We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Inn & Suites Victoria
Ranked #33 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
St. Paul, MN, US
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
Reviewed August 21, 2010

We stayed at the Red Lion in Victoria for 2 nights in mid-August. I was very reluctant to stay at a hotel/liquor store/Chinese restaurant/nightclub but it turned out to be an OK place. The hotel itself was well maintained. The front desk guy was very helpful and even looked up and printed off some directions for a hiking trail we wanted to try. There were questionable looking people coming and going which is always a little worriesome. Items sold in the vending machines also made me wonder what kind of place we were staying at.
We had a queen studio room (room 112) which included a small kitchenette, desk, small sofa and queen size bed. The hotel has a "half floor" layout so our room had full sized windows but was partially below ground level. The floors were a wood-laminate which looked nice and the room was very clean. There was a small coffeemaker in the room and it was nice to have a small fridge. The bathroom had plenty of counter space and was also clean and well maintained. Plent of towels were provided. My main complaint was with the uncomfortable mattress (extremely hard) and absolutely awful, lumpy pillows. All 3 pillows felt like they were filled with tennis balls. Replacing the pillows would be an easy fix that would make the room much more comfortable.
The hotel has a small pool with a few tables and loungers around it. It was a nice place to cool off after a warm day out sightseeing. There are 2 computer terminals in the lobby for guest use although they were occupied by the same 3 young boys every time I tried to use them.
The hotel has free parking which was nice although it is not really within walking distance of the inner harbour area. If you drive into the city center, parking is about $2.50 per hour most places but free after 6pm in most (all?) areas.
I would recommend this hotel if you're looking for a clean, reasonably priced place to stay. I would also recommend bringing your own pillow!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    117
    59
    22
    17
See reviews for
73
84
22
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We traveled during the peak season. For $95, we have double bed room with kitchenette. I like their laminate floor coz carpet always gives me allergy feelings. Staff including cleaning ladies are very friendly. Grocery store nearby is difficult to find. Has to ask front desk for directions. Pool is small but okay for a short swim.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMNF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna BC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2010

We had a one bedroom suite. It had 2 TV's, leather sofa, hardwood floors, marble table tops, granite bathroom, jetted bathtub, full kitchen ( no oven ), 2 air conditioners, and was only a 10 minute drive to the inner harbour. And all this for only $100 a night and that's very good for Victoria.
Chinese restaurant on the lower level was a nice bonus.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcdickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Johns, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Ended up with a double bed room, the room was really tight and the bed was super uncomfortable.
The staff was friendly.

The on site restaurant was a chineese cusine that tasted wxcellent but beware the breaded shrimp was not deveined.
No spa and an outside unheated pool
No continental breakfast

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tepcro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

Nice hotel with attractive rooms, internet wired or wireless in every room is included in the price. Internet connection was fast and effortless
Young girl at the Front desk was very helpful and courteous and provided any information we needed, including change for bus fare.
Our room had a double queen bed.
There were three of us.
The room is rather narrow so there is a tight squeeze to get from the bed to the bathroom
Rooms were clean and neat. Bathroom was small but spotless.
There is a microwave , TV and refrigerator , coffee maker, iron and ironing board in each room. A wall airconditioner and central heater.
If you need to plug in a lot of appliances (camera charger, cell phones, laptop etc. you need to unplug lights and air conditioner in order to get enough sockets (or bring a power strip)
No breakfast but they give you a coupon for 2 dollars off each room at the Chinese restaurant connected to the hotel. Be advised that the two dollar coupon only applies to one person in each room…and not each of the occupants.
Restaurant has decent Chinese food and opens till 9:30 pm

If you plan on getting around Victoria on your own I suggest getting a DayPass for the local bus line. The DayPass costs 7 dollars (April 15, 2010) and allows you to ride everywhere all day…even up to Buchart Gardens.
Otherwise be prepared with lots of coins because the single fare for adults are $2.50. We had a group of 9 and it was a hassle to come up with 22 dollars in coins for everyone. The buses don’t take bills, don’t give change and require exact amount.
Daypasses cannot be purchased on the bus. You buy them at local stores like 7-11. The website for the bus lines gives the locations where DayPasses can be purchased.
Although their website says they allow luggage on the bus, they give priority to passengers so you may have to carry your luggage on your lap if the bus gets crowded.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTourist2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2010

I was very impressed by the level of service and cleanliness of the Hotel.
The rooms are not large but have all the amenities, fridge and microwave
and wireless internet for free! My room faced the back and was very quiet.

I would highly recommend this Hotel and will be staying there on my next
visit to Victoria.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mckerlich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Victoria hotels

Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2010

Cheap and average. Rooms aren't too bad for a quick overnight stay if all you need is a (hard squeaky) bed. Doesn't attract an appealing crowd. Dodgy looking people hanging around lobby at night time. Rooms with two beds are very small. Pool was filthy dirty and small so didnt use it....wouldnt trust the water...

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Muddy_Sweets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#36 of 49 in Victoria
212 reviews
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#26 of 49 in Victoria
886 reviews
Burnside
Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#45 of 49 in Victoria
744 reviews
Comfort Inn & Suites
#39 of 49 in Victoria
287 reviews
Capital City Center Hotel
#30 of 49 in Victoria
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites Victoria

Property: Red Lion Inn & Suites Victoria
Address: 3366 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8Z 3L3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Lion Inn & Suites Victoria combines friendly service, convenient location and the best prices in Victoria into an ideal package for travelers visiting this beautiful city on business or pleasure. We are located on Douglas Street, Victoria's main street, nearby the island's largest shopping mall and two other shopping plazas. Our guests have easy access to all downtown attractions, theaters, shopping districts and the conference center. We are also situated on the famous Galloping Goose Trail, which provides a unique way to discover Victoria by walking or biking.Red Lion Inn & Suites Victoria offers standard rooms, studios and one-bedroom suites, all located in the quietest part of our hotel complex, away from the main street. Guest rooms feature many amenities including Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), free wi-fi, a microwave and refrigerator and cable TV. Kitchenettes are provided in suites and studios. Laundry and valet service is available, and there is a 24-hour guest laundry on-site.For our guests who like to stay fit while traveling, we offer complimentary passes to Fitness World, a 15,000 square foot facility located across the street from the hotel. Or, relax and enjoy our seasonal outdoor pool. For your dining pleasure, our award-winning Jade Fountain Restaurant serves generous portions of Chinese specialties and Diego's Bar and Grill offers casual meals and cocktails. There are many other fine restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Victoria
Red Lion Victoria
Victoria Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing