We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #5 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming getaway!”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Amazing location in that you can park your car and walk everywhere. There is an extensive ocean front pathway system that you can walk for hours. Very close to downtown as well. The room was very clean and well appointed. The bed and linens were fantastic. The ambiance of the suite was Classic Victorian. The breakfast was delightful too. The hosts are charming and their enthusiasm for Victoria is contagious! We have returned several times and look forward to our next booking.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    52
    4
    8
    4
See reviews for
45
293
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

What we like:
The big room on the 3rd floor called Camelot.
The comfy bed and pillows.
The view facing the ocean and walking trail -- great for people and dog watching while having a cuppa.
Free parking.
Yummy breakfast.
Last but not least, the wonderful, friendly and accommodating hosts.

What we don't like:
Not being able to stay for more than 2 nights because we had to go back to work!

We would love to come back here.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2014

The location is lovely, overlooking the sea and right next to Beacon Hill Park. We had a lovely room with a sea view. The owners were very friendly and the service was great. The breakfast was exceptional.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and wish we could have stayed longer. Old Victorian charm that is clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated. On top of it all we also had a magnificent view from our room. The breakfast was delicious and exceptionally well presented. The owners are incredible hosts and go the extra mile to ensure everything is perfect. I guarantee that you will not regret making a booking at the Dashwood.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldjourneygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Dashwood Manor is just lovely. You're right along the waterfront, the view alone would make staying here worthwhile. Beautiful sunsets over the Olympics. But then there's the breakfasts, which are beautiful and delicious. And try the bacon. Really. On top of that, the breakfast room has giant windows allowing you to watch the gazillions of dogs being walked in the park across the street, and to do some recreational staring at the mountains and water while you sip your tea. The rooms are gorgeous, much of the original detail is still intact, with coffered ceilings, stained glass and rich wood floors. And to top it off, your have such charming hosts. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lookingforlunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just stayed here for our anniversary and were beyond impressed with the entire experience. The room was comfortable, perfectly clean and absolutely beautiful! The owners were warm, friendly and welcoming, and went the extra mile to make sure our experience was perfect. You couldn't ask for a better location and view! I would highly recommend this spot to anyone looking for the best Victoria has to offer.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dragonfly11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Clean, Victorian charm, exceptional hosts, wonderful breakfast, own fireplace, beautiful stained glass and breathtaking views. On corner of Cook and Dallas, a bit busy during day but quiet at night. Free parking too. I think this is a great place to find a bit of romance and still easy access to central Victoria and Beacon Hill park. The majestic Pacific Ocean is across the road with vistas of the San Juan Islands and the Olympic Peninsulla.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,031 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,027 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 1 Cook St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1912 heritage Inn offering bed and breakfast with fabulous ocean views from all guest rooms. Located beside historic Beacon Hill Park in walking distance to downtown Victoria and across the street from the beach. Eleven spacious guest rooms. Romantic getaway featuring jacuzzis, fireplaces, stained glass, antiques. Private bathrooms. Attentive, knowledgeable innkeepers with an easy-going, friendly manner. Inspected and approved by six organizations including Victoria's Historic Inns, BC Innkeepers Guild, Tourism Victoria, Victoria's Finest B&Bs and Tourism BC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing