We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #6 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Our first time BnB-ing and what an experience it was! Dashwood offers a stunning manor with warm inviting rooms. Perfect location close enough to down town to walk but far enough away to be peaceful with great views of the ocean right across the road. Great hosts that know the area and know how to make you feel at home. We will definitely be back :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VShannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 418 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights. David welcomed us the first day when we checked in and was very helpful throughout our stay. We were on the third floor in the Somerset room. Our room was clean and quiet. We were surprised that we didn't hear any noise in the hall or any rooms. There was a balcony from our room with a view to the harbor. Breakfast is served every morning in the dining room and was very good, unfortunately we were not able to enjoy breakfast the last morning due to an early morning ferry.

We walked to downtown (15-20 minute walk) a couple of times each day and the park is directly across the street. We enjoyed the location and preferred to not be right downtown. There are also restaurants on Cook St just down the street, we stopped at the market to get some fruit.

Across the street next to the harbor is a path and steps to walk to the water which we did one day. It was a nice, relaxing stay for us and we found everything to be amazing!

It was also our anniversary during our vacation and David left us a small bottle of champagne and glasses to celebrate, which we thought was thoughtful.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank DavidandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We found Dashwood Manor to be a wonderful place to stay while exploring Victoria. It exceeded our expectations with a luxurious bed and clean, well appointed room. In the room's two vintage chairs, we had a view of the water and also a cozy spot to witness an amazing lightning storm. Orcas even made an appearance just offshore one afternoon! Our hosts, Michael and David were congenial and have the gift of creating a warm and welcoming environment. The breakfast room is fresh and bright with windows which look out over the gardens. This historical home is located across the street from a nice, paved walking path and is conveniently located near some terrific eateries. The only negative thing we noticed was that when water was being used in other rooms, it could clearly be heard, but it was not bothersome. We look forward to going back again!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne-and-JimH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Owner at Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review.
We are currently looking into a possible solution to quiet the flow of water from the bathroom in question. We should have this rectified once the bathroom renovation is complete.

We look forward to your next visit to Dashwood.
Sincerely,
Michael & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I have been to Victoria many times and stayed in various hotels but I can honestly say that this was the best for me. While there is no pool or spa or other ammenities, they do not matter. The room was huge and inviting. I stayed in the Dorset Room which had a kitchenette available as well as a balcony which was fantastic to use during the day when I just wanted to sit and read and write. Breakfast was out of this world and was included in the stay. You had a choice from 4 items and I tried them all during my visit. I would recommend them all. Location was fantastic as well as I didn't want to drive anywhere. The Manor is across the street from the seawall and is on the corner of Dallas Rd and Cook Street. The Cook Street Village is within walking distance and I even walked to downtown Victoria. About 15 minutes. But the best part of Dashwood Manor are the hosts. They make you feel as if this is your own home. You can come and go as you would like and are not restricted with any hour. Even though the name says it is a Bed and Breakfast, I would call this more like a boutique hotel. It was an absolutely amazing stay and I would come back over and over again.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so if that is a problem, I would stay on a lower floor. There are three levels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Owner at Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Thank you for your Fantastic review!
We both really love what we do & it was a delight to have you as our guest.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Michael & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Wonderful stay at the Dashwood manor! Fantastic breakfasts and attention to detail. A few steps from the ocean and Beacon Hill parc. Beautiful and comfortable rooms with breathtaking view. It takes approx 20min walk to get to Victoria centre.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sirrah44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Owner at Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Thank you for reviewing Dashwood Manor & for sharing your pictures.

We look forward to your next visit.

Michael & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This large house is in a great location very close to the beach/ coast with great views across the sea to the mountains beyond and just 6 minutes taxi ride from down town. The rooms are large and the beds very comfortable. It is under new ownership, in the last 5 months, and the owners are delightful and work hard to please in any way they can.

Breakfast was cooked individually and was delicious.

They also have plans to make a number of improvements once they get into a quieter period and I am sure this will be done carefully and tastefully.

Our bathroom was small and in need of some renovation and we have marked the place down for this reason.

We and our friends stayed 2 nights and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Kensington has great views and Park Lane was large with side views out to sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonNick55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Owner at Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Thank you very much for your review.
The updates & renovations are now well underway. :)

We look forward to seeing you again.
All the best!

Michael & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This property is under new ownership as of April,2013.
The two owners, Michael and David, are outstanding hosts. Check in was very quick and David helped us with our luggage.
We stayed in the Dorset room. The room was spotless, the bed comfortable and the accommodation was very spacious. We were visiting with another couple who stayed in the Somerset room. They were also very pleased.
Breakfast is ordered from a menu and our breakfasts were exceptional.
Each platter of food was a work of art and the flavours were wonderful.
The location couldn't be better.
The next time we're in Victoria we wouldn't even consider staying any where else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lv2trvl1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Owner at Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us.
It was a pleasure having you as our guests.

We hope to see you on your next visit to Victoria.
Michael & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 47 in Victoria
1,082 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 47 in Victoria
1,337 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 47 in Victoria
2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 47 in Victoria
2,835 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 47 in Victoria
3,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 1 Cook St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3W6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range: $132 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1912 heritage Inn offering bed and breakfast with fabulous ocean views from all guest rooms. Located beside historic Beacon Hill Park in walking distance to downtown Victoria and across the street from the beach. Eleven spacious guest rooms. Romantic getaway featuring jacuzzis, fireplaces, stained glass, antiques. Private bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing