We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Rialto(Victoria)
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$248
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites(Victoria)
$204
$198
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$387
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$524
$391
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$279
$263
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$244
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$235
$214
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Embassy Inn(Victoria)(Great Value!)
$193
$187
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abigail's Hotel(Victoria)
$263
$186
Abigail's Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (422)
Filter reviews
422 results
Traveler rating
353
53
4
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
353
53
4
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeacon hill parkcook street villagesomerset roomjuan de fuca straiteach morningwonderful hoststhird floorbreakfast was deliciousdallas roadfresh fruitdirectly across the streetview of the waterminute walkwe loved our stayspent two nightsperfect locationbutchart gardens
Filter
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 422 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Spent two nights at the Dashwood and give it very high marks. It's under new ownership -- less than three months, but clearly not much has changed, which is a good thing. The building itself is a beauty, built as I recall in 1912, and the location next to Beacon Hill Park is superb.

I suppose being out of the downtown tourist area is not for everyone; it's about a twenty minute walk through one of the most beautiful parks in N. America to downtown; or you could just walk across the street be on the Strait of San Juan de Fuca with miles of walking/ running paths to stride along. For us the park alone made our stay in Victoria a delight.

My chief complaint? Those little half and half containers for coffee instead of real milk. But, hey the owners are still working the kinks out.

We stayed on the third floor; had a balcony with two chairs that looked out onto the Strait. The bathroom was a converted attic - it was a little odd, but spacious. In general, if you like B and B's then this place is a winner.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeniorishTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property & your suggestion about the milk & cream containers. As per your suggestion, you'll be pleased to know we no longer use the little plastic containers. We now offer 2% milk, half & half cream, & almond milk. :)

We look forward to your next visit.

Michael & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at Dashwood for 4 days and 3 nights. It was wonderful! Our room - the Chelsea Room - was beautiful. The views from this corner room are truely amazing.

Our hosts were so gracious and the food - well, the food was great! Don't pass on the bacon or you'll regret it.

I am not sure if you'll get back this way or not, but if we do, there is no doubt that we'll stay here again.

Room Tip: Grab the Chelsea Room!!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TSJ960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Thank you very much for your review.
We hope you will come see us again.

Sincerely,

Michael & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Arriving at Dashwood Manor was like coming home. We stayed in the Chelsea Room on the second floor. This newly renovated bedroom and bathroom are slightly larger than the other rooms because it was the original master suite. Very clean and comfortable.There are several choices for breakfast and all are delicious and come with an ocean and mountain view. Michael and David are wonderful hosts. Dashwood is in the perfect location with access to the ocean beach and Beacon Hill Park, both, being just across the street. About 4-5 blocks north, you will find the Cook Street Village (neighborhood market, pharmacy, and many good places to eat.). Walk 3 blocks north on Cook to May Street and you can catch the bus. For $2.50 per day/per person, you can navigate through the city or to Swartz Bay. We highly recommend Dashwood Manor. You will want to read about its rich history and how Arthur and Eleanor Lineham came to settle at 1 Cook Street in 1912.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irvin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience.
We are very grateful for your detailed review.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Michael & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Lovely B&B right by the shore and Beacon Hill Park. The new owners are determined to make this already outstanding B&B even better. They are wonderful hosts, helpful with information and the breakfast is delicious. The place to stay in Victoria

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank UriDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Owner at Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Michael & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My brother and his wife were celebrating their anniversary on the west coast of Canada. My wife and I caught a float plane from Seattle to meet them for the weekend. The Dashwood is a seven dollar cab ride from the city central. It is across the street from the water and Beacon Hill Park. The BnB is a beautiful old home, and the owners, David and Michael, were the best. We took the cheapest room in the place and it was absolutely comfortable. Being a century old home, the room was not 5 star hotel quality, but it was exactly what we expected. Breakfast is served every morning in a water view dining room with 1920s and 30s music softly playing in the background. We would sit for a few hours and enjoy the food, view, hospitality and ambiance. We wanted to play cards one night after a day of exploring and drinking. David and Michael brought a table and four chairs to my brothers much larger (more expensive) water view room. We will never stay anywhere else in Victoria.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruinscotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Owner at Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.
We look forward to your next visit.

Michael & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews