We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfortunately...a bad review”
Review of Robin Hood Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Robin Hood Motel
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Westcoast_Girl
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Unfortunately...a bad review”
Reviewed May 11, 2009

I am a loyal Trip Advisor visitor and I also love to review the places I stay as I have found that this site is very accurate! I read the reviews on here, and so when we were booked to stay here for a film we were working on, I had no worries. It is central, clean, basic and good value, although quite in need of a renovation. Some rooms even have kitchens, albeit dated decor and all that - but not a concern.

My concern lies with how rude the staff was to me. It is a husband and wife that run the motel, but I can honestly say I have never been treated so rudely in my life. They were so judgmental and I think wrote us off as punks as soon as we moved in, even though we are all thirty-something professionals. We are a professional film crew and work almost 16 hours a day - we basically slept there each night and were gone all day. They were rude to any visitors that came to visit, and I was just shocked and disappointed that given the business we had given them in the shoulder season, it has been such a negative stay. If it were up to me, I would have left immediately but our production booked the motel.

There was a senior citizen's group staying while we were there, and they smoked like chimneys outside their rooms and were louder than any of us - however, I think we were blacklisted from the start.

I have travelled all over the world and have yet to be treated with such contempt and judgment, and just plain rudeness as this gentleman who owns the motel has been. To boot, every motel room has framed biblical verses on the walls. Perhaps he should re-read them!

I hate to badmouth local motels as they are a nice break from the standardized chains, but I will absolutely not be back, and I will be sure to share my experience with anyone travelling to Victoria. The economy is such that there is no room for such behaviour in the tourism industry. Disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank VanBC_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    37
    21
    8
    10
See reviews for
31
43
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2008

I stayed here with my teenage sons. The unit was clean and well equipped. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. This motel is great value for money and well located - only a 5 minute walk down to the waters edge. A supermarket and other shops are only a 3 minute drive away. Downtown Victoria is about 5 minutes in the other direction.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2007

An average, basic room that’s reasonably priced for Victoria. No AC or closet, but fairly roomy. Quite clean. Good staff.

It’s on Gorge Road—not in downtown Victoria, but close enough—in a pleasant, older middle class neighborhood that has a number of motels and apartment houses. Good walks nearby along the “Gorge”.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank barent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2007

This was the fourth time in the past 3 years that I have stayed at the Robin Hood Motel in Victoria, BC, and on each occasion I have found the rooms to be exceptionally clean and odour free, a staff that goes out of their way to be helpful and accommodating, a place where tourism is a high priority amongst the staff who make great suggestions for day trips, places to visit and things that are a must to see during your visit to Victoria. The location is ideal for bus connections to the down town area and if you are ambitious and don't mind the exercise, it is even within walking distance. When I return to Victoria in the spring, I will again book a room at the Robin Hood and will continue to recommend it to anyone who asks me about my choice for the best place to stay at a reasonable rate.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Albertan_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, WA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2007

This was one of the cleanest (and I mean clean!) and nicest motels we've stayed at in a long time. The room was spotless, and spacious, as was the bathroom. There was no smell, no smoke, no grime, no dirt - nothing like that at all!! (Believe me, I'm picky, so when I say CLEAN, I mean it!!)
It was quiet too, and the bed was quite comfortable.
We have stayed in a few famous 'chain' motels that didn't even compare to this one!! We enjoyed our stay very much. It was restful and convenient.
The staff were all friendly and helpful and 'down to earth!'
We were very pleased with our stay and actually stayed another night there before heading back home. The price was very reasonable, especially compared to other comparable motels in the area. I highly recomend this motel.

  • Liked — The cleanliness and spaciousness of the rooms.
  • Disliked — No pool.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sassh53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2007

Very nice, clean place for an overnight. The staff was friendly and attentive. Privately owned, and operated with a pride missing from big chains. Located on the bus line, but next time we'll bring/rent a car. Not air-conditioned but fans were provided during an unusual heat wave for this part of the world. We had a little problem with people smoking outside their rooms but nothing that couldn't be resolved with a friendly word. Beverages were available for purchase out of the lobby refrigerator--a nice homey touch. Lastly, the shower was the best with strong pressure. We'll definitely stay again.

  • Liked — Staff, value, clealiness
  • Disliked — Limited amentities
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Birdwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2007

Because of flooding in BC, our travel plans changed and I booked this motel by phone the day before. It is the worst motel I've stayed in in decades. The nonsmoking room smelled so horrible it took my breath away. Our friends' smoking room was even worse. These people haven't put $1 into even basic cleaning or maintenance for years. Old, ugly, dirty, smelly, nasty. The worst, the worst, the worst.

  • Liked — Nothing -- gross, nasty, smelly, awful
  • Disliked — It was completely horrible
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank k8b51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Victoria hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#25 of 49 in Victoria
868 reviews
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#37 of 49 in Victoria
209 reviews
Burnside
Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Paul's Motor Inn
Paul's Motor Inn
#40 of 49 in Victoria
188 reviews
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#44 of 49 in Victoria
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robin Hood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robin Hood Motel

Property: Robin Hood Motel
Address: 136 Gorge Rd E, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 1L4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Robin Hood Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family owned business takes pride in offering clean and comfortable accommodation for excellent value. The Robin Hood is centrally located just 3 km from Victoria’s beautiful Inner Harbour and its attractions. Access to the Galloping Goose walking/cycling Trail is nearby. We offer a variety of different rooms including sleeping rooms (some with optional kitchens), kitchen suites with separate bedrooms, and large kitchen suites that can accommodate 6 persons. Wireless internet, local calls, parking and the lobby's guest computer are all provided at no charge. Other features include a picnic area, coin-operated guest laundry and bicycle storage. There are discounts available for seniors, AAA members, and groups. Weekly and monthly rates are offered in the off-season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Robin Hood Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robin Hood Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing