We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, clean, comfortable, friendly”
Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rialto
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2009

Stayed for three nights on the first floor. Room was a good size, quiet, air-conditioned. Bathroom a nice size, lots of marble and granite. Liked the microwave, fridge and flat-screen in the room. Bed and pillows very comfortable. Friendly, helpful staff. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moving64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,506 - 1,512 of 1,572 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2009

My boyfriend and I were recently in town for a wedding, and were wowed by the rooms, the restaurant and the service. Our room was a quasi-suite with two flat screen TVs, seating area, and a mini-kitchen including a microwave, coffee maker, sink, fridge and even some dishes. The bathroom was fully stocked not just with shampoo but with facial soap, mineral soak and even a sewing kit, of all things (which saved me from running to the dollar store). You can tell they put a lot of effort into their recent reno: it's light, airy and welcoming.

The restaurant/lounge was fabulous. We stopped by on the way home from the wedding and it was pretty full. As guests, we got a free voucher for an appetizer (which we didn't get a chance to use) and a drink (great caesars with fun spicy rim salt). Like the hotel, the decor was classy: light wood, cool lighting, good vibe. The coffee bar closes a bit early, but looked good too.

The best thing about this place is the staff. They are super friendly and accommodating. They let us leave our luggage in their baggage room twice, as we arrived before check-in the first day and left after check-out the second day. They were even gracious when we sheepishly returned to stash our coats when the sun came out on the second day.

I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becka11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

The Hotel Rialto.
Great location downtown and the greeting from the staff was perfect. We read the reports as usual and noticed many complaints, mainly about the grubby rooms.. then we noticed a comment saying the hotel had been refurbished.... so we looked further..apparently only some rooms were finished so I called to ensure we booked a finished room. The receptionist said all rooms available on the net were refurbished.. wonderful.. so we booked.
On arrival we found a smart looking minimalistic looking conversion, and were greeted with help with our bags and very friendly Staff, Our room was on the third floor, we had to do a little shuffle to get in the room as the door hits the bed..no problem as most people don't go in and out much!
We unpacked our bags and hung our clothes on the door handles and anywhere we could find.. they had forgotten coat hooks!Never mind, it made it look “lived in”... I then looked for a place for the laptop.... the bed.... never mind.. being minimalistic is good for the planet eh? All that wood wasted building a shelf or table and chair.. wasteful... did get a bit of backache though...and looking on the bright side the heat from the computer kept the bed warm//saving more greenhouse gases..B.C. really means business here...

We did want to read though and asked for a bedside lamp..

We stayed a couple of nights and only saw two people in the minimalistic bar and restaurant.=?

The View onto the concrete wall is another planet saver ,we stayed out as long as possible.
A hundred and thirty bucks for a downtown spot is probably ok for some .. but not for us...

Conclusion, they tried and with a bit more effort would not be a bad place to stay , 6 out of 10 for now.
NO BREAKFAST. pay for parking away from hotel in a very seedy area..

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fuzzflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

What an amazing renovation. Beautiful local marble floors, venetian plasters walls in the lobby. I looked at a few rooms. Very nice. They even have a meeting room or rooms with a living room.
The renovation of the rtooms ended in June.
The Veneto Restaurant downstairs was good value and excellent.
Great location.
Would go back

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimgloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2009

I stayed at the Hotel Rialto 2007, I was impressed with the Location I was able to walk to all meetings, I Loved the rooms, beautiful white clean linens and fluffy pillows and excellent service. I ate in the Lounge at lunch and found world class dishes at an ineradicable price.

Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
Thank Angel088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2007

We stayed at the Rialto Hotel for two nights in early October of 2007. It appeared that the hotel had recently undergone a facelift. All of the rooms and corridors were freshly painted and clean. The lounge was closed for renovation. For an older property, located on a busy street, we were very pleased. Our fourth floor room was small but quiet. We stayed in one of the "Euro" style rooms with the bath down the hall. This was not a problem for us. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Both when we made our reservations by phone, and when we checked in and stayed at the hotel, the staff went beyond normal courtesy to make our stay pleasant. This is a very walkable city. The hotel's location, across the street from City Hall, was very convenient to most of Victoria's downtown attractions. The view from our room of the City's clock and bell tower was great! The accommodations and service were very good for the extremely low cost. Don't have high expectations of a luxury Victorian hotel, but for a much lower cost, the Rialto Hotel has much more character and ambiance than your typical motel chain.

Steve and Karen

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Califwoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2007

This hotel was by far the grossest that we have ever stayed in. We viewed the hotel's website and thought that the rooms looked cute and it was a good price so we booked online. When we checked in the staff was nice and the lobby was charming but when we went up to our room...disgusting. We booked a superior queen room with bathroom. The room was tiny, the bed pushed up into a corner. The tan carpet was covered in black stains, there were mangy old blankets wadded up in the closet. The bathroom had loose tiles all over, the toilet wasn't clean, there was no shower, there was toilet paper stuck to the floor, and a dead fly in the corner. There room was very dark, there were no lamps and just one dim overhead light by the door, but really we probably didn't want to see it in any more light.

We had booked a two night stay but after 5 minutes in the room we decided that we couldn't stay there for 2 nights. We wouldn't have stayed any nights but it was late and we didn't think we could find another hotel on the holiday weekend. The staff was understanding and apologized that we had received one of the rooms that had not been remodeled. But then added "well you can't really go wrong for $80 per night, can you?" Well we think you can go wrong for $80/night and if you stay here you might.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 49 in Victoria
2,138 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,833 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#21 of 49 in Victoria
3,889 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 49 in Victoria
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Address: 653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range: $114 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rialto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming heritage building located right downtown Victoria. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Minutes walk from Inner Harbour, Market Square and right beside China Town. Rooms are quaint and nicely appointed with flat screen TVs with movie system, in-room fridge, microwave and I-home alarm clocks. On the main level is Cafe Veneto serving all day breakfast and fast fresh lunch. Veneto Tapa Lounge is also on the main level of the hotel which is a stylish urban "restro-lounge" serving delectable small plates and a wine and cocktail menu that is among the finest in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing