We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Embassy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Embassy Inn
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We just spent one night at the Embassy Inn. The location was perfect - very close to the ferry terminal, the Parliament Buildings, the museum, the harbour, and so much more and yet off the main street. The staff was friendly and professional, the room was clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was generous. We would definitely return the next time we are in Victoria.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grammy_in_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Thank you for the review of your stay with us. Many guests have commented how great our location is and our wonderful staff. we look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (719)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

498 - 504 of 719 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We just loved our stay at the Embassy Inn. The staff was wonderfully friendly and professional. We arrived well before check in and expected to just drop off our luggage and come back later. But the front desk agent checked us in immediately.

The hotel is older but that doesn't matter a bit. The room was spacious and absolutely spotless. Their housekeeping staff obviously takes pride in their jobs. Our room had a small kitchenette which was a major plus.

The hotel really sits in the ideal location. I could literally hit the legislative building with a baseball...and I throw like a toddler. The harbor is 1/2 block away. Just a hint...walk out the front door, turn right and 2-3 blocks takes you to a much less touristy, local area. You'll find a grocery store, coffee shops and several cute restaurants.

We don't know when we'll be back in Victoria but when we do, we'll stay at the Embassy Inn.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Robyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Thank you for the great review. I appreciate your kind comments. Yes, the provincial Legislature is right across the street from us. I'll be sure to pass on your comments to the staff and our housekeeping department who are responsible for the great comments concerning the hotel's cleanliness. We look forward to your return trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

A nice hotel.. in fact a great budget hotel. We stayed here for four nights in the month of April 2014 and it was a great experience.

The plus points are..
(1) A great location.. very close to Parliament bldg, empress hotel, fisher man wharf, inner harbour, bus stop.
(2) Free breakfast with eggs, bread, waffles, bacon, sausage, fruits and coffee. Also 20% off on dinner
(3) Nice comfortable bed and very neat bathroom.
(4) great staffs... very helpful and friendly

One of the drawback of this hotel is the view from the rooms. It is not a tall hotel and also not close to the sea; So even though there is a balcony, there is nothing much to see from the rooms.

We loved this hotel and will always recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshimSreedhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us! I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay. As you say, we are not a hi rise hotel with a view however, our location, breakfast offerings, new beds and wonderful staff make it the place to be in Victoria's Inner Harbour. We are close to all of Victoria's major attractions. I hope you will think of us again on a future trip to Victoria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Just got home from spending 3 nights in this hotel. The location could not have been better. It is just a short 5 minute walk to the museum, IMAX theater or the Empress hotel and parliament building. A hot breakfast of eggs, potatoes o'brian and either ham, bacon or sausage is included in the price of the room. The last day there, they had a breakfast buffet that was somewhat disappointing, It was the same breakfast they had on the other days with the addition of a mediocre sweet roll and waffles and yogurt cups. It was good but rather boring to have the same breakfast every day. The evening meal in the hotel was good but very limited choices. The room was excellent and very quiet and the bed was awesome. The staff was very friendly and professional. This is a winner in my opinion. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vernon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

I'd like to thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. I am happy you found the location a benefit and that the bed was "awesome". We do, after all, sell sleep! I will be sure to speak with our chef about adding more variety to the breakfast buffet when its on. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stayed here on a Friday night for a visit to the city. Very easy to find and a five minutes walk from the harbour. A little dated, but very clean. Breakfast was included in the rate and was very good. all in all it was excellent value and a pleasant stay. Staff are very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thank you for the kind words in your recent review of our hotel. As we are continuingly updating our rooms, we find ourselves in the middle of projects all the time. We are just finishing up with new drapes and sheers, new artwork and larger flat screen TVs in the living rooms of the suites. I am confident you will notice changes if you were to revisit soon! We look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised with the excellent value this hotel gave us. The room was delightful, very clean, very comfortable, quiet and a modern décor. The breakfast was amazing, a full buffet with servers to bring coffee etc. all in a very nice setting with lots of windows. All the staff were friendly and professional. Having free parking was a definite bonus. We will definitely be back to stay. It was wonderful being within walking distance of everywhere we wanted to go.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us here in sunny Victoria! I am happy to hear you were pleasantly surprised by the value you received. It is our goal to do whatever we can to exceed our guest's expectations. We look forward to being of service again on a future trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Rooms were very clean and modern decor. Breakfast was a full buffet. Hotel also includes free parking which some of the adjacent hotels were charging up to $30 a day for. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Thank you for the kind review of our hotel. Yes, our free parking is definitely a benefit as pretty much all hotels in Victoria are now charging for parking. We continue not to. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 46 in Victoria
2,190 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 46 in Victoria
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 46 in Victoria
1,101 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 46 in Victoria
2,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Inn

Address: 520 Menzies St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2H4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Victoria
#21 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $112 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Inn in conveniently located close to all of Victoria's great attractions, dining spots, shopping and theatres. All guests receive a free hot buffet breakfast, free fast wifi and free parking. All rooms are air-conditioned, have balconies, fridges and all the comforts of home. Bring along the family pet as we are a pet friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Embassy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing