We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, but no mini bar”
Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rialto
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, but no mini bar”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I decided on a last minute trip to Victoria this weekend and took a chance booking this hotel as I'd never heard of it before. We were pleasantly surprised with the building, staff and the rooms. The rooms are well appointed and clean. My only comments are that internet service was sketchy, and there was no mini bar. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    989
    409
    68
    17
    7
See reviews for
257
772
89
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I loved everything about this hotel, the room was so nicely decorated and comfortable. The bathroom was clean, huge and I especially loved the amazing roomy bathtub. The location and friendly staff made it the perfect one night getaway and I would go back there in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Loved the room especially the heated tile floor in the bathroom. Beautifully updated decor throughout. Tapas bar/lounge was quiet and comfortable. Expert and friendly bartender. All this in a downtown location - you will not need your car - and the best price in town.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigDog9903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

My wife & I were looking for a simple hotel to stay for the nite in downtown Victotia. We were extremely impressed with the service, quality & price point for this amazing hotel. We are members of the Terminal City Club in Vancouver & this boutique hotel would be comparable in regards to the service & quality. We are excited about our next visit to Victoria & will be bringing our children. Super clean, comfortable rooms & a bonus is the liquor store next door to the hotel which as a guest you reciece 10% off your purchase. You will not regret this stay! N & W.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great downtown location, very friendly staff from reception to the cafe, up-to-date and modern facility. Walking distance to everything from lake front, restaurants, bars. Next door is a semi-skeezy looking dollar store, but the hotel itself is updated and very clean. Free beverages and pastries in the morning!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Madster02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
697 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed before when it was the Douglas, a very basic inexpensive place with a noisy pub on the ground floor. The nicely renovated rooms and public areas are a great improvement. The price we paid from the hotel reservation desk matched a quote from an online booking site and was very reasonable for off season. The ground floor pub is gone and is now a retail liquor outlet. Our room on the 4th floor with queen bed, inner courtyard facing was tastefully decorated with a deceunt size bathroom. The in-room mini kitchen containing a fridge, microwave and coffee maker is a nice compliment. The room also had a 40 inch flat screen TV plus free Wi-Fi. The Wi-Fi was fast but its availability was very intermittant during our stay. We heard no outside room noise at any time so other posts about requesting an inner room for a peaceful rest are valid from our experience. We did not utilize the free cheese plate offer for the lobby tapas bar so can 't comment on it but passing by it appeared to be a very popular venue. Our stay included coffee and muffin in the lobby cafe. The cafe is a good location to start your day with floor to ceiling windows to enjoy the street scene from. The cafe also offers a full breakfast for an additional $3.00. The hotel is very centrally located with easy access to many of Victoria center attractions. It you are arriving by BC Ferry at Swartz Bay, catch the #70 exprees outside the terminal ($2.50 adult, $1.65 senior) and get off at the intersection of Douglass and Pandora - the hotel is steps away. We will consider staying at the Rialto again on our next visit to Victoria.

Room Tip: Ask for an inner facing room for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ted M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed one night at the Hotel Rialto and found it to be very comfortable and in a great central location. The front desk staff were friendly, efficient and knowledgable . The property has been renovated and has a chic modern vibe. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with clean modern furnishings. I stayed in a corner unit on the 2nd floor and was initially concerned that the area may be noisy, but the traffic and street noise dies down after 11pm and i had a great sleep. For those who are lighter sleepers, they do provide ear plugs in the room.
The parking is across the street, so a little inconvenient, but not a big deal. We had a glass of wine in the wine bar as well - great service, nice atmosphere.
Overall a great property and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for an inside room instead of a room overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oceanlover872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,057 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,737 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 49 in Victoria
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Property: Hotel Rialto
Address: 653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rialto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming heritage building located right downtown Victoria. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Minutes walk from Inner Harbour, Market Square and right beside China Town. Rooms are quaint and nicely appointed with flat screen TVs with movie system, in-room fridge, microwave and I-home alarm clocks. On the main level is Cafe Veneto serving all day breakfast and fast fresh lunch. Veneto Tapa Lounge is also on the main level of the hotel which is a stylish urban "restro-lounge" serving delectable small plates and a wine and cocktail menu that is among the finest in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing