We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position, but hotel definitely needs updating”
Review of Embassy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Embassy Inn
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

First the "good stuff": The hotel is is an excellent position for visitors. Only a couple of minutes walk from the harbor, the Parliament building, the Royal BC museum and about 10 minutes from the shopping on Government Street. Rates are reasonable and our rate of $110 included a hot buffet breakfast. In the room was a small fridge, a sink, and a cooking stove. Good for kids as you can keep food in the room for them. Good size room, and the a/c did work, even tho' it was rather noisy!

The "not so good stuff": there are two buildings, the old and the newer. Avoid the old building if at all possible, as there are outside corridors and only stairs. We stayed in the newer of the two buildings, and even there the rooms look like something from 20 or even 30 years ago. I am always wary of blankets on beds rather than the more modern duvets, as you never know when they have last been cleaned, and these rooms had blankets. Old fashioned bathroom with linoleum on the floor - which was rather sticky around the edges.

So, we were fine with what we had for a couple of nights. I would say it's a reasonable option for those on a tight budget who want to be in the center of things.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer building, away from the lobby side.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torquay102010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you to the writer for the review of your stay. I am not sure when you actually stayed with us but we have recently replaced all 105 beds in the 70 Tower guest rooms as well as the bedding. The old bed spreads are long gone and replaced with duvets and upgraded bedding. As for the Harbour wing, it is described on our website as equal to AAA 2 diamond quality while the Tower is of 3 diamond quality. Both buildings are priced accordingly. Those on a budget and looking for modest accommodation should be happy with the Harbour wing.
We look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
There are newer reviews for Embassy Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

534 - 540 of 693 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

The service was excellent we go each year and enjoy all the staff at the Inn. The room we have each year is one of the suites on the 4 floor and the rooms are always clean and tidy. The view is beautiful and its quiet. At night you can hear the clopping of the horses heading home after a hard days work. The location is superb all you need is within walking distance to a store, the wharf, the parliament buildings, restaurants and of course a short distance away from Barb's famous Fish n Chip's. The breakfast is also included buffet style or you can order from the menu. Everyday was great. See you next year..

Room Tip: Where you are most comfortable but if its noise reduction then stay in the tower facing the beautifu...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitkat58dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

I'd like to thank these regular guests who have returned again and again! Your comments are right on the money! Our location is close to all Victoria has to offer and the inclusion of a free hot breakfast has been a hit with all guests. We look forward to serving you again on your next trip to Victoria and the Embassy Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hotel has two blocks, the Tower and ugh.... the 'other block'. All the pictures are from the Tower block, which is much newer than than the 'Harbour View Block'. The title 'Harbour View Block' is misleading, you look out on another hotel. This is a very old block and is like a cheap motel. The hotel staff were unsympathetic to our complaints - it really was a huge disappointment and clearly, we were not the first people to complain and the staff have developed a thick skin to ward off complaints about this sub-standard accommodation which should be demolished.
Extremely disappointing and be warned.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Christopher Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

I am sincerely sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our website is clear in our description of each of the buildings that make up the Embassy Inn. The Tower building is equal to 3 diamond AAA quality while the Harbour Wing is of 2 diamond AAA quality. Both are priced competitively at each level. If a guest is looking for budget priced, modest accommodation, the Harbour Wing is a good choice. We are currently deciding on areas for improvement for this fall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. It was a great location, close to the center of Victoria. Complimentary full breakfast, where you could order your eggs, rather than eat from the buffet.
The room was fine, but quite a bit of outside noise from the parking lot.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KATHLEEN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. I am glad we were able to provide "custom eggs" at breakfast!
I am not sure what sort of noise you encountered from the parking lot. We are in a residential neighborhood. Only guest vehicles coming and going.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The location was fantastic. Close enough for easy walking distance to the inner harbour, even for our young children. Beautiful views were to be had from our room of the parliament building at night when it was all lit up. Excellent breakfast in the mornings. Elevators can be quite slow during peak times (check-in and out times, as well as mornings for breakfast). Beautiful rooms that look like they were renovated recently. Our 2-queen bed room was equipped with a balcony and a sky-light. Loved the decor. The check-in process was quick and easy, check-out we were disappointed with the attitude of one desk agent, but otherwise the rest of the staff were excellent. There was a small outside pool but we never used it. I would stay here again the next time we visit Victoria.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for the kind review of your stay. I am concerned that the desk staff member at check out was not pleasant. I will be sure to discuss this with our staff. This behavior would be an exception rather than the rule as we do have a wonderful group of team members. Regarding our renovated rooms, we recently replaced all the beds and bedding in our Tower building and have plans for more changes coming this fall.
We look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We reviewed several places to stay including VRBO and chose this one for its location and price. We were in the tower, the newer part and enjoyed it. The room was updated and clean. There was no noise at night. It had a pool, too small and viewed by sidewalk walkers. It had a sauna. The breakfast buffet was yummy and included! We were right next to the Parliment building and could view it at night too. We walked to the waters edge and to the east where a quaint pub was. For $112 it was worth it

Room Tip: Ask for the tower
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quigs57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear you feel you received value for the price paid. Our location is close to all Victoria has to offer. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great Location, Bed was like a rock and my back has not recovered, Breakfast was included but it was the same breakfast on the two mornings we were there, no change to the eggs every thing was the same. Awful, Royal Scots is next door stay there.

Room Tip: Don't stay there
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogerbairnsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

I am truly sorry the bed was not comfortable for you during your stay. We recently replaced 105 beds with brand new Serta Perfect Sleepers. There may be some other rooms that need the beds replaced as well. As for the breakfast, we are adding items daily based on customer feedback. Just yesterday, we added cereal and all the condiments that go along with the 2 choices, Frosted Flakes and Cheerios. I hope you will consider giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,099 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Inn

Address: 520 Menzies St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2H4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Victoria
#21 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $97 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Inn in conveniently located close to all of Victoria's great attractions, dining spots, shopping and theatres. All guests receive a free hot buffet breakfast, free fast wifi and free parking. All rooms are air-conditioned, have balconies, fridges and all the comforts of home. Bring along the family pet as we are a pet friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing