We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful and disgusting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awful and disgusting”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2009

I would never stay here again and if we hadnt booked through priceline would have asked for a refund and found somewhere else. The rooms where small and hot as no aircon there was no fridge and there was a noisy fan on the roof of an adjoining building right under our window. We asked to be moved and they were full so had to put up with it the first night but was told we would be moved the second night. When we come back from our days outing had found our stuff still in our old room and no one had moved us but instead rebooked us into the same room. The coke machines kept chewing our money and the cleanliness was appaling...

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank coco81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTHGuestExperience, Guest Experience Leader at Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 27, 2009
Thank you so much for your comments about your recent stay at Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites. We appreciate that you took the time to express your issues so that we have the opportunity to resolve them. Please accept our sincere apologies for the fact that we did not create a pleasant experience for you. If you have the opportunity and would like to discuss your concerns personally, I would be happy to address these issues with you. Please call the hotel and ask to speak to me directly.

Gayleen Nazaruk
Guest Experience Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    679
    257
    81
    51
See reviews for
534
621
66
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2009

Harbour Towers is about one block from the water, near the ferry terminals. Its location makes for an easy walk to the waterfront, but it's a bit far to the trendy shopping area. The room - a suite - was very large and well-appointed for the price. The room had its own balcony, which made for relaxing evenings. The suite was certainly not the most modern, and was by no means fancy, but it was roomy and comfortable. The staff was a bit slow, but friendly, which probably reflects the way of life in Victoria.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philotravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2009

We checked into the hotel during the heat wave. We arrived in our 8th floor room (2 bedroom suite) to discover that there was no air conditioning in the hotel. We then found that the windows where all open and there were no screens in the windows. We were travelling with small children and anyone with kids know they like to climb. There were no locks on the windows that would allow them to only be open an inch or two and then locked. I found this very worrisome. We went down to the front desk and explained that we were not comfortable staying. They were very good about it and completely understood as my son climbed the counter at the front desk. I wouldn't have found this to be an issue had we all been adults.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 4familyCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

when we open the door, there were unpleasant odor. Carpet is worn and appear dirty..
I guess because it alloow pets? Staff is not helpful..... Gym need updates!!!
Wireless internet is VERY slow....

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chanchikman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2009

We booked this hotel on a discount website, and were delighted to get a pretty good price for a 'four star' hotel. When we checked in (early) we were greeted by a nice lady and promplty given our room keys. I had called the night before for early check in and to request a one bed room. When we got to our room, with two beds, I called down to the front desk. She said the request was on the file, but they were unable to accomodate us. She offered us the penthouse suite at a discounted rate. I declined. The room was a bit outdated. There were questionable 'blood looking' stains on the duvet and bed covers, which I found So gross. There was an electrical socket hanging out of the wall. When we took a shower the next day, the temperature alternated between warm, frigid, and scalding. Not relaxing. The maids did a good job during the day of remaking the beds and cleaning up. We had breakfast at the hotel once for the buffet. I found the service scattered and the food not good - we caught the end of the buffet - the bacon was laying in a pool of grease, the pancakes were crispy as they had been sitting there so long.
Overall, I was expecting a luxurious, romantic stay, and did not receive. I will not be returning to this hotel, as I have had better experiences at a three star hotel.
When we checked in we were also informed of construction taking place at the hotel for foundational issues. Only affected us on Fri/Monday of our stay, but the noise was horrific. I understand you have to update when you can, but again, jackhammering noises are not luxurious.
However, the location is amazing, if that is what you are looking for.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandalGirl_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2009

My husband, mother and I stayed in a 2-bedroom suite at Harbour Towers during July 2009. When we arrived, we were informed that we had been upgraded to a penthouse suite -- not as fancy as it sounds. The suite was on two levels with 2 very nice bedrooms and a full bath downstairs and a living room, kitchenette/dining area, and half bath upstairs. Both levels had balconies and nice views of Washington State, the Olympic Mountains, and the cruise ship terminals.
In general, the furnishings were nice, but some could use updating. The stairs between levels had very old-fashioned railings. The dining table and chairs had a 1970s feel. High-speed internet is available, but it is not wireless. The beds were very comfortable. The living room had lots of seating, and the furniture had either been recently replaced or reupholstered. There is a parking garage, but the spaces are very small, and parking is not free.
In general, the staff were helpful. The head bellman gave us some good tips on things to see and how to get there. Room service was prompt and very cheerful. Housekeeping was good. The only complaint I have about staff was having to ask 3 different people for a luggage cart when we checked out. They were busy, but I felt like I was being blown off.
The most irritating aspect of the hotel is its 3 ancient, small, and slow elevators. I don't think I have ever seen such small elevators in a semi-modern hotel. We had trouble getting 3 people with suitcases in one. Also, it took forever to get one empty enough to handle us and our suitcases when we checked in. When checking in or out, you may have to wait quite awhile, so plan accordingly.
The hotel location is fantastic. It is within a few blocks of the Inner Harbour, the Royal BC Museum, the Empress, the legislative buildings, and Beacon Hill Park. However it is not on a major street and so is quiet.
This hotel is not a bargain but is reasonably priced for the room quality and the location. All in all, the pros outweigh the cons.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tipsfromtucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2009

OK hotel, OK service, if you get a really good deal, it's worth staying here, but it's not up to my standards.

The restaurant is hit and miss, I had a great amuse-bouche, appetizer, and desert there only to have an absolutely terrible steak that even after 2 tries they couldn't cook properly.

The rooms are basic and often have ugly old appliance in the mini kitchens. The rooms in general are just underwhelming.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ex_Victoria_native
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTHGuestExperience, Guest Experience Leader at Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 23, 2009
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay in January at Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it is through this input directly from our guests that we are able to continuously strive to deliver a positive and memorable experience for every guest.

Please accept our apologies for the fact that we obviously did not leave you with our minimum expectation of a positive experience in regards to the décor of the guest rooms and also your experience in the restaurant in January. This feedback will allow us to improve both our service delivery and product.

We are definitely looking to update our guest room décor, as well as furniture in the future. Our restaurant, Vic’s Steakhouse & Bar has evolved and now offer fresh, local, organic ingredients and this is reflected on the seasonal menu created by our Executive Chef.

Thank you again for your comments and we will share your feedback with our management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites

Property: Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites
Address: 345 Quebec St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Victoria
#16 Family Hotel in Victoria
#18 Business Hotel in Victoria
#22 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites we believe "It's the little things that make the difference". From our professional front desk personnel to our dedicated room attendants, our ultimate goal is to provide the impeccable service and extra little touches that will make your visit memorable. The Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites offers some of the most spacious and comfortably appointed accommodations in Victoria. Most of our rooms and suites have balconies and many display breathtaking views of the vibrant Inner Harbour or the majestic Olympic Mountains and the Strait of Juan de Fuca. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, you can rest assured that at Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites, your comfort is our primary concern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Towers Hotel Victoria
Harbour Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing