We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay in Victoria”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites
Ranked #22 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay in Victoria”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We have stayed at Harbour Towers several times, in both a standard room and a 1 bedroom suite with a king bed. Both times, comfortable beds, clean and has everything you need. The suite seemed very spacious and well-equipped. Checking in was easy, parking was easy and covered, morning check out using express checkout was great. Included buffet breakfast was convenient and reasonable, with a good selection of food for breakfast. The hotel is in a wonderful location near the Inner Harbour and close to town, so you can walk to pretty much anywhere downtown. They seem to have good deals frequently (we went with a Travelzoo voucher) and you will see lots of families staying there. There is a pool, although we have never used it. The neighbourhood is safe and good for walking.

Room Tip: It's worth an upgrade to a 1 bedroom suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay-gm, General Manager at Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thanks for returning to stay with us again, and for taking the time to review this stay with 5 stars!
Indeed, I stayed in a 1-Bedroom King suite for 2 months while waiting to move into my condo when I moved to Victoria almost one year ago, and it's as big as many apartments that I've lived in over the years!!
Chef Setso and his culinary team will be happy to know that you felt the selection of food at breakfast was good. Families are a key market for us, with the pool and hot tub being an important consideration ... hoping you'll check it out yourself the next time!
Sincerely,
Kay Koot, general manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    718
    274
    82
    53
See reviews for
554
656
70
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
204 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The Harbour Towers is fairly well located and within easy walking distance of some of the more popular (Imax, Museum, Fairmont Empress) downtown Victoria attractions. The staff I interacted with were courteous and professional. The free wifi was a bonus that was appreciated. On the down side the rooms were somewhat noisy and lacked poor temperature control (the thermostats being quite old could account for much of the problem). It also took the hot water sometime to get up to the floor (5th) I was on and it was a case of turn on the water and then wait for some time before it was warm enough. The bed in the room I was in was nothing special. All in all average rating seems about right to me.

Room Tip: Would avoid those closer to elevator and try lower floor to minimize hot water issue. Certainly wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derbyking98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay-gm, General Manager at Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, especially in complimenting our staff.
I do hope that on your next trip to Victoria you'll give us another try, because as you say we are not a new property but the occupancy level and the other guests or groups can affect your experience as it relates to hot water and noise.
Best regards,
Kay Koot, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Centrally located. Very courteous and helpful staff. Comfortable room, bed and amenities. Free wi fi and complimentry coffee/tea in room. Information on sight seeings and local attractions readily available in the lobby.

Room Tip: Room with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123tripad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay-gm, General Manager at Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for your 4-Star Review!
On behalf of my very courteous and helpful team ... hoping that we can welcome you back. Let me advise you that the view of the Olympic Mountains is considered by many to be equally impressive!
Best regards,
Kay Koot, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This hotel has great beds, awesome breakfast buffet and a good dinner menu. No lunch. Good parking garage although painted black. Awesome view from the 1207 conference room and from the 5th floor. Not Wheel chair friendly or suitable for sewing machines being carried up the curved stairway in the 2 level room. Porters were a requirement.
Good bathroom and sinks in 1207.
Regular rooms very reasonable price for our group, but parking was extra.
Irons were provided, but were very tempermental, dripped on our quilt blocks, and turned off when we didn't want them to.
We had 6 rooms. Only a couple of the TV's worked, and reception was snowy. We wanted to see what was going on with the Olympics so it was disappointing.

Staff was great. Coffee is excellent and baking very nice.
The sauna had something crawling on the walls that I couldn't identify without my glasses so I only used the room once. The hot tub was fine.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms had a view of the Olympias, opposite direction to the conference room. So if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay-gm, General Manager at Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
I'm happy to read the beginning of your review, as great beds and food & beverage are certainly within our control. I am sorry for the problems you report regarding the irons ... and hope that you did report them while still here with us, so we could replace them. Also, all of our televisions should be working, and especially when such an event as the Olympics occur only every 4 years.
Thank you from the great staff, and hopefully we'll see your quilting group back again.
Sincerely,
Kay Koot, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

In the past 11 years we have visited Victoria several times. The first time we visited we stayed at the Harbour Towers, probably around 2002-03. We liked this property because, in addition to standard rooms, the hotel has rooms/suites where the living area is separate from the bedroom(s). This is always a nice option for families---adults can be in the living area with lights on and t.v./conversation while their children sleep. We've stayed in 1-bedroom, 2-bedroom and Penthouse suites at this property and have been please each time. The suites include kitchenettes as well. And the location? It's fantastic---walking distance to ferries, museums, Parliament building, Inner Harbor. We've never stayed anywhere else in Victoria. Why? If it's not broke, don't fix it.

We visited Victoria in December after about a 5 year hiatus and returned to Harbour Suites. The hotel has held up well although there are signs of aging that are unrelated to visual furnishings. The windows are not energy efficient (more below), as our recent stay revealed. Cranking up the heat where the baseboards are just beneath the drafty windows/doors cancels out conservation (however, I'm happy to report we reused our towels). Mattresses could be updated. They are showing signs of aging.

Despite the minor "cons" we will continue to stay at this property because the "pros" far outweigh. The staff is wonderful, the hotel is clean, a restaurant is on the premises (good food! no room service), the vicinity to Inner Harbor is terrific.

Side note: The weather was awful (extremely cold, -6c, and windy) which exposed the problem with the drafty windows..we could not get warm (we were on the 12th floor). The staff was nothing but helpful. The kind and attentive maintenance man tried his best to make us comfortable, bringing us two space heaters, but with temperatures that cold we couldn't get warm. After talking with other people I don't think all rooms had this problem during this period, but a few besides us did. I guess the best advice is don't stay on a high floor at this hotel when it is really cold!

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view of course, but the longer the wait for an elevator during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kade T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay-gm, General Manager at Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
With much appreciation for your 4-star Review ... which I find especially valuable when reading that you have made the Harbour Towers your hotel of choice in Victoria each year for 11 years! It seems that you've experienced most of our numerous room types, and indeed those 2-bedroom suites are perfect for families. Please note that we have been replacing the mattresses in the guestrooms gradually each year, including the sofabeds this year.
Thank you for your recognition of those elements that we have within our control - clean with wonderful staff - who would always do their best to address any maintenance issues in your room, so never hesitate to contact the front desk and report them.
See you in year 12, we hope!
Sincerely,
Kay Koot, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one night. The front desk staff was super friendly at check in and check out. Location was great; close to Legislature building. Room was a bit cold but with duvet in room, it was okay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boomdeyada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay-gm, General Manager at Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
To a Senior Reviewer, Thank You! You've stated quite succinctly one of the elements that we thrive with: that our super friendly staff can make the difference.
Hope to see you again,
Sincerely,
Kay Koot, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My husband and I try to spend a weekend in Victoria at least once a year. Finding a hotel that makes our 'get away' pleasurable can be sort of hit and miss. I happy to say that Harbour Towers is definitely a 'hit'.
We were in one of the suites and although we did not use the kitchenette to it's full capacity, I was very impressed by how well stocked it was with all the main necessities for cooking a meal.
The room itself was very clean and comfortable, complete with free wi-fi (good strong signal) and a lovely king size bed.The living area had an older TV unit, while the bedroom had a new large flat-screen; as we weren't there to watch TV, having the older one still up and running really wasn't a bother at all.
And the buffet breakfast that came with our package was impressive. There was such a variety of choices for breakfast, I can't think of anything that was missing, even the scrambled eggs were done correctly. Although the restaurant staff was kept busy clearing tables and seating customers, they were very pleasant and helpful.
We have already recommended this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MtBenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay-gm, General Manager at Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thanks for your lovely 4-star Review! Reading that you've discovered the Harbour Towers and will now consider us your hotel of choice in Victoria and have already recommended us ... makes my day!
Choosing to stay in one of our many suites is definitely my recommendation, not only because of the kitchentte and king size bed, but also because of the 42" flatscreen tv in the bedroom. Since breakfast is included when reserving a suite, it seems clear that you're seeing the value of our buffet and happy to see that you consider it impressive.
Hoping to be welcoming you back when next on the Island,
sincerely,
Kay Koot, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,994 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.2 mi away
Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.0 mi away
The Oswego Hotel
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites

Property: Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites
Address: 345 Quebec St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Victoria
#16 Family Hotel in Victoria
#18 Business Hotel in Victoria
#22 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites we believe "It's the little things that make the difference". From our professional front desk personnel to our dedicated room attendants, our ultimate goal is to provide the impeccable service and extra little touches that will make your visit memorable. The Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites offers some of the most spacious and comfortably appointed accommodations in Victoria. Most of our rooms and suites have balconies and many display breathtaking views of the vibrant Inner Harbour or the majestic Olympic Mountains and the Strait of Juan de Fuca. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, you can rest assured that at Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites, your comfort is our primary concern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Towers Hotel Victoria
Harbour Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing