We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Embassy Inn
Nearby Hotels
$261
$245
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites(Victoria)
$264
$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Oak Bay Beach Hotel(Victoria)
$269
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$421
$360
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$218
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Abigail's Hotel(Victoria)
$235
$194
Abigail's Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (734)
Filter reviews
734 results
Traveler rating
351
303
59
14
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
351
303
59
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparliament buildinggreat locationfree breakfastwaffle makerhot and cold itemswithin walking distancebc parliamentinner harboroutdoor poolyogurtsmall balconyrooms were very cleandowntown victoriabreakfast was excellentcoho ferrybit datedan older hotel
Filter
Updating list...
612 - 617 of 734 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed in March, at low season, and it was an inexpensive option, and close to downtown, Parliament, the Museum, inner harbour, restaurants, theatres. But, it is getting a bit frayed and could use some improvement. There may well be better deals to be had downtown on the off season.
Complaints: the room quality is going down hill (I have staid here quite a bit over the years) with worn out bedding, which isn't inviting; and the mediocre breakfast, which offers white bread, your standard awful breakfast cereal, scrambled eggs and a few ripe bananas. A fruit salad would be welcome, and maybe some whole wheat bread; and don't bother trying to use the sauna, which is not working.
Good aspects: very well trained and helpful front desk staff, and spotless cleaning throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back of the hotel are less noisy, except the lower numbered rooms at the end of the corridor, which are right above the laundry. At about 8 am, the washing machines start up with a gentle roar!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giscome56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Thanks to the writer for the review of our hotel. As mentioned previously, we just received a partial shipment of new beds and will be changing the bedding as well. We are making other changes to update the guestrooms going forward. As for the sauna, I have checked with our maintenance department. It is in fact working, we just don't leave it on all day long. We don't want to waste energy. It takes about 15 to 20 minutes to warm up. Our friendly staff is more than happy to "fire" it up in advance. We will do a better job of informing guests there is a step that we need to take to get it ready for guest use. Again, I will consider adding a couple of additional items to our free hotel breakfast line up.
We look forward to being of service again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My friend and I were having a weekend getaway in Victoria and chose the Embassy Inn because of its location and price (and free breakfast!) The location was better than we could have imagined, especially to the harbor/ferry area. It was literally across the street from the Parliament building and about a 3 minute walk to the ferry. The location was the best part about the hotel. The hotel was clean, but certainly not fancy--but that was ok because we didn't spend much time in our room. We were a little disappointed in the "hot breakfast" because there was only a couple options on a buffet (eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes, bread), which is good for FREE--but I was thinking it would be more like the Embassy Inn and Suites breakfasts which always have tons of food. We were "upgraded" to a nicer room in the tower building which was nice (customer service was great, btw!) but not like what I am used to paying that much money for in the states--the room was outdated, small and pretty bare minimum decor and amenities. Clean and quiet though--thats what matters most! If I was looking for a more budget friendly room in a fantastic location I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Thank you for the review of our hotel. Yes, our location is great as we are close to just about everything Victoria has to offer. I will take your comments about the hot breakfast to heart and make some changes or additions if we can. Regarding the rooms, please know that we are making changes as we speak. Our first shipment of new beds has already arrived. We will be changing all the bedding as well. We are committed to upgrading the rooms to make our future guest's stay as comfortable as possible.
We look forward to serving you again on a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The Embassy is in a great location, just one block back from the harbour and next door to the BC Parliament Buildings. Easy to find and lots of parking if you have a car. Reception were welcoming and helpful with recommendations on restaurants and getting around. The room was well-equipped and spacious, not fancy (no fridge) but had everything we needed for a very pleasant 4-night stay. A bonus is the cooked breakfast included in the overnight rate, and if you don't fancy the same thing every morning, you can also choose from the a la carte menu; they don't always tell you, so ask if you feel like something different to start the day.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thanks to the writer for the review of our hotel. We do have a great location in Victoria as we are close to everywhere a guest would need to be. And yes, we are the closest hotel to the Parliament Buildings, also known as the BC Legislature. As mentioned previously, the free hot breakfast is well received by our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We were looking for a reasonably priced hotel in downtown Victoria and found the Embassy Inn to be very well priced. I found that if I clicked on get best deals in came up 79.00/night. If you are looking for a hotel in the downtown or close to downtown area of Victoria this price is exceptionally cheap. The good: breakfast is great, servers are very friendly and its free (now thats good)! The room is very clean, the cleaning staff must take extra pride in a job well done because the sheets were crisp, the floors were clean and the bathroom sparkled.
The bad: the beds are very hard, i didnt have very good sleep because of that, the deck chairs we were supplied had some white chalky substance on them that came off on our clothes so keep an eye out for that. if youre averse to red carpets they got em in the rooms. There are no fridges or safes in the rooms so be prepared not to buy perishable food. The non tower building does not have a/c so be sure to ask for the tower in the summer months.

Over all it was a place to hang our hats at the end of the day and it was a nice place to hang them. The staff are very accommodating, the rooms are clean and the breakfast was good.

Room Tip: fourth floor facing the ocean
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheryl h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thanks to the writer for the review of our hotel. I am happy to let everyone know that we are replacing all of the beds in the 70 rooms in the Tower building. The first delivery of the new beds will arrive next week. I am the new General Manager for the hotel and realized we needed to change the beds right away. I am happy to be able to do this for our future guests. Our guests are enjoying the free hot breakfast as well. We look forward to serving you on a future return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had a very delightful breakfast buffet here. Sausage, bacon, eggs, home fried potatoes and toast, just right.
I loved watching the staff keeping a close eye on the condition of the buffet. Great job!

1  Thank mickeynbranson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews