We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location !”
Review of Embassy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Inn
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
san francisco
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location !”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a great location for the money. It is just a block from the Harbor Walk and ferry. There are lots of action just a block away...stores, restaurants, entertainment and just people-watching. The comp breakfast is very generous and the dining room is spacious. There are free coffee, tea, cocoa in the lobby 24/7. The staff is always helpful and courteous. We had 3 restful nights of sleep in a very clean room.

Room Tip: Park in the underground garage...the spaces are wider and less congested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank concody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for the kind review of your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear you thought our location was good. As previously mentioned, we are close to all Victoria has to offer. I am pleased you enjoyed the free hot breakfast as well. I will pass on your kind comments about the serving staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    266
    54
    14
    7
See reviews for
174
305
26
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Balmain, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Location is tops here next door to the parliament and harbour and a short walk from the bus depot. The staff were good especially the guys on the front desk who were friendly and helpful. The hotel must be a little old so book in the newer wing if you are looking for more comfort. The hot breakfast is also a good deal and you can swap the buffet and order from the menu if you prefer. There is also a supermarket about three blocks up Menzies st.

Would stay at the Embassy again.

Room Tip: Tower block away from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slowwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for the review of our hotel. I'll be sure to pass on to the guys at the desk of your kind comments. Yes, our location is close to just about everything Victoria has to offer. We look forward to serving you again on a future trip to Sunny Victoria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Harbour Wing of this hotel, knowing it to be the budget option. We had a large room with plenty of storage, albeit rather dated as was the small kitchenette.
There was a lot of noise from the room above, mainly caused by squeaking floorboards.
We did not use the pool as it was in full view of the street immediately outside. This could have been easily remedied by erecting a low fence, perhaps attaching it to the current wire one.
On two of the three days we stayed the breakfast service was chaotic with a line of guests waiting to be seated because many of the tables remained uncleared.
This place has a great location and great potential with better management.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank blackandwhitecat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for the review of the hotel. since we introduced the free hot breakfast, it has been a busy restaurant. I do apologize if you had to a bit. The restaurant is fully staffed to serve all in-house guests their FREE HOT BREAKFAST. Our website is as clear as we can make it that the Harbour wing is more like 2 diamond quality while the Tower building is closer to 3 diamond quality. Both are priced accordingly. We look forward to serving you again should you choose the Embassy Inn for a future trip to Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Washington
Level Contributor
286 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

First the "good stuff": The hotel is is an excellent position for visitors. Only a couple of minutes walk from the harbor, the Parliament building, the Royal BC museum and about 10 minutes from the shopping on Government Street. Rates are reasonable and our rate of $110 included a hot buffet breakfast. In the room was a small fridge, a sink, and a cooking stove. Good for kids as you can keep food in the room for them. Good size room, and the a/c did work, even tho' it was rather noisy!

The "not so good stuff": there are two buildings, the old and the newer. Avoid the old building if at all possible, as there are outside corridors and only stairs. We stayed in the newer of the two buildings, and even there the rooms look like something from 20 or even 30 years ago. I am always wary of blankets on beds rather than the more modern duvets, as you never know when they have last been cleaned, and these rooms had blankets. Old fashioned bathroom with linoleum on the floor - which was rather sticky around the edges.

So, we were fine with what we had for a couple of nights. I would say it's a reasonable option for those on a tight budget who want to be in the center of things.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer building, away from the lobby side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torquay102010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you to the writer for the review of your stay. I am not sure when you actually stayed with us but we have recently replaced all 105 beds in the 70 Tower guest rooms as well as the bedding. The old bed spreads are long gone and replaced with duvets and upgraded bedding. As for the Harbour wing, it is described on our website as equal to AAA 2 diamond quality while the Tower is of 3 diamond quality. Both buildings are priced accordingly. Those on a budget and looking for modest accommodation should be happy with the Harbour wing.
We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The service was excellent we go each year and enjoy all the staff at the Inn. The room we have each year is one of the suites on the 4 floor and the rooms are always clean and tidy. The view is beautiful and its quiet. At night you can hear the clopping of the horses heading home after a hard days work. The location is superb all you need is within walking distance to a store, the wharf, the parliament buildings, restaurants and of course a short distance away from Barb's famous Fish n Chip's. The breakfast is also included buffet style or you can order from the menu. Everyday was great. See you next year..

Room Tip: Where you are most comfortable but if its noise reduction then stay in the tower facing the beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitkat58dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
I'd like to thank these regular guests who have returned again and again! Your comments are right on the money! Our location is close to all Victoria has to offer and the inclusion of a free hot breakfast has been a hit with all guests. We look forward to serving you again on your next trip to Victoria and the Embassy Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has two blocks, the Tower and ugh.... the 'other block'. All the pictures are from the Tower block, which is much newer than than the 'Harbour View Block'. The title 'Harbour View Block' is misleading, you look out on another hotel. This is a very old block and is like a cheap motel. The hotel staff were unsympathetic to our complaints - it really was a huge disappointment and clearly, we were not the first people to complain and the staff have developed a thick skin to ward off complaints about this sub-standard accommodation which should be demolished.
Extremely disappointing and be warned.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
I am sincerely sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our website is clear in our description of each of the buildings that make up the Embassy Inn. The Tower building is equal to 3 diamond AAA quality while the Harbour Wing is of 2 diamond AAA quality. Both are priced competitively at each level. If a guest is looking for budget priced, modest accommodation, the Harbour Wing is a good choice. We are currently deciding on areas for improvement for this fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRIGHTON
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. It was a great location, close to the center of Victoria. Complimentary full breakfast, where you could order your eggs, rather than eat from the buffet.
The room was fine, but quite a bit of outside noise from the parking lot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KATHLEEN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. I am glad we were able to provide "custom eggs" at breakfast!
I am not sure what sort of noise you encountered from the parking lot. We are in a residential neighborhood. Only guest vehicles coming and going.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
The Oswego Hotel
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
0.3 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Inn

Property: Embassy Inn
Address: 520 Menzies St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2H4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Victoria
#21 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Inn in conveniently located close to all of Victoria's great attractions, dining spots, shopping and theatres. All guests receive a free hot buffet breakfast, free fast wifi and free parking. All rooms are air-conditioned, have balconies, fridges and all the comforts of home. Bring along the family pet as we are a pet friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Embassy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing