We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Surprise”
Review of Embassy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Inn
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We were coming to Victoria to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary and just booked a reasonable hotel in a central location. Not only was it clean, quiet and comfortable, which was all we were hoping for, the staff was helpful and very pleasant, breakfast was included, and the room was excellent for the reasonable price we paid.

Room Tip: We loved our room...on the first floor overlooking the entrance. Extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Congratulations on your 40th wedding anniversary. We are happy we were able be play host at such an important time for you. We do look forward to serving you again on a future trip to our fair city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (713)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

512 - 518 of 713 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2013

Stayed in the Queen Tower with 2 Queen beds. Very modern and beds were comfortable as were the pillows . I had a great sleep. Views from balcony are great and the parliament bldg. is next to the hotel as you are right in downtown.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thank you for the great review of your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you thought our location was ideal. Yes, we are close to just about everything Victoria has to offer. We look forward to being of service again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We reviewed several hotels in the Victoria inner harbor area and selected the Embassy Inn. The Tower holds a AAA Triple Diamond rating, the rooms were very nice, the staff were always accommodating, and the breakfast that comes included with the room price is a Great Deal.

The location, room rate, and free parking played an important part in our decision to stay at the Embassy Inn and we made the correct choice. We very much enjoyed our first visit to Victoria, BC, thanks to the Embassy Inn.

Room Tip: We recommend the rooms in the Tower building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 775markr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you for the kind review of your stay with us. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay as well as Victoria. Hopefully, there will be more visits to our fair City. Yes, our location is close to just everywhere one needs to be in Victoria. I will certainly pass on your kind words to the staff who are always excited to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We recently stayed at the Embassy Inn in downtown Victoria as our usual place, the Best Western is no longer pet friendly. This was our first time at the Embassy and both my wife and I said "we'll be back here, for sure". We had a very nice supper at the restaurant and a "proper" (not just muffins and help yourself coffee) breakfast also at the restaurant. We also enjoyed courteous and friendly service from the staff and free Internet, all within walking distance of the IMAX and downtown shopping. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canuckcorsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear you and your pet enjoyed your stay with us and that you will be back. Yes, we do provide a free hot breakfast for all hotel guests here on a daily rate. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the staff as well. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights at this hotel visiting relatives in Victoria & Saanich. Great price for a family room 4th floor, corner, overlooking the Parliament Bldgs. Free parking and breakfast included in the price. The age of the hotel is showing but the tower rooms, in particular, the 4th floor facing south and east have interesting and perhaps the best views. Staff were friendly & professional. Hotel is located within walking distance to the heart of Victoria with a variety of restaurants, most tourist sites and shops.

Room Tip: Fourth floor family rooms facing east towards Parliament Bldgs and north towards the harbour provide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJN749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. We have recently replaced all the beds and bedding, installed in room safes and fridges in all rooms and we have new artwork and drapes and sheers arriving next month. We are continuing our refurbishing plans throughout the fall/winter season and look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

For someone anticipating living on post-retirement income i n the foreseeable future, Embassy Inn represented excellent value for my travel dollar. The room was meticulously clean, the restaurant meals eere very good to excellent and all of the staff were friendly, helpful and professional. Perhaps I just lucked into off-season rates, but excellent value nonetheless. I am looking forward to my next stay in December.

Room Tip: If off season, call directly and ask if your room can be upgraded at no cost to include a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us. I am very pleased to hear you found the hotel to be a great value. We think so as well. close to all Victoria as to offer plus the added bonus of free hot breakfast, great new beds and bedding all make for a comfortable hotel stay. We look forward to a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at this hotel after needing to quickly find a place in Victoria. Great price on the internet, clean, friendly and very convenient location. Free parking and free breakfast are added perks. If you want a basic room without the frills of spas and gyms, I would highly recommend the Embassy Inn.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guyfromVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for the kind review of your recent stay. Yes, we take the cleanliness of our guest rooms very seriously. And the free hot breakfast is a hit with all guests. We look forward to your future return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 49 in Victoria
2,138 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Inn

Address: 520 Menzies St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2H4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Victoria
#21 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $106 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Inn in conveniently located close to all of Victoria's great attractions, dining spots, shopping and theatres. All guests receive a free hot buffet breakfast, free fast wifi and free parking. All rooms are air-conditioned, have balconies, fridges and all the comforts of home. Bring along the family pet as we are a pet friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splitty, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Embassy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing