We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for visiting Victoria”
Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rialto
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We booked at a very special non-refundable on Booking.com; it was such a good rate that I was apprehensive -rate included a wine reception in the evening. But what a choice for visiting Victoria - a small boutique hotel just on the edge of the hustle and bustle of the city within 5-10 minutes walking distance to everything. It was an easy drive to access from the Port Angeles ferry and an easy half hour drive to Butchart Gardens. The hotel itself was recently rennovated and the rooms were impeccable. I have never seen a hotel staff so eager to please. There was a charge to use their parking garage but the total package was still a great deal. We parked on the street for free overnight the first night because it was a Sunday. As another reviewer says, their parking is limited, so you may want to check out the alternative beforehand.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank jandmVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,374 - 1,380 of 1,573 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2012

This hotel is great value for money, located by shops and restaurants and only 5-10 minutes away from the sights of downtown victoria. The best thing about the hotel was the excellent service. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nzmaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We purchased a Groupon for Hotel Rialto many months ago. After we booked our reservation, they contacted us to let us know about the renovations and that we would have to reschedule our trip. We already had pet-sitting lined up and were pretty disappointed. Boy, did they turn a negative into a positive. We made a new reservation once the renovations were complete, booked a ferry trip and lined up the pet-sitter again. We're here now and we've had the most wonderful trip. At every point from check-in through our dinner tonight at Veneto Tapa Lounge, we have been nothing but impressed. The staff is all smiles and so eager to help. Our room is fantastic, roomy, modern, bright, and comfortable. There was even a vase of fresh flowers waiting for us when we arrived. I had read about the street noise before we came, so I wasn't surprised by it. It's just like staying in a hotel in any big city - the location is fantastic, and that's going to go hand-in-hand with some noise at night.

Service? Outstanding. Room? Comfy cozy. Location? Couldn't be better. Ammenities? Wish there was a gym on-site, but they do allow access to a gym nearby. The weather was so nice, we ended up exercising outside instead. Very content with the little breakfast cafe/coffee bar. Also, we were a little bummed to see scaffolding outside our big, beautiful windows on the 4th floor as we thought the renovations were complete. But, it wasn't that big of a deal. Overall, we were quite happy and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room to get a little bit of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duncveggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Beautiful spot, good location, our room was very spacious, newly renovated. Very classy decor, absolutely immaculate. Bed was SO comfortable. Front desk staff very friendly, coffee shop staff as well. Convenient location. Look forward to going back again. The only downside was parking was not terribly convenient, but that's not unusual for downtown Victoria. They have limited parking in their lot about a block away, so had to park a couple blocks away. Worth the walk though!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank viisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

From the moment we checked in to the Rialto, to the moment we left, the service provided by the front desk receptionist, Karina was first rate. Not only did she have a welcoming manner, but she actively worked to provide us with information on a range of matters that we sought her advice on. This included places to visit, bus timetables, and of course check in and check out.

We travel a lot and based on the wonderful service provided to us by Karina we will recommend to our friends that when they visit Victoria, they consider the Rialto as a place to stay.

We were also impressed with the room standard, and the friendly nature of all your staff.

In summary, thank you for making our stay such a great experience.

Room Tip: If you could get one at back of hotel would be good - road noise is the only negative aspect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Rialto in August 2012 for our honeymoon. We were so happy with the service from the moment we arrived. The friendly staff greeted us and congratulated us on our wedding and made us feel extremely special. The room was a king room, which was lovely and the modern bathroom and amenities were great!
We loved enjoying some tapas and cocktails in the lounge in the evening after sightseeing in the day. the location was perfect for being able to walk everywhere in the city!
The staff were great, especially Alex, who was very knowledgeable on what to do in the city and local areas and through the concierge we were able to book many excursions and rental cars, with ease.
Each morning of our 5 day stay, we started with breakfast in the bright cafe and enjoyed coffee and pastries and were greeted with a smile.
The hotel also participated in a green program and use green products, which is a great thing to see!
We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanted to experience Victoria!
Great stay on the honeymoon and thanks to all the friendly staff for making it a fantastic time!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenAndJulesS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Two days stay after the west coast trail, smelly, carrying backpack but still welcomed in this classy hotel. A little pricey but you get quality service and very friendly helpfull staff. Great comfortable beds and very good complimentary cheese plate. Well located close to harbour front and chinatown..
Guy L, Ottawa

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 49 in Victoria
2,138 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,834 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#21 of 49 in Victoria
3,890 reviews
Inn at Laurel Point
#11 of 49 in Victoria
2,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Address: 653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range: $113 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rialto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming heritage building located right downtown Victoria. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Minutes walk from Inner Harbour, Market Square and right beside China Town. Rooms are quaint and nicely appointed with flat screen TVs with movie system, in-room fridge, microwave and I-home alarm clocks. On the main level is Cafe Veneto serving all day breakfast and fast fresh lunch. Veneto Tapa Lounge is also on the main level of the hotel which is a stylish urban "restro-lounge" serving delectable small plates and a wine and cocktail menu that is among the finest in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing