We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rialto
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2013

From check-in to check-out, this little gem in a heritage building in downtown Victoria is perfect. The rooms are contemporary, comfortable and immaculate, and the bathrooms modern and nicely appointed. Parking is in a locked lot across the street, but the hotel is within walking distance of everywhere :)

Guests receive a small tray of cheese and crackers as a welcome, and the cafe downstairs has yummy items for breakfast. The inhouse restaurant, Veneto, is a great place for supper.

Folks like me who live on Vancouver Island - check out their package for us (on their website)!

It has become our home away from home, when we visit Victoria.

Room Tip: It is on Douglas Street so there will be some traffic noise...they do provide earplugs for those wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank toad55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,602)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,320 - 1,326 of 1,602 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Rialto. Love the location, it's very central and surrounded by excellent restaurants. The hotel lounge has some of the tastiest cocktails in the city. Simon the bartender makes incredible drinks. Silvia front desk was very helpful during check. The rooms are clean and slept great. There is great little wineshop attached to the hotel as well. I look forward to my next trip to Victoria.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brianrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is easily located from the bus station. We were welcomed with a complimentary cheese board, which had some lovely unique touches and we also sampled some of the wine. We enjoyed it that much we stayed most if the night and had tapas there. The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff could not do enough to help and offer advice.

The only negative I would say is the breakfast because a muffin and drink would not be sufficient for a day if exploring, so upgrade to a full breakfast. After a little mishap with the breakfast it was dealt with brilliantly.

Lovely stay, thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Natsky16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We spent our first night when we relocated to Victoria from Toronto in this hotel. The design is modern and chic and all the staff we met were charming and helpful. Our room was very large and comfortable, and the bathroom was big with plenty of natural light. An added bonus was the light breakfast included in the price. Their cafe' is bright and airy and they have a delicious selection of muffins and croissant. We also had a very positive experience in their tapas restaurant and cocktail bar. This place is a great addition to downtown Victoria.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AngelaL770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed there last night and couldn't have been happier. Beautiful room, bed, sheets and shower. The room was a bit smaller than some, but common among most of the boutique hotels I've stayed in. What set this hotel apart was the complimentary continental breakfast and cheese plate. The cafe is a beautiful place to spend a sunny morning with an espresso and a book (especially when the cherry trees were blooming on the street!). At night, the complimentary cheese plate was a very nice touch and encouraged me to try a sample of the lounge's very impressive wine and cocktail list. I must compliment this hotel on it's exceptional attention to detail.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank conscious14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This hotel is within easy walking distance of Memorial Arena as well as good restaurants, bars and shopping. The staff was very helpful and polite and the room was very comfortable. The complimentary small breakfast of a beverage and a pastry was a surprising bonus and delicious. They also offer full breakfasts at a discount. The off-site parking a block away was securely locked at all times and there are loading zones along both sides of the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dtrory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We decided to head over to Victoria for a last minute overnight getaway for my birthday and I'm so glad we stayed at Hotel Rialto. Our room was great, as was the bathroom (we booked the King with the soaker tub). The hotel manager had also made me up a birthday card that was waiting in the room when we arrived!

The staff were fantastic and very helpful. The location was amazing for walking around the downtown area, and was very close to most of the bars and restaurants we had been recommended. It's also close to a great shopping street.

The parking is off site, about a block away. It's fine but it could be a pain if it were raining a lot.

We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Penny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 46 in Victoria
2,170 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 46 in Victoria
2,866 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 46 in Victoria
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 46 in Victoria
3,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Address: 653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range: $101 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rialto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming heritage building located right downtown Victoria. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Minutes walk from Inner Harbour, Market Square and right beside China Town. Rooms are quaint and nicely appointed with flat screen TVs with movie system, in-room fridge, microwave and I-home alarm clocks. Complimentary, enhanced continental breakfast served in the lower lobby of the hotel, 7am-10:30am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing