We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and outdated”
Review of Robin Hood Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Robin Hood Motel
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Campbell River, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Old and outdated”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This motel appears quite cheap, but you can get better value for your money. Our room was very oldfashioned and quite smelly. The location is also not great, quite far from the city center. The room was also not cleaned very well. Not recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mikkasscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    37
    21
    8
    11
See reviews for
32
44
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We were traveling as a family and had a 60 pound Border Collie with us. We had two big bedrooms (one with a couch and overstuffed chair) connected by a fully stocked kitchen. It was great to have all that space. After a hectic day of sight seeing we came back and just enjoyed kicking back in front of the TV for an evening. This place is incredibly quiet and has good dog walking areas all around. What traffic there is quiets down at night because it is at the edge of residential neighborhoods.

The furniture and decor is older to the point of being vintage cute. It is like staying at Grandma's house with a flat screen TV. There are little outdoor sitting areas although people do seem to use them as smoking areas.

I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were in the back near the residential neighborhood and away from the main street. The wing along...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at the Robin Hood Motel for two nights so we had a full day to go whale spotting. The motel is a little dated however very clean and quiet (apart from the seagulls).
It's outside the centre of Victoria but there's a lovely 30 minute walk along a scenic route. Staff were helpful, in particular Art who has great stories to tell.
By the way, we saw lots of Orca killer whales out on a fantastic RIB boat experience from Victoria! Book via the helpful tourist information centre staff as you'll get a discount!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revelstoke, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The person at the desk in the evenings is very helpful and accommodating. The morning woman is a bit abrupt and comes across unfriendly, just stay upbeat and she comes around and will be helpful. Rooms are very dated with the 1950's John 3:16 art that does not do the verse justice. Beds are OK, covers need replacing. I highly recommend to the owners that they spend a little on updating on a regular basis. Bathrooms are clean. No shampoo at this budget location. Some rooms have AC others not.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RevyAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed at The Robin Hood Motel on BC Day weekend. Victoria was very busy, and it was difficult to find availability anywhere. This motel provided us with spacious clean rooms. The bathrooms were spotless. The staff were very helpful. The rooms are little outdated, but we were not bothered about that. We will definitely be back to this great little motel.

Room Tip: We booked a one bed queen room and a suite with one bed and a sofa bed. Both rooms were fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

wonderful to have a bath - showers don't really help feet and legs that hurt from all that walking. Large and spacious, really helpful owner, great to have a laundry on site too.

Room Tip: ground floor if heavy luggage, otherwise stairs are a bit of a bind!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mistwraith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I was moving some stuff in a cube van and so was just looking for a hotel with a roomy parking lot. I cottoned onto this place. I was expecting very little indeed when I was quoted less than $60 night, but the van was more important than the room and I didn't want to drive it through the city.

I opened the door and it smelled clean and the bed was more than adequate, it was roomy and the bathroom was fine. This was not deluxe accommodation, but it was much more than I was expecting. Really, I was impressed with the value for money. The hotel was older and had a kind of older world motel charm. The guy at the front desk was courteous, polite and attentive.

The part of town it is located in wasn't the best neighbourhood, but it wasn't the skids either. Close to a nice trail and a brisk walk to downtown. Really, I would consider staying here again if I was in town with a purpose. I have to say that I left as a very pleased customer.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank artslut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#36 of 49 in Victoria
212 reviews
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#26 of 49 in Victoria
886 reviews
Burnside
Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#45 of 49 in Victoria
744 reviews
Downtown
Paul's Motor Inn
Paul's Motor Inn
#40 of 49 in Victoria
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robin Hood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robin Hood Motel

Property: Robin Hood Motel
Address: 136 Gorge Rd E, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 1L4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Robin Hood Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family owned business takes pride in offering clean and comfortable accommodation for excellent value. The Robin Hood is centrally located just 3 km from Victoria’s beautiful Inner Harbour and its attractions. Access to the Galloping Goose walking/cycling Trail is nearby. We offer a variety of different rooms including sleeping rooms (some with optional kitchens), kitchen suites with separate bedrooms, and large kitchen suites that can accommodate 6 persons. Wireless internet, local calls, parking and the lobby's guest computer are all provided at no charge. Other features include a picnic area, coin-operated guest laundry and bicycle storage. There are discounts available for seniors, AAA members, and groups. Weekly and monthly rates are offered in the off-season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Robin Hood Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robin Hood Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing