We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, nice staff, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, nice staff, good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

Like others have said this hotel is slightly dated. That doesn't really bother me. It is very clean and that definitely matters to me. I found the rooms to be quiet, also. They have a nice pool, jacuzzi, game room, pool room etc. And the rooms are large and very comfortable. I would definitely stay here again. It's in a very convenient location, right at the harbor and a block from the ferry terminal that takes you to Pt. Angeles, so you can easily leave your car in PA and go to Victoria as a walk-on, thereby saving yourself about $80. I had breakfast at the restaurant and it was very good and the service was fairly quick.

Room Tip: Go to the website and look for a HOT deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tatom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    453
    66
    14
    12
See reviews for
354
540
49
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

Very close (within a very short walk ) of the ferry, parliament and the Empress Hotel. The room included a two bed bedroom and a comfy roll away, so three girls were quite comfortable. Clean accommodations and great hotel staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam152300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

This is a very nice hotel with a super friendly staff. Its an older hotel and the furnishings show it but its neat and clean and I enjoyed my stay. My only complaint is that they are doing what looks like renovations in some of the rooms and having to listen to sawing, hammering, drilling and just overall noise from 9-5 each day got a bit annoying. Also my room overlooked the street where the busses park and the idoling of the engines was constant to the point that I had to shut my window or breathe in the exhaust. But I don't blame the staff for this and I assume its temporary so I would definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shmengals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Scot, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Scot Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

I am sorry that the noise from our bathroom renovations caused you concern. We have asked the contractor to be as quiet as possible, however the nature of the work is that there is some associated noise. We plan to stop the work until the fall when we can close an entire wing to minimize the disturbance to our guests.

I hope that when you visit us next you will enjoy the benefits of the completed upgrades.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

This was our second visit to Victoria, and we returned to stay once more at Royal Scot. The accommodations are great and the people, too. In fact they even got our room ready before check in time, so I could get some rest.... I was fighting off some virus the day we arrived. The front desk was so helpful in making arrangements. We also enjoyed using the shuttle service around town ... Mike was so kind! The location allows easy walks or bike rides to downtown Victoria, the park, the wharf, the museum, and our favorite tea room, St. James Bay Tea Room and Restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaiamaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

Spent two glorious weeks at the RS. Room was clean and well appointed for long term stays. We enjoyed a daily red delicious apple from the front desk that helped keep the doctor away during our stay. We loved exercising in the swimming pool and detoxifying in the sauna. I can't say enough compliments about the staff. Big thanks to Erin for making it possible for us to stay at the RS for a special rate and a free upgrade that made our 15th year engagement/wedding anniversary possible. The front desk doll, Shaleen who took the booking, Viki, Dayna, and Derrik who were extremely helpful, very friendly, down to earth, and excellent front line representatives made our stay very special. There is so much to do downtown. Take a short trip around the city, or take a ride on a double decker bus, and a tea party in your room every afternoon.
The only con to our stay was watching how some parents took their loosely diapered kids into the pool. Other than the lack of signage in that regard, we were quite happy and hope to see you all soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the Manor, fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Two_For_Tea_Time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level Contributor
161 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

This place was a real suprise with the suite layout. Large clean comfortable with a full kitchen. A chance to do some home cooking. A full range of amenities for guest use and 150 metres from the harbour yet quite as a mouse. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetireeBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

This is a clean and tidy hotel with spacious rooms, yes it is in need of a bit of an update but that is just aesthetics. Staff are very warm and welcoming.
Great location very close to all the activities Victoria has to offer, a pleasant walk right to the heart of downtown and if you fancy a horse and carriage tour they are just around the corner.
Food: Personally to save disappointment i would recommend you have a walk down town, there are plenty of other restaurants to choose from as the hotel food is over priced for the quality that is served. Very average.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sportbilly76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Scot Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Scot Hotel & Suites

Property: Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
Address: 425 Quebec St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Victoria
#15 Family Hotel in Victoria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Scot Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See why so many people return to the Royal Scot time and time again! Immaculately clean, the Royal Scot is a service oriented hotel, ideal for couples and families alike. Make yourself at home in a Studio or One Bedroom Suite. Both offer a fully equipped kitchen and living room area. Just steps from Victoria's beautiful Inner Harbour, the Royal Scot offers free wi-fi as well as an indoor pool & hot tub, games room, gift shop and free downtown shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Scot Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Scot Hotel And Suites
Royal Scot Victoria
Royal Scot Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing