We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very satisfactory.”
Review of Embassy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Inn
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very satisfactory.”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I was at this hotel for three nights on business. Rooms were clean, comfy, and adequately sized. Quiet too. Didn't use the pool. The location is quite good as all my business was downtown within a ten minute walk, right past the Parliament Buildings of the provincial government.

Staff were very pleasant and helpful. I needed to make a few conference calls and despite not having a biz center they let me use their bar/lounge. The restaurant staff kindly kept me supplied with coffee.

Wifi in the rooms of the Tower section only! But it worked great.

Nice restaurant for breakfast and lunch only, but good food.

I will use this hotel again. Good value, location, and condition.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radamandlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    276
    56
    14
    7
See reviews for
185
314
28
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Stayed in early May for 2 nights to go whale watching. Location is great, short walk to the harbour but outside of downtown. Was perfect for us to be able to go for a run from the hotel without having to contend with downtown traffic or people.
Staff were friendly and helpful, we requested a room change due to the bed being far too soft and it was done without any issue at all - much appreciated.
The room was clean and spacious with the only thing missing being a small fridge, but I'm not sure if that's normal in Canadian hotels.
The hotel has a coin operated laundry facility available which is very convenient.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickRSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

When I got here from the US they have me the keys to the room. I brought my fiancé here to have some fun with here on business. When we got to the room it smelled like mildew and looked like a cheap motel room with furniture that was cheap from the 80's...scratched up and dirty and when you pull out drawers they fall out. I immediately went to the front desk and complained and asked for a new room. They took me to an " upgraded room" which had the same small and same crappy bed.. I mean it was the type of bed where you can feel the springs in your back...really. I was very unhappy so they moved me to another room that had a kitchenette.... Same crappy beds.... But I had to take it as it " was their last room". On our next to last am they call us at night saying that we have to check out of that room and check into a new room... I was a bit upset because now for the second time I had to pack up all of my stuff and move... I called them back that night and was concerned I bought 50$ in salmon and food to cook as a pre mothers day meal...they told me that the room had a kitchenette and it would be no problems. So I packed up and moved all my luggage and the food in the fridge to the new room. Well after a long day I come back to the room and lay out all of my food....but there was no pans or pots... I called the front desk and they told me that this room was not allowed to use the stove at all because the fan is broken. I told them that my fiance and i have not eaten at all... He says that he upgraded me and the range not working is irrelevant because my original room didn't have a stove...I told him that this should have been told to me when they moved me into this room as we did say we had food to cook. He argued with me very rudely and said that they would do oohing to help me... Then he says if you don't like it you can check out right now.. I t was 945 at night....omg... What is going on! I advised him that I travel a lot and this was a surprise that this hotel would not help me....HE SAYS "WELL IF YOU TRAVEL ALOT THEN YOU SHOULD HAVE READ THE REVIEWS ON OUR HOTEL before you booked. The duty manager I spoke to was Travis . This is the whole reason why at 1030 at night I am writing this review. My fiancé and me are going hungry and I have 50$+ in food that I have to leave here that is going to go bad. This is the worst experience that I have ever had. I should have stayed in the days inn. I AM NOT LYING THE BEDS HERE ARE THE WORST AND THE REVIEWS THAT SAY THAT THE BEDS ARE COMFY... THOSE PEOPLE MUST HAVE BEEN SLEEPING ON THE FLOOR THEIR WHOLE LIFE.... IM NOT A COMPLAINER BUT THIS HAD TO BE SAID.. I WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE EVER.....I FEEL LIKE SUCH A SUCKER..I SHOUD NEVER HAVE BOOKED THIS.... DON'T MAKE MY MISTAKE

Room Tip: I saw 3 rooms and all of them had really uncomfortable beds and 2 of them smelled like mildew
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brianandmaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksquirrel2010, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Brian and Maddy,

We were sorry to see your comments on Trip Advisor. We always try to do the best for our guests as you are the reason we are in business. I was aware on your check in that you were unsatisfied with the type of room that you had booked and due to the length of stay that I witnessed I approved your upgraded move to the 475 sq. ft suite complete with a full kitchen that we moved you to. I am also witness to the Desk Clerk advising you of a move on the last nights stay at the date this suite was offered to you.. Embassy Inn does not advertise itself as a posh 4 or 5 star hotel. Our motto is the most affordable Inner Harbour Hotel, one thing that we are known for is the cleanliness of our rooms and this can be observed on any booking site remarks. On your last day at the hotel when we moved you to another room, which was again a suite, my Housekeeper came to me in tears concerning the state of the room you were departing and I visited this suite and observed the damaged kitchen equipment etc., at this time it was appropriate that no more complimentary kitchen equipment would be put into the suite you would be moving into for 1 night.

Should you have any problems with this response or require further clarification from me, please feel free to call me on the hotel toll free line at 1 800 268 8161

Dee Gray
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North America
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We visited the Embassy Inn for 2 nights as part of a trip to Victoria to try a different room/suite hotel from our usual haunt. The price was right, the room was clean, the bed comfortable and the staff friendy. The location is excellent since it is just behind the legislature and steps away from the harbour. It is a basic type of place, no frills in the room we were in, so my "excellent" rating reflects the value for the price - not the perks included in the room! All in all- The Embassy was OK, but we will go back to our usual haunt!

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor facing the harbour for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suitscase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Nice room, very good value for price, free parking in downtown is impossible to find! Great location, so near everything and easy to walk. When we checked in, the front desk staff member admitted that he was new and had to ask a supervisor for an answer to a question we had, but was so friendly and helpful that it didn't matter! Nice breakfasts in restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uprivercamaleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

For our first ever trip to Victoria BC, We were lucky enough to snag a last-minute room at the Embassy Inn for Labor Day weekend. It wasn't our first choice, but it was the best choice for the price on a busy weekend. We were pleasantly surprised. The room is nothing special or huge, but it was roomy enough for 2 adults and was ABSOLUTELY IMMACULATE! Probably the cleanest hotel room I have ever seen. The location couldn't be beat for those who want to do Victoria on foot. We were in the tower and the balcony was a nice extra. It wasn't a great view, but the weather was so pleasant that we were able to have the windows open all night for fresh air. The breakfast is a bit spendy if you are on a budget, but its worth it not to have to search for something to get you started in the mornings. The staff was very friendly and even held our luggage for us on the day we checked out as we were taking a later ferry back home. There is an outdoor pool that looked fairly nice, but we did not have time to enjoy it this trip. We will definately stay there again.

Room Tip: ROOM TIP: ask for a room AWAY from the elevators or closets that hold the pop machines. The pop ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DoofersMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

This property was easy to get too once we got off the ferry. It is within walking distance of most of the attractions and shopping. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was not included, and was a bit pricey, but was very good. We had a room on the side with a large parking lot and farmers market. Not a great view, but very quiet.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainey1258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,058 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
The Oswego Hotel
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Inn

Property: Embassy Inn
Address: 520 Menzies St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2H4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Victoria
#21 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Inn in conveniently located close to all of Victoria's great attractions, dining spots, shopping and theatres. All guests receive a free hot buffet breakfast, free fast wifi and free parking. All rooms are air-conditioned, have balconies, fridges and all the comforts of home. Bring along the family pet as we are a pet friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing