We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn
Nearby Hotels
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites(Victoria)
$235
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$281
$264
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Rialto(Victoria)
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$211
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$394
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Embassy Inn(Victoria)(Great Value!)
$195
$183
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abigail's Hotel(Victoria)
$265
$217
Abigail's Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$404
Delta Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$260
$245
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (422)
Filter reviews
422 results
Traveler rating
353
53
4
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
353
53
4
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeacon hill parkcook street villagesomerset roomjuan de fuca straiteach morningwonderful hoststhird floorbreakfast was deliciousdallas roadfresh fruitdirectly across the streetview of the waterminute walkwe loved our stayspent two nightsperfect locationbutchart gardens
Filter
Updating list...
369 - 374 of 422 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2009

We have stayed at many B&B's. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. When we needed a recommendation for a restaurant or an excursion for the day on a whim, we were never disappointed. The breakfasts were fabulous and the view exceptional. All of the rooms are clean and have been totally updated and redone except one (ours). There are no TV's in the rooms, so if you're not into nightlife or reading, bring a portable DVD player for movies. The neighborhood is charming. A quiet, relaxing place to stay within a beautiful city.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank twoontheroadagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

We stayed here on the recommendation of a friend and were quite pleased with the experience. Above all, I think we will remember the amazing breakfasts -- excellent food, great conversation, clear views. Dave, our host, was friendly and low-key, and quite helpful.

This is a very old building, but solid. I chose our room because of the restored wooden floors (there's still modern wall-to-wall carpeting in some rooms) and seemingly accurate period rugs, and it was a fine choice. I'm impressed at the signs of rigorous, ongoing maintenance and restoration. The grounds (small) are lovely.

We're walkers, so the location near footpaths, Beacon Hill park and Cook Street neighborhood businesses (pub, coffeehouses, pizza, pharmacy, grocery and more) suited us well. It was a nice way to discover some of the more intimate sides of Victoria.

(A couple of nitpicks: The coffee was average and ran dry quickly, and there needs to be some added attention to grout mold in the tub/shower. Not earth-shattering stuff, but details are important.)

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Discovertude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageBB, owner at Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2009

This guest has recognized some of our best features so we are most appreciative of the acknowledgement given for some of the best reasons to experience a stay with us. The solid, heritage building has character and a strong presence that set us apart from standard accommodations. Our location across from the ocean and beaches, with easy, interesting walks and the Cook Street Village nearby is such a bonus for our guests who are still able to walk to the downtown shops and attractions within twenty minutes.

Our breakfasts and our coffee are usually very well received. With close to 15 years experience operating bed and breakfasts, we have refined what we do to a very high standard. We use locally Dark French locally roasted coffee that we grind fresh each morning. The specific blend and flavour of coffee is very much a personalized taste, but we do find the quality is mostly recognized as superior by our guests. It is not often that we run out of coffee at breakfast, but there are times when we over or under estimate the number of coffee drinkers. If we see that the coffee is running out, we make another batch to make sure everyone gets a chance to enjoy.

As the guest commented, we are still involved in a rigorous program of on-going maintenance and restoration, and we are specifically targeting bathrooms now after concentrating on restoring floors, replacing carpets, upgrading beds and furniture and painting both inside and outside. Three bathrooms have been completely redone so far. Some tiling in a couple of the other bathrooms needs to be regrouted, and that is planned once the busy summer season ends. The grout is stained but there is no mould growth at all. Yes, details are very important to us as well – just as listening to our guests is important.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We stayed two nights while exploring Victoria. Breakfast is served at 8:30 each morning, and it was a good to start an activity-filled day with a good breakfast. We appreciated the residential surroundings, the view of the water and the park, and Dave's expert advice about local attractions. The atmosphere is quiet, friendly, and dignified.Except for the free wifi, you could imagine yourself here in an earlier era.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank ImpulsiveTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

Dashwood Manor is a great place to stay in Victoria. The location is superb. It's not a far walk from the downtown, yet it's tucked away in a beautiful quiet neighborhood. The beach is right across the street, very convenient for a long walk in the morning or even late at night. Rooms are spacious and clean and the dining room with a view of the ocean is hard to beat. Overall, my husband and I had a great experience! Highly recommend for travellers who want a peaceful getaway!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatiaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2009

When we unexpectedly needed to add one extra night in Victoria, we called Dashwood Manor, not really knowing what to expect. Dave said, "I have a room with an ocean view available" and that was all I needed to hear. The room,the view and the B & B, lived up to and exceeded our expectations of what a B and B experience should be.!

Dashwood Manor offers old-fashioned luxury with modern conveniences. The rooms are spacious and attractively decorated. It is clear that Dave and Sharon are dedicated to providing the ultimate vacation experience.

From our balcony view to the spacious airy dining room with floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the ocean, from the comfortable bedrooms to the delicious and satisfying breakfast, Dashwood Manor is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nk2008060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews