We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing fancy, but fantastic location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Embassy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Inn
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Manassas, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy, but fantastic location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

My friend and I were having a weekend getaway in Victoria and chose the Embassy Inn because of its location and price (and free breakfast!) The location was better than we could have imagined, especially to the harbor/ferry area. It was literally across the street from the Parliament building and about a 3 minute walk to the ferry. The location was the best part about the hotel. The hotel was clean, but certainly not fancy--but that was ok because we didn't spend much time in our room. We were a little disappointed in the "hot breakfast" because there was only a couple options on a buffet (eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes, bread), which is good for FREE--but I was thinking it would be more like the Embassy Inn and Suites breakfasts which always have tons of food. We were "upgraded" to a nicer room in the tower building which was nice (customer service was great, btw!) but not like what I am used to paying that much money for in the states--the room was outdated, small and pretty bare minimum decor and amenities. Clean and quiet though--thats what matters most! If I was looking for a more budget friendly room in a fantastic location I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for the review of our hotel. Yes, our location is great as we are close to just about everything Victoria has to offer. I will take your comments about the hot breakfast to heart and make some changes or additions if we can. Regarding the rooms, please know that we are making changes as we speak. Our first shipment of new beds has already arrived. We will be changing all the bedding as well. We are committed to upgrading the rooms to make our future guest's stay as comfortable as possible.
We look forward to serving you again on a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    261
    52
    14
    7
See reviews for
169
297
25
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

The Embassy is in a great location, just one block back from the harbour and next door to the BC Parliament Buildings. Easy to find and lots of parking if you have a car. Reception were welcoming and helpful with recommendations on restaurants and getting around. The room was well-equipped and spacious, not fancy (no fridge) but had everything we needed for a very pleasant 4-night stay. A bonus is the cooked breakfast included in the overnight rate, and if you don't fancy the same thing every morning, you can also choose from the a la carte menu; they don't always tell you, so ask if you feel like something different to start the day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thanks to the writer for the review of our hotel. We do have a great location in Victoria as we are close to everywhere a guest would need to be. And yes, we are the closest hotel to the Parliament Buildings, also known as the BC Legislature. As mentioned previously, the free hot breakfast is well received by our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We were looking for a reasonably priced hotel in downtown Victoria and found the Embassy Inn to be very well priced. I found that if I clicked on get best deals in came up 79.00/night. If you are looking for a hotel in the downtown or close to downtown area of Victoria this price is exceptionally cheap. The good: breakfast is great, servers are very friendly and its free (now thats good)! The room is very clean, the cleaning staff must take extra pride in a job well done because the sheets were crisp, the floors were clean and the bathroom sparkled.
The bad: the beds are very hard, i didnt have very good sleep because of that, the deck chairs we were supplied had some white chalky substance on them that came off on our clothes so keep an eye out for that. if youre averse to red carpets they got em in the rooms. There are no fridges or safes in the rooms so be prepared not to buy perishable food. The non tower building does not have a/c so be sure to ask for the tower in the summer months.

Over all it was a place to hang our hats at the end of the day and it was a nice place to hang them. The staff are very accommodating, the rooms are clean and the breakfast was good.

Room Tip: fourth floor facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryl h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thanks to the writer for the review of our hotel. I am happy to let everyone know that we are replacing all of the beds in the 70 rooms in the Tower building. The first delivery of the new beds will arrive next week. I am the new General Manager for the hotel and realized we needed to change the beds right away. I am happy to be able to do this for our future guests. Our guests are enjoying the free hot breakfast as well. We look forward to serving you on a future return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
Level Contributor
320 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had a very delightful breakfast buffet here. Sausage, bacon, eggs, home fried potatoes and toast, just right.
I loved watching the staff keeping a close eye on the condition of the buffet. Great job!

Helpful?
1 Thank mickeynbranson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We spent two nights at the Embassy. Great location at a great price - Victoria can be expensive. The staff at the front desk and the restaurant were very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was really good. Everywhere was kept very clean.
Note, the restaurant serves breakfast and lunch but not dinner. I was disappointed due to the fact I had chosen a hotel with a restaurant as I was travelling with my elderly mother and would have preferred not to drive around looking for a place to eat at night.
Still an enjoyable visit and I would stay again..

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you to the writer for the review of our hotel. We do have a great location that is close to just about everything Victoria has to offer. And since deciding to provide a free hot breakfast to all guests, it has been well received. We are currently deciding as to whether to open for the dinner hour through the summer months. There are however many places close to the hotel to choose from. Our desk staff are always more than willing to make suggestions.
We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

A wonderful hotel in downtown Victoria - within walking distance of all downtown attractions. The room we had in the Tower Building was spacious and clean. The staff were all very cordial, welcoming and helpful. As an aside, the laundry facility for guests was SPOTLESS - an important factor for us on our 6 week driving holiday. The included breakfast was a REAL breakfast in the hotel's restaurant.

Would strongly recommend to all travellers - singles, couples and families.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you to the writer for the review of our hotel. I am glad you were able to take advantage of our guest laundry facilities. And yes, a full hot breakfast is available to all hotel guests. I hope you enjoy the rest of your 6 week holiday.
We look forward to serving you again should your travels bring you back to sunny Victoria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
153 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Pros: Great location across the street from the Ferry Terminal and next to Parliament Building. Hotel was clean and rooms were kept clean everyday by quick and efficient cleaning staff. Room small but comfortable. Complimentary Breakfast buffet was good and filling. Staff was pleasant and helpful.

Cons: Beds were kinda hard. The rooms lacked fridge or microwave. Our room had no Hotel info, directory, phone info, tv info or guest info.... not even a pen or stationary.... Thought that was strange. We stayed in the older part of hotel which was fine and clean but walls are pretty thin. A small chirping bird woke us up in morning.... thats thin! ;-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Embassy Inn. Our location is close to all Victoria has to offer and the free hot breakfast seems to be a hit with our guests. I do apologize that you found the bed hard. We have placed an order for new beds which should be arriving some time soon. I will be sure to check the room for the missing items you mentioned that should have been provided. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
The Oswego Hotel
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
0.3 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Inn

Property: Embassy Inn
Address: 520 Menzies St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2H4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Victoria
#21 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Inn in conveniently located close to all of Victoria's great attractions, dining spots, shopping and theatres. All guests receive a free hot buffet breakfast, free fast wifi and free parking. All rooms are air-conditioned, have balconies, fridges and all the comforts of home. Bring along the family pet as we are a pet friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing