We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Within walking distance to everything in downtown Victoria”
Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rialto
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We've tried a number of hotels in Victoria for both business and pleasure, and this is our favourite. It's centrally located, very reasonably priced and the rooms are immaculate. Staff are friendly and professional.

The free breakfast every morning is light, but very good (especially the Discovery Coffee!) and a multi night stay gets you an excellent cheese plate at the bar.

This place is excellent if you arrive by public transit or float plane. Parking costs extra I think...

Room Tip: Ask about their corporate rate if you work for a local company.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,323 - 1,329 of 1,619 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

I liked this hotel. We got the bus from the ferry, got dropped off downtown and found the hotel right in front of us. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean. I opted for the room with the double bath. I loved the cool bar, the complimentary cheese in the bar and the nice coffee in the cafe.
The only fault I can find with the place was that they did not supply bubbles for the bath which was unfortunate. Also the website said 'breakfast included' but in reality it was a coffee and a pastry and/or you get a three dollar discount if you opt for the hot breakfast. My partner went for the hot breakfast and it was great. Our windows were looking onto other windows which felt a bit 'boxed in' so a tip would be to ask for a nice view or even a view of the town/courtyard.. The staff were extremely helpful, in particular Michael at reception. I would most definately stay here again and it was priced reasonably and we left feeling that we got great value for our money.

Room Tip: ask for a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marymarthamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

A recently renovated old hotel in the middle of everything. Very tastefully done. Spacious bathrooms with all the usual toiletries etc. Vouchers given for coffee/breakfast pastries, and if you are lucky a voucher for a sumptuous cheese platter in their elegant tapas bar/restaurant. Will certainly dine there on my next visit.

Room Tip: room overlooked a courtyard, very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barbara M O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This refurbished small hotel is a tasteful, contemporary, and get this, inexpensive, treat in a city over-served by quaint, stodgy and over-priced hotels. Beautifully decorated rooms, fabulous location, a fantastic restaurant on the main floor (Venetto's), a respectable wine store, complementary breakfast treats and a genuine staff of friendly, helpful and go-out-of-their-way people to make your stay a delightful and warm experience. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the Pandora St. side or the side opposite Douglas St., that side is a bit noisy. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank salferreras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

A great surprise! Clean, well decorated and super helpful staff you find in this hotel.
Micheal on the desk went the extra mile with a smile. Rooms, food and wine store are all top notch. We were concerned about the noise from the busy street, kept windows closed and had a great sleep, earplugs are provided which is a wonderful gesture. The hotel is striving to have a strong green program. I love the green card insentive, forgoing daily housekeeping, if you do so you get a $10 food voucher, great idea. A couple of items can be improved on to enhence the green program: One more towel rack in the bathroom to hang the reused towels to dry and to replace the little shampoo bottles with well funchtiong bulk dispensers filled with a high quality products.
The welcome cheese plate and the continental breaky anthere nice touch. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 270lucass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The Front desk agents especially Michael were very helpful so was the cafe Veneto staff and housekeeping.. The rooms and bathrooms were very, modern, clean and neat.
Only downside for me was the small tub and I'm only 5'8" lol

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oilflloormain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent 4 wonderful nights at this fine old Hotel. There is really nothing that I can say that was bad about this hotel. I cannot really comment on the food as we only took advantage of the continental breakfast(which was very good....fresh pastry was delicious). The desk staff was the best I have dealt with for some time, they went out of their way to assist us, even dropping what he was doing to check a schedule, and print off a copy for us. The hotel is close to so much that the rental car we had was not used at all in Victoria, we walked everywhere. There are some reviews that make note of the noise from the street, well yes there is noise but you are in a 4 storey hotel in the center of downtown, what do you expect....the staff to run outside and tell every person on the street to be quiet. There are earplugs supplied free of charge if you are a light sleeper. The parking was close by and was $15 per night, might seem expensive, but again you are in a small hotel that does not have a built in parkade, but the lot is gated and locked for which you have a remote fob that opens the gate, I did not find this to be unreasonable. Upon checking out there was a meal that had been charged to our room, for which as I said earlier was not ours. When advised of this, the desk clerk promptly removed and charge with no questions asked. I would recommend this hotel to any of my friends without hesitation!

Room Tip: If you feel the street noise will be a bother, request a room on the 4th floor and off of the main s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 46 in Victoria
2,879 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 46 in Victoria
2,194 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 46 in Victoria
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 46 in Victoria
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Address: 653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range: $109 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rialto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming heritage building located right downtown Victoria. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Minutes walk from Inner Harbour, Market Square and right beside China Town. Rooms are quaint and nicely appointed with flat screen TVs with movie system, in-room fridge, microwave and I-home alarm clocks. Complimentary, enhanced continental breakfast served in the lower lobby of the hotel, 7am-10:30am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing