We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Hotel Made Modern!”
Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rialto
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Historic Hotel Made Modern!”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The Rialto is superbly located in the old wharf district of downtown Victoria. This area of downtown is frequented by the homeless, so if you have issues with this, your choice might need to be reconsidered. That said, we didn't mind at all and helped a few folks along the way. The history of the area, while nothing like Europe, is interesting. The hotel was perfect, quiet, with well equipped rooms that included a kitchenette. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The Veneto Lounge is one of the best places to dine (if you enjoy Tapas) in the city and was written up in the National Post, Globe and Mail and local rag in Tofino BC! A short walk away sits the Inner harbour where you can choose from a long list of things to do. Stay at the Rialto and you will enjoy a complimentary breakfast in their cafe and free use of their business center....if in fact the front desk can locate it!

Room Tip: Any room is a good one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tootsie20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    989
    409
    68
    17
    7
See reviews for
257
772
89
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We made a last minute reservation and the staff was so helpful. The room was great - a top floor corner king unit. The room was comfortable and the property was great. The staff was attentive and helpful. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtbutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coombs, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Great staff, great rooms and right downtown. Very clean, well appointed rooms. The staff was very friendly when checked in. The main lobby is elegant and classy. We will always stay there whenever visiting Victoria. Special thanks to Maureen, for making our stay special.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We resided (on a romantic getaway) in this conviently-located downtown hotel for four full and two half days in Aug., 2012.
Contrary to other opinions, we could not have found the front desk, breakfast service/barista and restaurant staff any more professional, friendly and helpful (regardless of whether it was regarding parking, interesting local sites, tours, restaurant reviews/suggestions or even car rentals). There was not a poor one in the bunch and a few were exceptional. While the breakfasts were quite good, the prices were (like most hotels) a bit overpriced (and the hash browns could use far less salt). However, the young barista was exceptional. The morning coffee/muffin coupons were appreciated and, coupled with the good food and excellent service, kept us returning .
The room was clean and a good size and, despite the street noise, we slept exceptionally well. The air conditioning was a bit confusing but, it worked reasonably well. The single elevator was a bit slow but, did not cause any discomfort.
We would not hesitate to either recommend this hotel to family or friends or, if in Victoria again, stay there. A very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Choose a room that does not face Douglas Street as it is a busy thoroughfare and the windows blocked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Wow, what an amazing Hotel! I am still blown away with how amazing our stay was at the Hotel Rialto. Let me tell you the story of our stay and explain why this is the only place I will ever stay from now on when visiting Victoria.

Our 5th Anniversary

My wife and I live in Seattle and have a 2 year old son. Our 5th Anniversary was last week and planned a trip to Victoria from Tuesday-Thursday to celebrate. Meanwhile my wonderful in-laws agreed to watch our little guy.

I am a bit obsessed with trip reviews and price comparison shopping. I spent 2 days scouring my favorite travel sites looking at reviews and pricing information on different hotels in Victoria. We wanted to stay at a beautiful hotel, that was reasonably priced (300 bucks a night for a hotel like the Empress was way out of our range) that catered to couples and was within walking distance of the main attractions in Victoria. (We walked on the ferry in Anacortes and took a bus from Sydney to Victoria).

After all my research I was pretty convinced the Rialto was the best option for our needs. I checked the pricing online and found the rates at all travel sites to be about the same. I always call a hotel I am considering before booking though to see if they have any unadvertised specials or are willing to match the prices offered online. I called and had the pleasure of speaking with Maureen (I believe she is the hospitality manager) and told her about the reason for our stay. She sounded genuinely excited when she congratulated us on our 5th anniversary. I had some specific requests and questions about the rooms, the hotels location and the amenities and she was able to answer every question I had. I told her I specifically wanted a tub in my room (my wife loves to take a hot bath after a day on her feet) and she recommended two different rooms. One with a queen sized bed and a deep but standard sized tub, the other a King sized suite with a larger room and bigger tub. There was a fairly substantial premium for the king sized suite so I decided on the queen sized room.

Arrival

Three days later, we arrived at the Hotel Rialto, a little after noon. Since we rode in on the bus we were told we could stow our furniture with guest services until check-in was available later in the day. When we entered the lobby we were greeted with a smile and were assisted immediately. After giving the reservation name I was informed that our room was already ready and we could check in immediately if we wished! After a 3 hour ferry ride and a 45 minute bus ride that was a welcome surprise. We asked a few questions about recommendations for local restaurants and the girl at the desk happily obliged by showing marking on a map she gave us some local favorites (we tried several and they were all excellent, I will be reviewing them separately). After that we were handed several items and given directions to our room. As we boarded the elevator I noticed she had handed us our room keys, 4 certificates for a free hot drink and pastry at their cafe, a certificate for a free cheese platter from their onsite Tapas Lounge (wow... that was some good food, see my review) and a small white envelope. I had my wife open the envelope and heard her make one of those, "Oh that's so sweet" gasps. Is was a personalized card wishing us a happy anniversary! What a sweet and thoughtful touch.

Our room

As soon as I opened the door to our room I knew we had been given a complimentary upgrade. The bed was king sized, the bathroom had a separate shower and a corner tub big enough to fit three Canadians or 1-2 Americans. This was the king romance suite Maureen had told me about and she had upgraded us as a courtesy. Ok, they had already totally won our loyalty in the first 15 minutes of our stay.

The room we stayed in was gorgeous. The colors of the carpets and bedding were mostly black and white, with some grey/silver accents. The lighting was perfect with large lamps and sconces hidden in the ceiling which lit the room well but in a way that made the room feel very intimate and private. The furniture was dark, almost black. The TV was mounted above a beautiful dresser that housed a mini fridge concealed behind a door and a mirror faced microwave. The bathroom was almost all white with a few dark woods and modern chrome hardware. Everything was immaculate. No scratches, no stains, perfect. There were several small touches that made the room even better. A ipod dock/ambient noise machine was by the bed (the ambient noises are great for blocking out the small amount of street noise at night), the floors in the bathroom were heated, plush bathrobes were waiting in the armoire and bath salts were sitting waiting to be used by the edge of the tub.

Other notes

Our stay was wonderful. The bed was comfortable, noise levels low, customer service was prompt in responding to our few requests and the on site restaurants were great. The area the hotel is located in is a few blocks north of the waterfront, but no more than a 10 minute walk. We found we were actually closer to many of the best restaurants in town than we would have been staying closer to the harbor. The location is not in a high end part of town, but from the inside of the hotel you would never be able to tell. The only real downside is that there were no views of the city in our room as both the bathroom and bedroom faced the inner courtyard (read, the gravel between the two halves of the building with a couple potted plants). Views are something I typically don't like paying extra for so I did not mind.

Do yourself a favor when you stay here, try the Tapas lounge. You will get a free cheese platter certificate when you check in, but do yourself a favor and order a meal. We shared the duck trio and it was unbelievably delicious.

Well, that was a much longer review than I had intended to write! I hope you found in useful in planning your next stay in Victoria. Don't pass up the Rialto. It is truly the best hotel I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: The romance king is an amazing room for a romantic couple getaway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jephri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We were lucky to get this hotel during a particularly busy weekend in Victoria and were pleasantly surprised. They recently had some renovations done to the rooms and everything looks quite modern. Upon check-in they gave us vouchers for a baked good & coffee in the morning at their cafe (or $3 off a breakfast order with a free beverage) as well as a voucher for a cheese place at Veneto Tapa Lounge. We weren't able to check out the lounge but the breakfasts were good. The hotel itself had a fun vibe and there were a mix of people staying there, and the staff were quite friendly and helpful. It's located near Chinatown in a slightly quieter area but you're only a couple of blocks from the harbour, shopping, etc. They do have parking for $15 in a gated lot nearby but it is limited and if the hotel is full like this weekend you might not get a spot (like us) but there was street parking nearby (90 minutes limit) and a parkade (both free after 6 and on Sundays). We were able to get parking on our second day when someone checked out as were moving our car in the morning but it is a bit of an annoyance. The only other negatives were noted by my husband: really low water pressure, and pillows too fluffy. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkt75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

We read the reviews of Hotel Rialto and wanted to stay there. It's exactly the type of hotel that we love. The Rialto is a renovated older hotel with striking architectural features. It's in a "revived" neighborhood and the hotel has contributed to that revival. The staff was welcoming. We received a complimentary cheese plate and dined at Veneto, the hotel's spectacular restaurant. The hotel also offers a high quality continental breakfast. It was such a pleasure to stay in a hotel that had been lovingly renovated. We'll choose the Rialto when we return to Victoria.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,057 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,737 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 49 in Victoria
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Property: Hotel Rialto
Address: 653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rialto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming heritage building located right downtown Victoria. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Minutes walk from Inner Harbour, Market Square and right beside China Town. Rooms are quaint and nicely appointed with flat screen TVs with movie system, in-room fridge, microwave and I-home alarm clocks. On the main level is Cafe Veneto serving all day breakfast and fast fresh lunch. Veneto Tapa Lounge is also on the main level of the hotel which is a stylish urban "restro-lounge" serving delectable small plates and a wine and cocktail menu that is among the finest in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing