We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“double queens - grnd flr - 241 - booking.com” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Robin Hood Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Robin Hood Motel
Ranked #39 of 56 Hotels in Victoria
Bussum, Holland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“double queens - grnd flr - 241 - booking.com”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Pros - friendly & helpful staff, very large room, good location 2kms from inner harbor, excellent beds & pillows, strong Wi-Fi, good airco , neat & clean
Cons - slight smell
Little dated but good value for money

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    35
    20
    8
    10
See reviews for
28
40
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stayed once many years ago and in spite of the ramshackle second hand store furniture the place was not too expensive considering the price of the average Victoria hotel.

Another attempt at a stay didn't work out and despite cancelling the reservation in time they still charged the credit card. I explained the situation to the credit card company and it reversed the charge. I then received an abusive phone call at home from the hotel manager or owner complaining about that. Needless to say I can only recommend to stay away from this place and its methods.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinHoodMotel, General Manager at Robin Hood Motel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am disappointed to hear that you had a problem with the cancellation of your reservation. We do have a 48 hr cancellation policy and if you would please email me your name, arrival date and cancellation number, which is always issued to insure no charges are incurred, I would be more than happy to investigate to find out what happened. Our email is info@robinhoodmotel.com
Kind Regards,
Karen Styba, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Victoria hotels

Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had to book a motel on the Gorge on the spur of the moment and the Robin Hood was in a good location for us. I asked the front desk for the best price they could offer us - just under a hundred. Later I found on line offers that were considerably cheaper. That is irksome,but the room itself had an old fashioned charm as the entry was a comfortable lounge, there was a full kitchenette and the bedroom was down the hall and private at the back. Surprisingly quiet.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fisher_eye_lens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinHoodMotel, General Manager at Robin Hood Motel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Robin Hood Motel. We are happy to hear that you had a good stay with us. Our policy is to offer the same rates in person or over the phone as we offer on line and in the future if you do see a rate better than we are quoting you, please let us know so that we can offer it to you. At times, as may have been the case over the long weekend, not all room types shown on line are still available at the property level. Our apologies.
Kind Regards,
Karen Styba, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We chose this property for price and availability. We found the staff very friendly and the overall atmosphere easy-going. We had a kitchenette, a sitting area and bedroom (plus bath with bright yellow tub). The sitting area faced the street which is quite busy (noisy) during the day but quiet at night. There is no airconditioning so a bit stuffy when humid - and the lock on the sliding window did not work, so security was a bit of a worry.
Unfortunately we found small insects (silverfish?) crawling on the eating table on the first morning, and a piece of dried noodle on a placemat, as well as a potato chip on the carpet in the bedroom. We don't think this is typical of the whole property but it was a bit disconcerting for us. However since accommodations in Victoria over the long weekend were tight and we didn't spend more than sleeping time in the room so we carried on.
Overall I would see this hotel on par with a holiday cabin - homey, rustic, warm and friendly.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage try to get on the main floor - or close to the stairs - there is no ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IamKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinHoodMotel, General Manager at Robin Hood Motel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send in your review of the Robin Hood Motel. We have repaired the window noted in your comments. We would like you to know that most of our rooms in the newer wing have air conditioning and that there is a ramp located off the back parking lot which accesses the second floor. Please let us know that you would like air conditioning when calling us for reservations in the future and we would be happy to reserve one of those rooms for you.
Kind Regards,
Karen Styba, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I would not hesitate to enjoy another stay. So accommodating, had to switch our stay dates, as we were on a motorcycle, and was a major rain storm on our original date, even on a busy long weekend they managed to get us a suite where we had full view of the bike..right under the awesome huge old forest tree right outside our window....friendly, clean, reasonable, we will absolutely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinHoodMotel, General Manager at Robin Hood Motel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and found our staff to be friendly and helpful. Your positive feedback is indeed appreciated!
Kind Regards,
Karen Styba, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Residential neighborhood, pretty quiet on weekends, lawn mowers in the morning on weekdays. Two floors, no elevator. Rooms pretty clean, equipped with kitchen, parking space somewhat limited but not too bad. Free internet, routers slightly overloaded hence a bit slow at times but overall usable. Staff helpful and responsive. No restaurant on site, but several in the vicinity. 5-10 minutes from downtown. Front desk is only open till 11 pm in the evening, but they called me shortly before 11 to check if we are coming (we were arriving late on 11 pm ferry from Port Angeles). Overall, good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexkorlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinHoodMotel, General Manager at Robin Hood Motel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Robin Hood Motel. We are happy to hear that overall you felt you had good value for your dollar! We have recently upgraded and protected our free WIFI and our current guests are finding the service much improved.
Kind Regards,
Karen Styba, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed 7 nights, very clean, well equipped, comfortable bed.Quite.
Free bus into and home from the city each day 2 time frames.
Very helpful friendly staff. restuarants with in 5min walk , supermarket a short drive away.
highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinHoodMotel, General Manager at Robin Hood Motel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Robin Hood Motel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and our hospitality during your stay with us and we look forward to an opportunity to be of service again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Karen Styba, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#37 of 56 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#28 of 56 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 stars 727 reviews
Downtown
Paul's Motor Inn
Paul's Motor Inn
#41 of 56 in Victoria
3.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#47 of 56 in Victoria
3.5 of 5 stars 672 reviews
Comfort Inn & Suites
#38 of 56 in Victoria
3.5 of 5 stars 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robin Hood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robin Hood Motel

Property: Robin Hood Motel
Address: 136 Gorge Rd E, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 1L4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Robin Hood Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family owned business takes pride in offering clean and comfortable accommodation for excellent value. The Robin Hood is centrally located just 3 km from Victoria’s beautiful Inner Harbour and its attractions. Access to the Galloping Goose walking/cycling Trail is nearby. We offer a variety of different rooms including sleeping rooms (some with optional kitchens), kitchen suites with separate bedrooms, and large kitchen suites that can accommodate 6 persons. Wireless internet, local calls, parking and the lobby's guest computer are all provided at no charge. Other features include a picnic area, coin-operated guest laundry and bicycle storage. There are discounts available for seniors, AAA members, and groups. Weekly and monthly rates are offered in the off-season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Robin Hood Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robin Hood Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing