We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“European touch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rialto
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Boise Idaho USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“European touch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed at the Rialto May 30 - June 2, 2014. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The hotel's rooms were well appointed, clean and very quiet. We were impressed with their "green" option to forgo room servicing daily for a ten dollar credit/day. The food in the restaurant was excellent.

There was a liquor store right next door with and excellent selection of wines and they offered a ten percent discount for hotel guests.

Room Tip: We had the junior queen suite. It was very roomy and included a sink, fridge, and microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjmarconi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    916
    378
    61
    16
    7
See reviews for
231
705
85
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed for two nights in a Superior Queen room. It was clean and well furnished but a little small. The bathroom was well equipped but there was no tub. The central downtown location allowed easy walking access to the main central attractions. There was a little street noise but not really a problem. Staff were cordial and knowledgeable. The room rate was excellent and the breakfast coupons and the cheese tray voucher made it an even better value. We would definitely stay at Hotel Rialto on our next visit. If staying more than two nights, I would recommend upgrading to a larger room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Alberta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Rialto for 5 nights as I was at a conference. The location is great and easy walking distance to everything downtown. I was given a suite due to some mixup in my reservation and that was amazing. It was huge, clean and convenient. I requested a quiet room so no view (except outside walls) which made it a bit dark but it was my choice to choose quiet over view. It was very comfortable and quiet (except Sunday morning when I hear pounding music very early in the morning). The staff were very good particularly the night desk clerk who checked me in. There were minor problems - things missing or not working - but for the most part those were corrected quite quickly. The coupons for breakfast were great - each day I got some different pastry and each one was delicious and I had juice to take with me. Due to timing I didn't use the restaurant or lounge. I didn't get the free cheese plate but I saw someone get his and it looked very good. If you can, do visit the Public Market down the road - great variety of food. Chinatown and Silk Road are so interesting. It was great to walk different routes to the Convention Centre every day and explore different streets and see different places. I would stay here again and well worth the cost - particularly with the lovely suite. Do try to get to "Red Fish Blue Fish" at the harbour. Amazing fish and chips.

Room Tip: I went with an inside room so denied a view and natural light but it was quiet. The restaurant and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristineAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed for four nights in a Superior King room on the fourth floor. The room was beautiful, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was well equipped with a huge tub, double sinks and a stand-up shower. The location was perfect - easy walking distance for lots of tourist attractions downtown. There was a bit of noise at night from seagulls and other birds; however the hotel provides earplugs to help with this issue. We didn't hear anything from the rooms next door. The staff was very friendly, helpful and able to make recommendations about things to do in the area. Both the cheese plate and coffee/pastry breakfast were tasty. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again or to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MMC761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob C, Director of Sales at Hotel Rialto, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Sounds like you stayed in one of our Romance Kings...one of my favourites. Very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights in April 2014.

The location was central - a short walk of a few blocks from the harbour and the heart of downtown. The rooms were well-appointed, tastefully furnished, and the amenities, such as the heated floor and the bathrobes were appreciated. Noise was not a problem, but I did note the included ear plugs in case they were.

Value was enormous. Not only were the room rates reasonable, but vouchers for a pastry/coffee or a discount towards a hot breakfast were given every morning, and there was a voucher for a cheese plate in the lounge as well (that I did not get the chance to use, unfortunately).

Overall, it was a beautiful hotel, a comfortable stay, in a central location, for a very reasonable price. Would strongly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iclaprim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob C, Director of Sales at Hotel Rialto, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Hi there,

Thanks for letting others know about us, we appreciate you taking the time to do so and hope you can return soon.

Sincerely,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Great location, beautiful hotel.
The staff, particularly Michael, could not have been more helpful. His knowledge of the restaurants and attractions was a great help.
The hotel has a welcome plate of cheese which was delicious. We also took advantage of the half price tapas in the restaurant. Extremely large portions, and delucious.
This hotel is a winner!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank patchworklizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob C, Director of Sales at Hotel Rialto, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Hi there,
Thank you for the review. Glad you enjoyed the dining at the hotel, it is really one of the Crown Jewels of our property.

Hope you enjoyed your time in Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Overall, my family and i really enjoyed Hotel Rialto. It is a small but modern hotel within 10minutes walk from the marina. The staff was helpful and the room was very clean. The hotel rooms had good noise protection and rarely heard anything from the streets or next door rooms. Our room included breakfast which was a simple coffee and pastry, but all we really needed! The staff even included a welcome cheese plate when we checked in! I would definitely come back again and recommend to anyone looking for a pleasant, clean and well located hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amgtraveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob C, Director of Sales at Hotel Rialto, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Hi there,

Really appreciate you taking a moment to let others know you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you next time you are in Victoria.

Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Property: Hotel Rialto
Address: 653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rialto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming heritage building located right downtown Victoria. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Minutes walk from Inner Harbour, Market Square and right beside China Town. Rooms are quaint and nicely appointed with flat screen TVs with movie system, in-room fridge, microwave and I-home alarm clocks. On the main level is Cafe Veneto serving all day breakfast and fast fresh lunch. Veneto Tapa Lounge is also on the main level of the hotel which is a stylish urban "restro-lounge" serving delectable small plates and a wine and cocktail menu that is among the finest in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing