took advantage of the pool and hot tub, both of which had clean, very clear water. We swam for over an hour and, although it's not a huge pool, it was never overcrowded while we were there. One reason we want to go back is that we didn't have enough time to try out either game room or billiards. Did I mention free WiFi? Included.

Yes, the decor is somewhat older, but our room was spotlessly clean and the bathroom appeared to have been updated. Aged with dignity and distinguished by above-and-beyond service. I will be telling all my friends to stay here.

Room Tip: Choose a suite. If you are able to request a room facing Quebec street, you can see horse-draw carri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agazelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    474
    71
    15
    12
See reviews for
363
570
54
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
THe Northwest
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We got this booking through the Black Ball Ferry Line which gets you from Port Angeles to Victoria, BC. IT is 5 minutes from the dock. The package deal was less expensive than directly through hotel website. I read previous reviews and this hotel is well rated. One person complained the room was too small but single room hotels are never huge based on my experience. The room was very adequate, clean and the area was very quiet. The staff was great. We stowed our bags with no problem and could walk about the city without the gear to worry about. The James Bay Tea Room is just up the street for an inexpensive nice breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NWbackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had originally booked for four nights but ended up staying for seven. We felt so comfortable in our one bedroom luxury suite. The suite was very spacious and after travelling for six weeks it was nice to spread out, unpack and relax. Laundry facilities were greatly appreciated. Did not eat in the restaurant but prices looked very reasonable. Used the shuttle bus a couple of times which was very handy. Great location. Can see why Royal Scot gets such good reviews.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lopsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was a lovely hotel, very centralized and close to everything. Old-fashioned and charming. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duffy-Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Would return in a flash. The room was spacious. It was like staying at a condo. It is an older hotel, but well looked after. Some of the furniture in our first room showed some wear, and the patio furniture could have been cleaned before we got there, but these are very minor things and not complaints. The reservation experience was excellent and the staff very accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilishm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Just spent 3 nights at the Royal Scot. We were very surprised on how accurate of the other good reviews of this hotel was....we agree. The hotel is older but was not musty or showing any wear and tear. The hotel is very well looked after. The pleasant check-in greeting was a good indicator of customer service. The room we had was a one bedroom plus kitchen and sofa bed. It was on the 3rd floor with a balcony. This was great with travelling with a 3 yr old. The room was exceptionally clean. I was concerned that it was a pet friendly hotel that all the rooms would have a pet odor but was advised only a block of room was destinated for pets. The bed was ok and the sheets was very clean. Also, was concerned that there was a kitchen that the room will not be as clean but was surprised that it was kept very neat and tidy. The kitchen was well stocked like dishes and pots for longer stays. The carpet did not have any stains which was impressived compared to other hotels we've been to. The bathroom did not have any urine odor and was spotless. The shower curtain was bleach white so know it was washed frequrently which I know most hotel does not do. The only negative there was constant banging of the pipes between the walls when the water was turned on from the other rooms. The bath tubs was very clean and there was no wall tiles but a shower surround which is good again no mold on grout lines. We used the swimming pool and hot tub nightly. My 3 yr old enjoyed the pool. The size of the pool was just perfect for his age...deepest depth 5th. The elevators was pretty fast. We did go to the restaurant for breakfast on our last day. It was pricely and not that good. We went for convenience. There was a $12 parking fee. Overall, the hotel is very clean and walking distance to the habour. We would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank page l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Royal Scot Hotel is an excellent choice of hotel to stay..the room were spacious, clean and complete with full kitchen. The location is great, just few minutes walk to Inner Harbor. The service was pleasant, especially at the Jonathan's restaurant..The only problem we faced was the wi-fi signal was too low..so had hard time using the internet that we needed so much to browse about getting around Victoria. Otherwise, this hotel is just great!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ananas103_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,996 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Scot Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Scot Hotel & Suites

Property: Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
Address: 425 Quebec St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Victoria
#15 Family Hotel in Victoria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Scot Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See why so many people return to the Royal Scot time and time again! Immaculately clean, the Royal Scot is a service oriented hotel, ideal for couples and families alike. Make yourself at home in a Studio or One Bedroom Suite. Both offer a fully equipped kitchen and living room area. Just steps from Victoria's beautiful Inner Harbour, the Royal Scot offers free wi-fi as well as an indoor pool & hot tub, games room, gift shop and free downtown shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Royal Scot Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Scot Hotel And Suites
Royal Scot Victoria
Royal Scot Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing