We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Reliable but Tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites
Ranked #22 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Very Reliable but Tired”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Just a quick review as I've stayed here several times.

Always a reliable pick. If you like a hotel that never changes this is the one for you, with the exception of new flat-screen TV's, it's been the same for as long as I can remember. That said, it's well preserved and usually spotlessly clean, except for someone's hairpin on the carpet this time.

The extremely dated decor somehow doesn't bother me as it takes me back to simpler times, it looks like places I stay in the in 1990's but somehow it's now too worn.

The Good :

Spotlessly clean
Comfy Beds
Large Rooms : I had a superior queen with south facing views
Great Desk Staff : much improved over previous years
Good Breakfast : a deal at $13 for a fairly extensive hot and cold buffet
Decently Equipped Gym
Clean Remote : a sanitised remote control for the TV, a very nice touch

Room For Improvement :
Decor : so beyond dated I don't know where to begin but somehow pleasing and comfortable
Single Glazed Window : let's in lots of noise and drafts, fine in warm months, however
The Microwave Table : ok this thing needs to be thrown in the dumpster today, a yellowing while-laminate table, chipped, hideous and not in keeping with the standards of the hotel, please replace these things immediately
Plumbing : the old plumbing is noisy, best keep the bathroom door closed to dampen sounds while in your room.

Room Tip: Rooms above the 7th floor have great views of the Inner Harbour or south to James Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank connect2source
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay-gm, General Manager at Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Well I do appreciate your 4-stars and the fact that you continue to choose to stay with us, especially as a Senior Contributor.
Those elements within our control? Spotlessly clean: thanks to our Housekeeping team (sorry about the hairpin). Great Front Desk staff: they consistently earn the highest Guest Satisfaction ratings! Good Breakfast Buffet: a deal still at $14 (since May 1st). Gym equipment: 6 new PRECOR pieces are being delivered/installed by end of May.
We are replacing the microwaves as needed - wish I knew which room you describe.
Thanks for the other tips.
Sincerely,
Kay Koot, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    718
    274
    82
    53
See reviews for
554
656
70
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Terrace, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I stayed at the Harbour Towers while taking a course in Victoria. The reception at the desk was wonderful!

The room was nicely appointed but a little outdated. I was in a suite and the plain wooden cupboards and appliances definitely showed the age. The living area was comfortable and beautiful views when on the balcony.
Unfortunately I had some issues with housekeeping - dirty dishes in the sink, 1/2 full bottles of water in the fridge and on the night table and used soap - all, i'm assuming from the previous guest. The front desk staff were super quick to make it right, so I would definitely stay there again. Having attentive staff that do their best to make things right is more important.

Room Tip: I'm sure if you got an odd-numbered room you would have a better view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay-gm, General Manager at Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thanks for your review and for your understanding that some times mistakes are made by people, and indeed it is how we recover and apologize to make things right can result in a loyal customer.
hoping we will see you again, and we can redeem our reputation,
sincerely,
Kay Koot, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chemainus, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

And what a "sweet deal" it was! Thanks to Colin on the front desk, we were accommodated in a King Suite with a lovely view of the snow covered Olympic Mountains; a full buffet breakfast and free parking were included in "the deal". Our Suite was spacious and clean, with a kitchenette, complete with fridge, microwave and a full set of dishes. When we checked in, we were warmly welcomed at the front desk. During our 4-day stay, all the staff members we dealt with were pleasant and helpful. In addition to buffet breakfast, we also ate dinner one evening at the hotel's restaurant "Vic's Steakhouse". The staff were very knowledgeable and the quality of the meal was well above average. Harbour Towers is just five minutes walk from Victoria's beautiful Inner Harbour and downtown area. We're regular visitors to Victoria; based on our experience, our neighbours now regularly stay at Harbour Towers. A great location, friendly staff, excellent value for money!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 11th and 12th floors have a great view of Victoria's beautiful Inner Harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay-gm, General Manager at Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
How rewarding for me and my Team to read of repeat guests who then recommend neighbours to choose to stay with us as well!
I'm tickled to read that you caught the play on "suite" and "sweet" ... that was actually my idea for our Suite Deal!
Your well above average experience in Vic's Steakhouse just adds to my day ... Thank You for your 5-Star Review.
Sincerely,
Kay Koot, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Stayed at the Harbour Towers Hotel last weekend as we were in Victoria for the PlayOn Hockey Tournament.

The hotel staff were very friendly, very accommodating and were knowledgeable about the surrounding area (None of us were familiar with the area and wanted to walk around). We had 2 separate rooms, one with a view of the harbour and one with a view of the ocean. The harbour view was much, much nicer, as our "ocean view" room was really just looking in the back of people's apartments. The rooms were very spacious, and had great sized TV's for us to watch the playoffs on!

My only problem with our room was that one of the beds had broken springs or something and half the bed was sinking. (Room 812). We did not say anything to the staff because it probably would have been a real hassle to move a new mattress in while we were occupying the room, but they might want to look into having that fixed.

The pool and hot tub area had been renovated and opened the day we arrived, which was awesome! Got to enjoy it a couple times while there. The buffet breakfast was well worth the $13, as we ate there every morning before heading off to play hockey.

All in all, was a nice hotel. Close to everything and had very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Get the Harbour View
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay-gm, General Manager at Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review and offer such great positive feedback as well as mention the bed, which we will certainly now take care of.
You highlight the 42" flatscreen televisions, and as of April every guestroom now has this SilverBirch Hotels & Resorts standard.
The team will be pleased when I share how you felt the buffet breakfast was well worth $13 and that you enjoyed it every day, please note that as of May 1st the price is now $14 for the Full Buffet and still $8 for the Continental.
Glad you were able to enjoy our newly-resurfaced pool and hot tub.
Our friendly staff hopes we'll see you the next time you visit Victoria!
Sincerely,
Kay Koot, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, British Columbia
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Would recommend to anyone. Enjoyed breakfast buffet with stay.Every staff member I came across was very friendly. Parking facility was perfect. Will be my choice of stay whenever I'm in Victoria. Thanks again. Tina Stevens

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinastevens2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay-gm, General Manager at Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for your recommendation and my Team very much appreciates that you have identified the Harbour Towers as your hotel of choice when visiting Victoria.
We await your return,
Sincerely,
Kay Koot, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This was our second stay at Harbour Towers. Just spent two nights ,It is within easy walking distance to the ferry The rooms are beautiful and the beds were very comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. The kids enjoyed the pool and breakfast. I recommend the two bedroom suite for a special treat. It is like being in an apartment. We plan to visit again and again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room above the six floor for a better view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay-gm, General Manager at Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
It is really valuable to receive a glowing review from guests who have 30 reviews in 10 cities! Thank You! I'm very happy that our pool re-surfacing project finished in time for your children to enjoy the pool. You've named the 2-Bedroom Suite as being perfect for families and I've often said they're larger than some apartments, being over 1,040 sq.ft.
see you for your 3rd visit soon?
sincerely,
Kay Koot, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,994 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.2 mi away
Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.0 mi away
The Oswego Hotel
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites

Property: Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites
Address: 345 Quebec St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Victoria
#16 Family Hotel in Victoria
#18 Business Hotel in Victoria
#22 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites we believe "It's the little things that make the difference". From our professional front desk personnel to our dedicated room attendants, our ultimate goal is to provide the impeccable service and extra little touches that will make your visit memorable. The Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites offers some of the most spacious and comfortably appointed accommodations in Victoria. Most of our rooms and suites have balconies and many display breathtaking views of the vibrant Inner Harbour or the majestic Olympic Mountains and the Strait of Juan de Fuca. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, you can rest assured that at Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites, your comfort is our primary concern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Towers Hotel Victoria
Harbour Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing