We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, Amazing Value”
Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rialto
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Olympia, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great hotel, Amazing Value”
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Think nice hotel in Europe. Rooms are totally updated with chic amenities, yet it retains the character of a small continental hotel. You will find the staff very helpful, and it has one of the better restaurants in Victoria. A few blocks from Inner Harbor, but close enough for easy access to attractions at the Harbor. Across the street from the Victoria Playhouse for live theater. A secure parking lot is provided at $15/day if you brought your auto.
My not be the best choice if you like to stay in one room with small children.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor, well above the street noise. We are retired, but seasoned travelers, and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herstelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    992
    410
    68
    17
    7
See reviews for
259
773
89
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Great value. Clean room with a comfortable bed. Super friendly and helpful staff. I liked this hotel a lot.- Should have stayed here for my prvious trips. The parking was a little inconvenient but I will come back here for the next time.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

My wife and I selected this hotel for 3 nights of accommodation during our visit to Vancouver Island in June 2011. Located near to the port area and having been recently refurbished it was a pleasant and friendly experience. The front office team quickly got to know the guests and were ever willing to provide tips, answer queries and generally take the initiative to make the stay as comfortable as possible. Design and decor in the room was very high quality and we liked the fact that the windows could be opened for the local breezes

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Practical52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

I stayed 2 nights here in a Queen room. The rooms have clearly been updated in the past year or two but unfortunately aren't holding up well: the drywall wasn't done well and is beginning to peel off, especially in the bathrooms, which have inadequate ventilation.

The bed was quite comfortable. There's a big fridge for you to keep food in. The room was actually pretty quiet, though no one was staying in the room next to us. Housekeeping went in there a couple of times (maybe it was a closet?) and jangled around a bunch of glasses, which was REALLY noisy but only lasted a few seconds. So not the end of the world.

The layout of the building is pretty strange, in that there are open "courtyard" spaces (but just with ventilation) to, as far as I can tell, provide more rooms with natural light than just the ones on the outside of the building. It's nice to get some light, but many rooms seem to have views of other room's windows.

The rooms are pretty small, but the bathrooms are HUGE. Totally weird. Also, our bathroom had some weird crocodile skin-patterned linoleum tile. Newer shower and fittings, which was nice, and big mirrors around, but again, no ventilation which just leads to the paint and things deterioring very quickly. There's a big old portable air conditioning unit which turns off and on constantly and which the hotel has posted photocopies of the instructions which tell you not to use one particular setting for some reason. Ooookay.

I think the price here is reasonable, so it's not like you're getting luxury or anything. and the room is pretty small, but that should just force you to get out and enjoy the city, which is what you're here for, right? The lobby is very posh, covered in marble and very elegant. So it's a bit of a let-down to get to your room.

Well, I booked our room using a "romance package" Groupon, which included a $50 credit to the Veneto tapa lounge, free parking, a bottle of wine, and a cheese plate. The cheese plate was outstanding, we didn't use the free parking, and Veneto loung was amazing. But the room really didn't scream out "romance" to me. If you're just there normally, though, then it's in a good location, close to lots of things to do, and the front desk staff is supremely friendly and helpful. They were definitely working hard!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefohnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed only one night, and the accommodation was suitably adequate (clean and having a room at the back of the building was nice and peaceful). The check staff were friendly enough. The downstairs breakfast room has been very nicely renovated. It's a minor niggle, but the carpets let the decor down. Do feel that it is slightly over priced, although the location is very convenient.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Worldwideguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Our first night we stayed in a deluxe double queen room on the fourth floor. It was not what we expected from the pictures on the website. The room had old carpet, the room had a funny smell, and the bathroom was extremely small, with the tiniest shower (it was original from before the hotel's 2009 renovations), with a few minor cosmetic upgrades. We decided to upgrade to the superior double queen room for our last two nights and it was well worth it. These rooms on the first floor have been completely renovated and are what you see on the website.

The first night our cable was not working and a call to the front desk brought someone up immediately to fix it. Frances, at the front desk, was very pleasant and helpful throughout our stay.

Their website does not mention parking, but it is not included in the nightly rate. We chose to pay $15 per day (per 24 hour period) and park in the hotel parking lot, which was an above ground parking lot about 1.5 blocks from the hotel. There are other parking options through the City of Victoria, but this was the most convenient.

We were given coupons at check in for the coffee shop and tapas lounge in the hotel lobby. The chai tea lattes were absolutely amazing and we had one every morning of our stay. We also enjoyed our supper in the tapas lounge. It was interesting food, was moderately priced and the service was good.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiammo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Only spent one night and found the room a little old and worn, but adequate and great value for a good location. The lobby is fully renovated and modern, but the rest of the hotel is pretty old. It was clean, so if you're not looking for luxury, it will do. Bathroom was particularly spartan (I'm slim and I found the shower stall very small).

Had a few drinks at bar/restaurant downstairs. Very cool looking. Friendly bar staff. Sat next to a fellow hotel guest who said she was staying on the 2nd floor and decided to come down to bar since she could hear all the music in her room anyways. Last call was at midnight (boo! Victoria!)

The location is close to wharfs and other tourist attractions. Lots of restaurants and clubs nearby, so there are lots of younger folks walking around, but if you're from any large city in North America, you'd laugh if this is considered to be a "seedy" part of town.

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor room for quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyMcKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,058 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,738 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 49 in Victoria
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Property: Hotel Rialto
Address: 653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rialto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming heritage building located right downtown Victoria. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Minutes walk from Inner Harbour, Market Square and right beside China Town. Rooms are quaint and nicely appointed with flat screen TVs with movie system, in-room fridge, microwave and I-home alarm clocks. On the main level is Cafe Veneto serving all day breakfast and fast fresh lunch. Veneto Tapa Lounge is also on the main level of the hotel which is a stylish urban "restro-lounge" serving delectable small plates and a wine and cocktail menu that is among the finest in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing