We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn
Nearby Hotels
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites(Victoria)
$235
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$281
$264
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Rialto(Victoria)
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$211
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$394
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Embassy Inn(Victoria)(Great Value!)
$195
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abigail's Hotel(Victoria)
$265
$217
Abigail's Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$404
Delta Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$260
$245
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (422)
Filter reviews
422 results
Traveler rating
353
53
4
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
353
53
4
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeacon hill parkcook street villagesomerset roomjuan de fuca straiteach morningwonderful hoststhird floorbreakfast was deliciousdallas roadfresh fruitdirectly across the streetview of the waterminute walkwe loved our stayspent two nightsperfect locationbutchart gardens
Filter
Updating list...
202 - 207 of 422 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed here with my hubby for a couple of nights this summer after a recommendation from someone who lived in Victoria. We weren't disappointed! The best thing about it is the location - on one side of the street is the beach where you can walk in either direction for miles and miles and on the other side is a Beacon Hill park. Not far from downtown, about a 5 min drive. You can probably walk to downtown in 15-20 min. The owners who recently acquired the place, David and Michael, are super nice and friendly. The breakfast was delicious, especially the bacon (and I usually skip on the bacon, but this was too yummy too pass)! The room was spacious and clean and even had a refrigerator, which we liked. The only quirk we had was the shower in our particular room - the water would go from really hot to really cold out of the blue, but I have informed the hosts of this problem and they said it should be fixed soon. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alma074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Thank you for your review & bringing to our attention the water issue. We have installed a temperature regulator in the shower in your room.

We're happy you enjoyed our tasty bacon. :)

All the best!

Michael & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We spent four nights in July at Dashwood Manor, in the Cambridge room. The location could not be better - waterfront view, and right next to Beacon Hill Park, a great place to relax. There are restaurants and shopping within walking distance, and we walked to rent a car our second day. The hospitality of the hosts was exemplary - helpful, friendly, great attitude, good advice. Breakfasts were super - always a selection, and the dining room layout facilitated both sharing and privacy. The room was well furnished and clean, with very comfortable bedding. We've stayed in many B&B's,and not one was better than Dashwood Manor.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MyraNBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Thank you for your excellent review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay & visit to Victoria.

We hope to see you on your next trip.
All the best!
Michael & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Spent two nights at the Dashwood and give it very high marks. It's under new ownership -- less than three months, but clearly not much has changed, which is a good thing. The building itself is a beauty, built as I recall in 1912, and the location next to Beacon Hill Park is superb.

I suppose being out of the downtown tourist area is not for everyone; it's about a twenty minute walk through one of the most beautiful parks in N. America to downtown; or you could just walk across the street be on the Strait of San Juan de Fuca with miles of walking/ running paths to stride along. For us the park alone made our stay in Victoria a delight.

My chief complaint? Those little half and half containers for coffee instead of real milk. But, hey the owners are still working the kinks out.

We stayed on the third floor; had a balcony with two chairs that looked out onto the Strait. The bathroom was a converted attic - it was a little odd, but spacious. In general, if you like B and B's then this place is a winner.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeniorishTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property & your suggestion about the milk & cream containers. As per your suggestion, you'll be pleased to know we no longer use the little plastic containers. We now offer 2% milk, half & half cream, & almond milk. :)

We look forward to your next visit.

Michael & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at Dashwood for 4 days and 3 nights. It was wonderful! Our room - the Chelsea Room - was beautiful. The views from this corner room are truely amazing.

Our hosts were so gracious and the food - well, the food was great! Don't pass on the bacon or you'll regret it.

I am not sure if you'll get back this way or not, but if we do, there is no doubt that we'll stay here again.

Room Tip: Grab the Chelsea Room!!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TSJ960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Thank you very much for your review.
We hope you will come see us again.

Sincerely,

Michael & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Arriving at Dashwood Manor was like coming home. We stayed in the Chelsea Room on the second floor. This newly renovated bedroom and bathroom are slightly larger than the other rooms because it was the original master suite. Very clean and comfortable.There are several choices for breakfast and all are delicious and come with an ocean and mountain view. Michael and David are wonderful hosts. Dashwood is in the perfect location with access to the ocean beach and Beacon Hill Park, both, being just across the street. About 4-5 blocks north, you will find the Cook Street Village (neighborhood market, pharmacy, and many good places to eat.). Walk 3 blocks north on Cook to May Street and you can catch the bus. For $2.50 per day/per person, you can navigate through the city or to Swartz Bay. We highly recommend Dashwood Manor. You will want to read about its rich history and how Arthur and Eleanor Lineham came to settle at 1 Cook Street in 1912.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irvin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience.
We are very grateful for your detailed review.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Michael & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews