We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No sleep for two nights”
Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Rialto
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2010

We booked this hotel based on the reviews on trip advisor. We booked a king superior room. The fact that the shower door came off the first day and even after several conversations with the staff, no one even attempted to fix the door, the fact that getting our room made up before 4 pm because they were short of staff is next to no problem when coupled with the noise level 24 hours a day. We travel extensively and have never spent this amount of money to stay in a room that was this loud. No offer to move us. It was by far the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. Do also keep in mind that if visiting china town, you are right there. But the empress is a 20 minute walk back to town. There are good restaurants in the area. Our advice is to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,532 - 1,538 of 1,617 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2010

Remarkable value in a terrific location! This is a gorgeous hotel with an older, classic styling that is much more charming than a Hilton or Sheraton. High end amenities in the room, which makes the room rate a surprising value. I'm talking about plush beds and bedding, luxurious towels, nice toiletries, comp coffee and tea, even a refrig and microwave. We made this visit with my daughter and her boyfriend, and got a multiple room - it is like a two bedroom apt (sans kitchen). The rate was remarkable low for such a large corner room. Without this multiple room, we would have had to book two rooms, easily doubling our cost. Now, the location: not on the water, but a few blocks inland. Much better, as it was much less touristy and closer to a variety of downtown shops and eateries.

A MUST is the restaurant. Called Veneto. Absolutely stunning and innovative and not over-priced. But be warned. It is packed. The patrons themselves are cool like the restaurant itself.
, as

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arlenejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

My husband and I stayed over the past weekend. Robert, the front desk manager upgraded us for free when we checked in. :)
The staff was nice, location was close to the main attractions we wanted to see, and the room was clean. For the value, it's a pretty good place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tboneabq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

This is an older hotel building which has been completely renovated - very successfully. It's very clean and comfortable, and modern in decor style. The staff were helpful and friendly. The room size was good, and everything worked - the air conditioning was good (and quiet). The location is good for getting to the high street shops, although the harbour area is a bit of a walk away. I would definitely return to this hotel without question.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Can_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

We stayed at the Rialto and it was quite nice, we got a good deal for the middle of the Summer on a long weekend. The exterior of the building is beautiful and the rooms are nicely done with some good amenities. We checked in at about 9:30 and were dissapointed that they had one staff on and he was running around trying to help guests check in and going to rooms to help guests. He was very friendly as were all the staff.
Two small down sides were the size of the bathroom in our room was like a closet and some of the room had nice spacious bathrooms, the other was the parking is behind a building kitty corner to the hotel and it is a bit sketchy.

The part I had a real problem with was, was the city itself, we returned on Saturday night from a wedding and the hotel was surrounded by drunk hoodlums(probably 50 young guys and girls) a couple of who tried to pick a fight with me and wouldn't let me through the door of the hotel, not helped by there being no front desk staff after 11 pm. I don't let this reflect on the hotel, but the city itself, I have visited Victoria many times but won't be returning anytime soon.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrendanVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Would recommend this hotel to anyone. We received excellent friendly service from all staff at this hotel. A nicely decorated hotel with character, and close to the downtown sights of Victoria.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LulaBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

we got a free upgrade to a very comfortable beautiful room, the lady at the reception was extremely nice, and we had a very nice stay.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
Thank NA10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 46 in Victoria
2,877 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 46 in Victoria
2,190 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 46 in Victoria
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oswego Hotel
#7 of 46 in Victoria
1,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Address: 653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range: $110 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rialto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming heritage building located right downtown Victoria. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Minutes walk from Inner Harbour, Market Square and right beside China Town. Rooms are quaint and nicely appointed with flat screen TVs with movie system, in-room fridge, microwave and I-home alarm clocks. Complimentary, enhanced continental breakfast served in the lower lobby of the hotel, 7am-10:30am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing