We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most improved!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Rialto
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Most improved!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Rialto this last weekend while in Victoria and had an excellent stay. This hotel has just had an extensive remodel and they have done a good job. I also received vouchers for a welcome cheese plate at the restaurant and for breakfast. The room was lovely and very clean. It came with only a shower but that wasn't a problem for me. The food was excellent all weekend long. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: I hade a Double Queen
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cpettem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    904
    376
    60
    16
    7
See reviews for
227
699
84
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumberland, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

I am sorry to say that my stay at the Hotel Rialto was very fleeting. I was supposed to stay for 3 days but had to cut my trip short. So I was only able to indulge in the lovely surroundings and accommodations for one evening. Staff was extremely helpful immediately upon my arrival. Offering up vouchers redeemable for a quickie but yummy breakfast of a scone,muffin, or pastry every morning accompanied by coffee. Also vouchers for an awesome gym just a short walk away.

Accommodations themselves were very quaint,clean, and charming. A mix of modern and artisan decor in the rooms topped by opulent white marble and glass bathrooms.

Beds are unbelievably comfortable and quite pretty. A true boutique hotel in all of its elegance. Best of all this hotel is smack in the centre of downtown, close to local eateries, fast food joints, and a 2 min stroll away from the Mall. Unbeatable right? Did I mention the prices are INCREDIBLY reasonable and well worth the price for something attractive, clean, and beyond zen.

Great staff overall, very friendly, sincere, and willing to please.Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: if your an elite booking.com member, upgrades for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CurlyHair g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel was recently renovated and it's lovely. Very modern rooms, nice appointments. The rooms are chic and the bed and bedding is super comfortable.
We stayed in a king suite on a package with complimentary champagne, cheese plate, breakfast coffee/muffins. Wow - it was a great deal. And we were treated wonderfully throughout the stay. There was a young woman at the front desk (spanish accent) who was especially helpful and welcoming.
We ate at the very popular and busy tapas restaurant. Had a less great experience there. First night had drinks ($11 CAD each - New York prices) and the service was disappointly unfriendly and poor. Second night ate dinner and had friendly, but somewhat rushed, service. The food, however, is interested and quite tasty.
Highly recommended boutique hotel within walking distance of everything in the downtown/inner harbor area.
PS - we are a GLBT couple and no issues whatsoever (i.e., no obnoxious "do you want separate beds" at check-in)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Experience_Bliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Upon check-in, I discovered that I was upgraded to a "Jr King Suite" free-of-charge.

The hotel is located in the heart of downtown Victoria, which is perfect, because you have the opportunity to visit all the best of what Victoria has to offer.

The cocktail bar that connected to the hotel "The Veneto" offers the best cocktails in the city. I'm not just saying that, I know they do because I've been living in the city for 3 and 1/2 years. (See my review on "The Veneto" here on "TripAdvisor")

Before any of my guests came up to visit me in my room, the staff phoned me in my room and verified if that particular person was in fact, a friend of mine. Once verified, he then escorts the guest to the elevator.

For your morning Breakfast, there's a cute little Cafe that you can eat at. Boy, do they ever serve up a mean Eggs Benny!
The reception will give you discount coupons to save you 3$ off your meal.

Room Tip: They offer Government discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jordan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I travel a lot. I stay in hotels a lot. But I have not had as pleasant an experience in years as my wife and I had at the Rialto in Oct 2012. The staff were friendly and helpful - even enthusiastic. The hotel is in an older character building, but the interior renovations are very good. The room was tasteful and well appointed. Not just proper glasses, but a couple of wine glasses and a corkscrew as well. The location is excellent - a few blocks to pretty much anything you need. The restaurant/lounge/coffee shop were all excellent and treated my wife's food sensitivities well. I can't think of much they could do to improve it - not sure if it had a gym, but I wasn't in the mood for using one anyway!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank YodaBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We booked the Rialto Hotel for one night in October and were delighted with our choice. We read the reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. Free cheese and crackers after 5.00pm plus a $3.00 voucher off a hot breakfast, which by the way was absolutely great. It's not as close to the town centre as some hotels but if you don't mind a walk it's fine. For China Town it's very convenient. Parking is $15.00/day and it's a secure parking lot a block away. It is a friendly, beautifully clean hotel. We totally recommend the Rialto, we don't think you'll be disappointed.

Room Tip: Higher room is probably better, we were on the 3rd floor (out of 4!). The hotel does provide ear pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Hotel Rialto was a fantastic place to stay during my vacation to Victoria. It is conveniently located to almost anything you would want to do or see in Victoria proper. It is just a couple of blocks from Chinatown, an easy walk to pretty much everything, including wonderful shopping and all sorts of great restaurants.

The best part of the hotel is the staff. They are incredibly friendly and helpful and take a genuine interest in their guests. The front desk staff is very welcoming and always ready to offer suggestions as to places to visit and things to do, as well as to offer recommendations for places to eat. One staff person went out of his way to help me with a particularly thorny computer issue, saving me lots of time, energy, and money. After a few days, you almost have the feeling of being family.

The rooms, while a little small, are very comfortable, well-appointed, and offer a quiet place of respite, despite being on a busy street. I never heard any street noise or sounds from neighboring rooms.

The attached bar and restaurant has a nice atmosphere, great drinks, and wonderful tapas dishes. A great place to relax after a long day. And like the hotel, has a friendly and helpful staff.

Overall, Hotel Rialto is a terrific place to stay while visiting Victoria.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mkfincher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Property: Hotel Rialto
Address: 653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rialto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming heritage building located right downtown Victoria. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Minutes walk from Inner Harbour, Market Square and right beside China Town. Rooms are quaint and nicely appointed with flat screen TVs with movie system, in-room fridge, microwave and I-home alarm clocks. On the main level is Cafe Veneto serving all day breakfast and fast fresh lunch. Veneto Tapa Lounge is also on the main level of the hotel which is a stylish urban "restro-lounge" serving delectable small plates and a wine and cocktail menu that is among the finest in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing