We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute”
Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rialto
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Last minute”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel Rialto for 1 night. Located right in the middle of Victoria. One word fantastic, bed and pillows very comfortable. The room though small had all we needed, ie fridge and microwave. The bathroom is modern and was spotless. Staff also wonderful. Restaurant downstairs, meals very good. Paid parking but that was ok with us. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank alan_muzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    965
    400
    67
    16
    7
See reviews for
246
752
88
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed with Hotel Rialto during a one-night getaway from our home an hour north of Victoria. It was our first night away from our 8-month old so it was kind of a big deal. We booked a room with the Residents Package (which came with a $30 voucher at Veneto) and when we got there the Guest Services Manager upgraded us to the King Suite, which was palatial. The staff was amazing (Maureen Kelly is our hero) and the hotel itself is a hidden gem. Very classy and modern without being pretentious or intimidating. Veneto in the hotel makes food that is unbelievably good. It is worth the stay in itself. I think Hotel Rialto is one of the best deals in town and we will stay there again for sure.

Room Tip: Get room 112 if you can. It's like having your own apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hokemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

When we entered the Rialto we were pleased by the "boutique" look and feel. The staff was excellent in getting us settled and in providing any information about the city. The Rialto was in an excellent location in Victoria. Our room was as good as any 4 star boutique hotel that we have stayed at in Boston. It was large with a microwave, refrigerator, wall mounted TV and the bathroom had heated floors. We applaud their GO GREEN program which not only encourages you to re-use your towels and linen, but rewards you with a $10 credit per night for each day you choose to participate. We enjoyed a complimentary cheese plate in the downstairs Veneto Tapa Lounge, and the accompanying dinner was excellent. They also gave you a ticket for a free beverage and pastry in the cafe each morning. All this and the price was great. I will return to the Rialto if I am ever in Victoria.

Room Tip: The rooms on the CIty Hall side of the building have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveC_194942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had a recent stay at the Hotel Rialto, everything was beyond our expectations. The staff at every level were keen to make any request a priority, from the arrival process with good advice for parking to polite and engaged greetings, to compimentary ( really good) cheese plate. Our room was really lovely, spacious, bright with elegant comtemporary design, really nice bathroom with large soaker tub. Bed was very comfortable, room was quiet and robes are always a welcome touch. The aesthetic of the hotel was very pleasing. Complimentary beverage and pastry in the morning - again very pleasant staff- very good Americano.

We will definately be back and will not hestitate to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rely on the staff to help you choose a good room, we wanted a quiet room, the staff recommended the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIons Bay, British Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We booked the Rialto Hotel based on excellent reviews on Tripadvisor and were very pleased. The location was fabulous! The parking that was offered (valet, I believe) was quite expensive but we were able to park on the street for free in the evening until 9 a.m. then move the car to an all day garage. With a bit of planning it really wasn't an issue. The hotel is centrally located, clean and quiet and we were within easy walking distance to great restaurants, the theatres and Inner Harbour. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful and the vouchers for free coffee and pastry each morning were an added bonus. The room was small but nicely appointed and very comfortable for the two of us. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it for a single traveller or a couple.

Room Tip: Based on another review we had read, we asked for a quiet room that faced away from the street. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank footlooseRwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Rialto was a gem to discover in the heart of downtown Victoria. I was on a business trip and needed to be able to get to the BC Cancer Agency and to UVIC. The Rialto was steps from public transportation and also offered me a chance to walk through downtown. It is close to many food choices / shopping / entertainment! The Rialto is clean, has an initiative-based green/sustainability program, has a modern flair and has a fantastic lounge area. And best of all, it was affordable! Very helpful staff - I highly recommend the Rialto!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanBigelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The Hotel Rialto is an amazing boutique hotel. Rooms that are straight out of a designer's magazine, excellent service and staff, good location in downtown Victoria, and an unbelievable price for an upscale place.

We were looking for a nice place close to downtown, somewhere we could relax after a few days of travelling, and the Rialto was perfect. We booked a month or two ahead of time and got a corner room on the top floor, looking out at the old City Hall clocktower across the way. Ultra-modern bathroom, comfortable king-size bed, flat-screen TV, free wi-fi, lots of towels and friendly, helpful service. Complimentary breakfast vouchers and another for a cheese plate at the award-winning tapas restaurant downstairs.

One problem was the street noise. The Rialto is the only hotel I've ever checked into where complimentary ear plugs are offered on the bedside table. Even on the 4th floor, five stories above the street, there was sufficient traffic noise to wake us up repeatedly. I chose to wear the earplugs, but my wife had a restless night.

The only downside (and forgive me for pointing this out), was a lack of parking. When I first called, I was told the hotel has some parking available, but that it filled up fast. As an alternate, I was told there was more parking just half a block away. With our handicapped sticker, we arrived to check in and pulled into a disabled spot a few steps from the lobby door. However, when I asked about parking, I was given a map directing me to a public parkade a block and a half away. I repeated what I'd been told when I made the booking and was told that, unfortunately, the closer lot was full. With mobility limited to about 50 metres, I told the desk clerks that parking there would be a problem. The best they could do for me was to send out a staff member to help carry in the bags, but other than that I was on my own. I wound up plugging the parking meter in the disabled spot to get through until the 6:00PM cutoff when parking became free, then I had to make a point of getting back to the car to move to a regular public spot at 6:00 (to avoid a $150.00 ticket) then picking it up the next morning before the parking fees kicked in at 9:00AM. I repeated the same drill the next night and in spite of paying out a lot of coins to the meters, I managed to avoid getting a ticket. The only solution I can see is that the Rialto start a valet parking program. In the meantime, I would warn anyone else with a mobility problem to stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Look for corner rooms close to the elevators if you want a good view of the surrounding area. The on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petey1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,026 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,024 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 49 in Victoria
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Property: Hotel Rialto
Address: 653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rialto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming heritage building located right downtown Victoria. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Minutes walk from Inner Harbour, Market Square and right beside China Town. Rooms are quaint and nicely appointed with flat screen TVs with movie system, in-room fridge, microwave and I-home alarm clocks. On the main level is Cafe Veneto serving all day breakfast and fast fresh lunch. Veneto Tapa Lounge is also on the main level of the hotel which is a stylish urban "restro-lounge" serving delectable small plates and a wine and cocktail menu that is among the finest in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing