We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
290 results
Traveler rating
140
92
31
11
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
140
92
31
11
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great room e bikes air hockey housekeeping award full size fridge and stove gorge road bike storage the galloping goose trail royal jubilee hospital an older building minute drive hard boiled eggs shuttle service bed and pillows staff went out of their way great sleep very nice stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 290 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2019 via mobile

If you are looking for a budget accommodation, this will do. I visited with my family but we ended up seeking a different place that was a little less run down.
The beds are comfy but the rooms are small and on the stuffy, aged side of things... Not the renovated rooms I had read about on other reviews.

Breakfast was okay, consisting of baked goods, fruit, yogurt, hard boiled eggs and oatmeal packs.
The Great Room entertained the teens with me thanks to the air hockey and pool table but the smell of mould was a bit much for me at times.

Front desk staff were very courteous but a couple of the guests were enthusiastically enjoying their bongs directly outside of our room. Be nice to see the property go smoke free.

Nice to see a compost bin in the room but surprising to see no yogurt cup recycling in the breakfast room.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank sarahw813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamK3313, General Manager at Robin Hood Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Sarahw813,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all guest reviews with the hope of learning more about what guests like and dislike, giving us the opportunity to continue providing more value for our guests to enjoy.

We are happy that you took advantage of our special price promotion, but it was disheartening to us all that we didn’t meet your expectations for décor and room size. When we reviewed your room assignment, it read that you requested a Queen Suite and a Queen room that were side by side. We are sorry that the only rooms that would meet your request included one of our smallest queen rooms. For the most part, our rooms are much larger than you would find in newer properties.

The Queen Suite and the queen room hat you stayed in are being turned into a two-bedroom/two-bathroom suite that includes a full apartment-sized kitchen, small dinette, and living room and separate access. The work will be completed at the end of February. I have asked our front office manager to send you a gift certificate for a complimentary stay in this new room configuration. We hope that you will accept the gift certificate and will enjoy your stay experience.

When I read your comment about the Great Room smelling of mould, I asked the maintenance and housekeeping team to inspect the room with me. I wish that I could say that we found something that would make the room smell as you described so we could make corrections, but we didn’t. Perhaps it may have been the smell of a guest’s damp jacket from the rain that day. We just don’t know. The room is new, only one-year-old this January and our award-winning housekeeping team use great care in keeping all areas clean and tidy. No matter, we are sorry that you felt poorly about the room.

I am not sure if you were aware that all our plates, cups, and what look like plastic glasses, are all made from corn and organic materials that are compostable. The only items that are placed in the trash are the plastic yogurt cups and foil lids and the single-serving jam containers. Even the cutlery is made from corn fibre and is compostable.

Thank you for mentioning the guests smoking outside your room. Our current smoking policy allows guests to smoke in two designated areas that are away from Windows and doors by 25 meters. We apologize that there were guests that were smoking near your room. Our smoking policy is on our guest registration form, and the penalty for smoking other than in approved areas is $600.00. We will do better at ensuring that the policy is adhered to.

On behalf of the entire Robin Hood Hospitality Team, we hope that we were able to satisfy your comments in our reply, and we thank you for caring enough to let us know your thoughts. We would love to have you back to have the opportunity to earn 5 bubbles on your next stay experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2019

Our experience with the Robin Hood Motel was first rate re: the friendliness of staff, the convenience of location and facilities and the excellent value. All staff placed emphasis on guest comfort and everything was as described on the website. Very clean, new furniture, excellent bed and handy shuttle service. Great walking trails along the Gorge Waterway and easy access to parks and all parts of the Victoria region. Thanks to all of the staff!

Date of stay: December 2019
Thank exploremore2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamK3313, General Manager at Robin Hood Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2019

Hi exploremore2015,

Thank you for writing such an outstanding review of your stay experience with us. I am sure that every team member that reads this will be very pleased to know that their efforts and commitment in meeting our quality promise has been kept on all counts and in all areas and most importantly, met your expectations. We strive to consistently deliver outstanding quality services and understand that the beds, linens, pillows, towels, complimentary high-speed WI-FI (60 to150 mbps, depending on the device) shuttle service are some of the most desirous features guests want most.

We hope that the next time that you stay with us you’ll try our complimentary e-bike rentals to ride along the many trails further leaving you feeling fully energized at the end of your ride. Beginning March 15th and ending on October 15, 2020 complimentary Kayak rental will again be offered to our guests to paddle and explore the Gorge waterway. Beginner instruction is available for free. Personal flotation devices Included.

We pride ourselves in offering more than the best sleep ever. We offer more ways to have fun and discover our amazing City than any other Victoria hotel. The standard 100 cents in every dollar may come up short in value elsewhere but the Robin Hood turns each dollar into nearly 190 cents in value adds and complimentary amenities.
Would it make sense to stay anywhere else? We’re glad that you chose us.

When you book with us directly, you’ll receive an instant 10% returning guest loyalty reward. Use your smartphone and all our front desk mobile phone at 1.250.885.8119 and text or Video Chat using your favourite Video Chat App like WeChat, WhatsApp, Line, Duo and Messenger. Save us on your app for easy reference. Thank you for writing such an outstanding review of your stay experience with us. I am sure that every team member that reads this will be very pleased to know that their efforts and commitment in meeting our quality promise has been kept on all counts and in all areas and most importantly, met your expectations. We strive to consistently deliver outstanding quality services and understand that the beds, linens, pillows, towels, complimentary high-speed WI-FI (60 to150 mbps, depending on the device) shuttle service are some of the most desirous features guests want most.
We hope that the next time that you stay with us the weather will be nice and you’ll try our complimentary e-bike rentals to ride along the many trails further leaving you feeling fully energized at the end of your ride. Beginning March 15th and ending on October 15, 2020 complimentary Kayak rental will again be offered to our guests to paddle and explore the Gorge waterway. Beginner instruction is available for free. Personal flotation devices Included.
We pride ourselves in offering more than the best sleep ever. We offer more ways to have fun and discover our amazing City than any other Victoria hotel. With us, the standard 100 cents that add up to a dollar, that may come up short elsewhere, is turned into nearly 190 cents in value adds and amenities at the Robin Hood Inn & Suites. Would it make sense to stay anywhere else. We’re glad that you chose us.

When you book with us directly, you’ll receive an instant 10% returning guest loyalty reward. Use your smartphone and all our front desk mobile phone at 1.250.885.8119 and text or Video Chat using your favourite Video Chat App like WeChat, WhatsApp, Line, Duo and Messenger. Save us on your app for easy reference. Hoping to see you soon.

Thank you again for writing and posting on TripAdvisor.
Happy Holidays, Merry Christmas, and may this New Year be amazing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2019

Pos: The staff are super friendly and helpful. The room was spotless. Bed was cozy and comfy. Nice hot showers. Hotel is situated in a good location.

Neg: Parking can be a little tight when parking lot is full. Breakfast (although greatly appreciated) could be improved.. i.e. provide hot eggs.

I would definitely stay again. Excellent value motel.

Great there is a fridge in the room and kettle was provided immediately when I asked.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank T2011OHheidiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamK3313, General Manager at Robin Hood Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2019

Hi T2011OHheidw,

Thank you for your title of Above Average and for giving us 5 bubbles. Our award-winning Housekeeping team appreciates your comments about the room cleanliness and getting recognized for their hard work in keeping the hotel spic and span for our guests. We know that if you don’t have a good night’s rest, what the point of staying at a hotel?

I am glad that you enjoyed our breakfast and your suggestions of adding hot eggs are already on the drawing board for the next breakfast setup configuration that is coming soon.

All of us are dedicated to being at your service always. We hope to see you again soon. When you book direct, you’ll receive an instant 10% returning guests loyalty reward. Use your smartphone and enter our front desk mobile number 1.250.885.8119 and text us or video chat on your favourite video chat apps such as WeChat, WhatsApp, Line Duo, and Messenger. Save us on your app for quick reference.

Thank you again for writing and posting on TripAdvisor.
Happy Holidays, Merry Christmas, and have a terrific New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2019 via mobile

Clean comfortable and very friendly staff! The extras include free shuttle as well as free use of brand new e-bikes, you don’t find that anywhere else especially at such a reasonable price! The Robin Hood will be our “go to” accommodations when we come back!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Leanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamK3313, General Manager at Robin Hood Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2019

Hi Leanne M,
Thank you for rating us with 5 bubbles and for writing a review about your stay with us on TripAdvisor. Every member of the hospitality team appreciated reading your comments about the cleanliness of the hotel and how everyone made you feel welcome. Our teammates are dedicated to your wellbeing and comfort to make your stay pleasant and memorable.

We are very proud to be able to offer more ways to enjoy and to discover Victoria, than any other Victoria Hotel without the extra fees and charges. When we say it’s complimentary, it is free, no charge, with our compliments! Going above the rest is easy when you’re an independent family-owned small business whose hospitality team truly cares about their guests. That hasn’t changed since 1963.

We’d love to see you again. To make it easier, you can use your smartphone and dial our front desk Mobile phone 1.250.885.8119 to text with us or use your favourite Video Chat app like WhatsApp, WeChat, Line, Duo and Messenger. when you book direct, you’ll instantly receive a 10% returning guest loyalty reward.

Thank you again for your kind words. Happy Holidays, Merry Christmas, and Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2019

Hubby and I stayed at the Inn December, 2019. The room had two queen beds which were very nice and comfy. The beds had a great mattress and good pillows that had some substance to them. The room was clean, shower head could be adjusted to the type of massage type water you wanted to flow from it and the towels were thick. The TV had a number of channels, which was great and a decent breakfast was served in the morning. Best part were the comfy beds because when you are traveling, nothing is better than a good night's sleep.

Room tip: There is a courtyard if you ask for that view, they can probably accomodate you.
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pakpc52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamK3313, General Manager at Robin Hood Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2019

Hi Packpc52,

Thank you for rating us on Tripadvisor and for the wonderful comments about your stay with the exception of the showerhead. I believed that as soon as you mentioned the showerhead on checkout, we did have it replaced with our WaterPic 7 Mode shower massage hand wand. We were all confused as to why your room didn’t have on since we replaced all the standard showerheads nearly two years ago. Thank you for telling us about it. At the same time, we also upgraded to the luxurious Craftsmanship of the Stearns & Foster mattress and Eden Textile Opulence Collection of Linens, duvets, pillows, and 100% Egyptian cotton towels in the bathroom.

To that point, we are the only Victoria hotel that provides guests with the luxury of Egyptian cotton towels. The exclusive comfort model designed Stearns & Foster beds are only available in Victoria at the Robin Hood Inn & Suites and on the VIP level at only one Victoria 5-STAR hotel.

We’re glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will stay with us again. We’d like to earn 5 bubbles on your next visit.

We wish you Happy Holidays, Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews