We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Rialto
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotel Rialto is off the main drag but less than a 10 minute walk to the front of the Empress Hotel downtown. I was surprised to find two rooms, a fully stocked kitchenette, two flat screens, large bathroom and very cozy bed. It's beautifully decorated, quiet, even across from the ice machine (couldn't hear it from the bedroom but made me jump in the living room). Helpful staff, fantastic complimentary cheese and nut plate and amazing breakfasts. Would stay here on every visit.
I even left a piece of jewelry behind and they found it and sent it back to me. Can't say enough, loved my stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor and you won't hear a thing-facing Chinatown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    903
    376
    60
    16
    7
See reviews for
227
699
84
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This place is really neat. Walking distance to Chinatown and the Inner Harbor (touristy Victoria is pretty small) but a step away from all the hubbub. Rialto is about 10 downhill blocks to the Fairmont Empress and the bus depot. The Queen room I got had a microwave(!) and coffeemaker, but no safe (front desk said its because Victoria is very safe). Wine shop next door lets you use the wine glasses that the hotel provides. Modern decor and flat screen TV in the room. Not super luxurious or spacious, but OK for the price and very clean. Hotel also provided ear plugs -- I used them and had no problems sleeping (I did ask for a quiet room). The front desk's Michael was super helpful when I asked about going straight to Butchart Gardens from the ferry. Front desk and cafe staff were nice and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamliesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights because of the other reviews of this hotel. The pros: location, cleanliness, modern, free parking, free breakfast, discount for going green, staff. The cons: noise level (they do provide earplugs), size of our room "superior queen" was TINY - just beware if you're expecting something larger, and that's it. In regard to going green, if you forego maid service, they give you a $10 credit for each day you forego it. This can be applied to any charges to your room in the restaurants or your total bill. The Veneto Tapa lounge is the best - have the pork belly slider if they're still on the menu and DEFINITELY sit at the bar. The bartenders are master mixologists and we could hardly believe we were there for 3 hours. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaLoves2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I went to Victoria for our 10th wedding anniversary and she could not have picked a better hotel than the Rialto! It is perfectly located within walking distance of both Chinatown and the harbor. In terms of service I would say that this was the best experience that I have ever had! All of the staff were friendly and helpful and the room was clean and comfortable. We ate at the restaurant and the food was very good. The complimentary pastry and coffee each morning was great as we could grab a coffee and a pastry and head out touring. The wine and cheese platter is a nice touch and the $10 per night credit for not using maid service bought us our last morning's hot breakfast.

I know that the comfort of beds is subjective, but take it from someone who suffers from chronic back pain, the beds and pillows are amazing.

I would definitely stay at the Rialto again and I have already recommended it to many couples looking to go to Victoria for a getaway weekend.

Great Job Rialto! Way to set the standard!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franktown, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed overnight at the Rialto in Victoria on our way to Tofino and what a delightful surprise. Its a small boutique hotel with a very large presence! The rooms are comfortable and spacious. The front desk staff are very cordial and professional. The hotel restaurant is TO DIE FOR! We were very travel weary so we just went downstairs for a bite. Just amazing food and service.

I will absolutely recommend this hotel and restaurant to all of my friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzyqdegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
963 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 450 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

This really is a great hotel... fabulous contemporary rooms with beautifully appointed bathrooms...

The staff are helpful and friendly and we really enjoyed our 1 night stay here, but were glad it was just a single night as we are light sleepers and the location is noisy (road noise and late night reveler noise!).

The hotel provides earplugs, but you need better ones (get the wax ones from a pharmacy) if you are a light sleeper... once we'd put in decent earplugs we slept fine :-)

Apart from the noise, this is a great hotel and we'd certainly recommend and would come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff and Jenni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

You remember the 1980's and 1990's, when "boutique" hotels first appeared? They were a little small and quirky, had limited (but personal, smart, and caring) service, and were often in engaging, but not-quite-prime locations. They featured stylish design. Above all, they were about quality over quantity, and richness of experience.

In the U.S., the boutique hotel has been co-opted by the national chains, and/or moved to absolute top price points. We now have, oxymoronically, boutique chains. Quirkiness, hip design, and personal service have become standardized to corporate norms, and the current economic model largely blackballs the creation of any new actual boutique hotels.

The Rialto in Victoria is a fairly new hotel that is a throwback to the original boutique hotel. Perhaps this is possible because of differences in the Canadian economy, I can't say, but for me it was a welcome throwback.

An example: The breakfast voucher--good for a free pastry and coffee, or for $3 off a served breakfast--initially seemed a little cheap to me, but then I went the the gorgeous restaurant, with real silverware, linens, and table service. I ordered the granola, berries, and yogurt plus an espresso. All were flawless, and my bill ($3 off) was only about $3.50. If you treasure the big breakfast buffet that comes at no additional expense at many chain hotels, maybe this will seem expensive and unfulfilling, but for me it was perfect: quality over quantity.

The location is a couple blocks west and north of the main tourist center of Victoria. Initially, I thought, "A-ha! That explains the great price!" But it turns out that the immediate area, with the urban bustle of mostly locals, was interesting; and the pretty tourist center around the harbor only a couple blocks' extra to walk.

The room was on the small side, but with thoughtful built-ins that allowed it to function beautifully. In the basement meeting space lobby, there is an interesting little display about the hotel's past, as a Chinese-Canadian owned and operated hotel. One of the egress stairs discharges you into the restaurant--the kind of weird, charming thing you'd find in Europe. I loved everthing about it. My experience was rich, even though the hotel is small and the price of the room was very reasonable.

Room Tip: Our room faced into a courtyard/light well. No view, but it was quiet and dark, which suited us aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Skidrowe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Property: Hotel Rialto
Address: 653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rialto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming heritage building located right downtown Victoria. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Minutes walk from Inner Harbour, Market Square and right beside China Town. Rooms are quaint and nicely appointed with flat screen TVs with movie system, in-room fridge, microwave and I-home alarm clocks. On the main level is Cafe Veneto serving all day breakfast and fast fresh lunch. Veneto Tapa Lounge is also on the main level of the hotel which is a stylish urban "restro-lounge" serving delectable small plates and a wine and cocktail menu that is among the finest in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing