We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #6 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This property is under new ownership as of April,2013.
The two owners, Michael and David, are outstanding hosts. Check in was very quick and David helped us with our luggage.
We stayed in the Dorset room. The room was spotless, the bed comfortable and the accommodation was very spacious. We were visiting with another couple who stayed in the Somerset room. They were also very pleased.
Breakfast is ordered from a menu and our breakfasts were exceptional.
Each platter of food was a work of art and the flavours were wonderful.
The location couldn't be better.
The next time we're in Victoria we wouldn't even consider staying any where else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lv2trvl1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Owner at Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us.
It was a pleasure having you as our guests.

We hope to see you on your next visit to Victoria.
Michael & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 418 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

I planned my friends' wedding in Victoria and finding the right place for them to stay on their wedding night was very important. We certainly made the right choice in the Dashwood Manor!

The owners went out of their way to accommodate us and make everything just right. There were flowers and a card in the room upon our arrival and Champaign and glasses with strawberries in the fridge.

The Manor is beautiful and the scenery unbeatable as the room overlooked the ocean and Clover Point. I understand the breakfast was outstanding.

Thank you for making the day special! I highly recommend the Dashwood Manor!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Dashwood.
It was our pleasure to make your friend's wedding day special.

We enjoyed having you here.
Sincerely,
Michael & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Background: I am a frequent traveler (3-4 week long trips per year). I also frequent B&B's. This visit was with my mother.

Arrival: We arrived mid-afternoon and were greeted by David. Check-in was quick and he helped to carry my mother's suitcase up to the third floor. My suitcase was lost somewhere in San Francisco and wouldn't arrive until the next day. We stayed in the Dorset room. We originally reserved the Tudor room, but the owners are re-doing the rooms and asked if we would like to switch to the Tudor room and have two twins beds. The addition of the balcony and views sold me, so we made the switch. This was changes prior to our arrival. :)

Room: The room was comfortable. The views were splendid and the cool breezes were lovely. I believe some of the other rooms in the house are better updated and I would recommend those. I know the owners have plans to re-do the Dorset bathroom in the Fall, so look forward to that! The bathroom wasn't horrible. It was very clean, just awkward. The vanity and mirror are very low. You have to basically sit in the chair (provided) to see in the mirror. The bathroom was quite large, so I think David and Michael will come up with a much better layout.

Breakfast: Fantastic!! These gentleman know how to start the day of right. A plate of goodies is provided to start along with coffee/juice/tea. Everything is constantly refilled, which is lovely. You can also order an omelet, french toast, eggs/bacon, yogurt with fresh fruit with different sides. My mother enjoyed two omelets and then eggs/bacon. I enjoyed two days with yogurt/fresh fruit and then french toast. All of the food was delicious! I have stayed in B&B's across the globe, so that is saying quite a lot!

Also, breakfast is served between 8-10am. It was a full house when we arrived, so we needed to pick a breakfast time on the first two days. We weren't thinking how early we would be up the first day (switching from east coast time), so we asked to be accommodated early on the first day and David jumped in to help the kitchen staff stay on track. Sorry David! We did appreciate it!

Staff: We mostly spoke with David. He was very friendly, easy to carry a conversation with and was ready to lend a helping hand. We enjoyed our conversations about David and Michael's past adventures and their future endeavors. Being in hospitality is a tough business, but both David and Michael make it look easy.

Location: I chose to stay here because I had a car for sightseeing and I like being able to wake up to a wonderful freshly prepared breakfast. I also like talking with the owners and getting to know the area. Without a vehicle, this location isn't really close enough to downtown or major bus pick-up/drop offs. The views of the beach are lovely. We checked out the path and loved seeing all the dogs enjoying themselves off leash.

Enjoy your visit and tell David hello!

Room Tip: Wait for the Dorset bathroom to be updated. Fall/Winter 2013.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cvkevents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. The Dorset Room bathroom will be our next big renovation & we are looking forward to it's completion. We will have new pictures on our website as soon as it's finished.

We really enjoyed sharing our past stories with you & now have many new ones to share on your return visit.

All the best!
Michael & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We loved the charm of the old time & cocooning of the Cambridge Room. The wonderful view on the ocean was appreciate as well as their perfect breakfast. Victoria's downtown is at 5 minutes for everything or walk to the nice small restaurants on Cook street.
Cross the street and take a long walk on the beach or jog along the ocean for many miles.
Best choice for me in Victoria.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Normand V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Thank you for your review.
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at Dashwood & visit to Victoria.

Sincerely,
Michael & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We only stayed here one night but it was a fantastic stay. Normally I don't like bed and breakfast places due to the style that many of them utilize; but the Dashwood's new management is trying for a simple and modern look and it really impressed! In addition, the breakfast is very good and the view of the beach can't be beat. We were able to see something like kite-gliders that were caught in a wind pattern that allowed them to stay relatively stable in the sky- amazing. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerrzbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review & for sharing the pictures of your visit.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Michael & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This B&B has it all--fantastic service, beautiful, comfortable, and very clean room, and awesome location (it's really right across the road from the beach). I had one of the smaller rooms--the Fairfield--but it was still quite big and I had an excellent water view. (In real life it's even better than the pics). I walked both to the restaurants just up the street in Cook Street Village and to downtown each day through Beacon Hill Park. The breakfasts are delicious and you get to pick from quite a few choices. I had something different each of the three mornings I was there and everything was really good. I would recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLB098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Thank you very much for your review & suggestion about the on-line pictures of the Fairfield Room. We will take some new pictures. :)

We look forward to your next visit.

Michael & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

If you want to be away from the hub-bub of the Inner Harbour hotels yet close enough to be able to walk to the inner harbour comfortably, then this B&B is perfect!! Hosts David and Michael welcomed us and provided us with a wonderful 4 day stay- tasty made to order full breakfasts was a great start to our days, walking paths along the beach and Beacon Hill Park right across the street plus an easy walk to Cook Village restaraunts and coffee shops was a treat. The inn is clean,quiet and linens were top notch! We will be back and highly recommend this beautiful inn if you appreciate the finer things in life!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rnangel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review! We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Michael & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 46 in Victoria
1,094 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 46 in Victoria
2,866 reviews
Rockland
Abbeymoore Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rockland
The Craigmyle
The Craigmyle
#3 of 92 in Victoria
559 reviews
Villa Marco Polo Inn
#4 of 92 in Victoria
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 1 Cook St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3W6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range: $132 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1912 heritage Inn offering bed and breakfast with fabulous ocean views from all guest rooms. Located beside historic Beacon Hill Park in walking distance to downtown Victoria and across the street from the beach. Eleven spacious guest rooms. Romantic getaway featuring jacuzzis, fireplaces, stained glass, antiques. Private bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing