We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Helm's Inn(Victoria)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Abigail's Hotel(Victoria)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites(Victoria)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Embassy Inn(Victoria)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Fairmont Empress(Victoria)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (421)
Filter reviews
421 results
Traveler rating
352
53
4
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
352
53
4
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeacon hill parkcook street villageb bsomerset roomjuan de fuca straiteach morningwonderful hoststhird floorbreakfast was deliciousdallas roadfresh fruitdirectly across the streetview of the waterminute walkwe loved our stayspent two nightsperfect location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
234 - 239 of 421 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Well, spending an awful lot of money to stay at a B&B would be worth it if the experience was great. The room was crampt and poorly lit and the water coming out of the bathtub was brown. When I enquired about this, I was told that the city must be flushing the lines...with a bit of a tough luck sort of tone. I am generally a pretty accomodating person but I felt that this experience was overpriced and expected some sort of refund and I wrote a letter of complaint about it. I had a "sorry you feel that way" sort of response. The one thing, I must say, was outstanding was the breakfast - it was superb.

Room Tip: Old houses may seem romantic but are often unpleasant.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterdavidson1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave L, Owner at Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

I believe this guest stayed one night only in Tudor, our least expensive room. Our ten rooms range from standard for those wanting an economical stay to luxurious and very spacious by any standard. The rooms range in size from 400 square feet to over 700 square feet. I do not feel it is warranted to call Tudor cramped, nor expensive at less than $200 for an ocean view room with a full breakfast included in the rate. This house is over 10 000 square feet so all spaces are built on a grand scale. This room is quite well lit with three overhead lights and a tri-light floor lamp. Our photos and description of the room are clear and accurate. If the guest was looking for a more luxurious or spacious room, he must be prepared to pay for it. And, yes, our rates are fair and competitive within our industry.

I am sorry if the guest did not feel my response to his email was quite enough. I am not sure what I could have done to ameliorate the situation in a way that would have been fair since there was no reason to refund him for a few minutes of discoloured water. The only complaint I can see in this review is the water quality for a brief time on the day of his stay. He even compliments us on our ‘outstanding’ breakfast! The discoloured water was a frustrating situation for us, and we acted immediately when we noticed it. Calls to the City of Victoria Works Department resulted in prompt action by their crew to investigate and to set up a process to prevent this from happening again. As we said to our guests and to the city staff, we had never had such discolouration in the past eight years so we knew that it would have to have been caused by something unusual. In the investigation done by the work department, it was found that the fire department had used a nearby hydrant to run an impromptu fire practice, not realizing that they were drawing water from a 12 inch line that gave such force that it disturbed the regional water line along our street. Since then, the fire department has been notified that this particular area should not be used again for practices. Within a short time, we opened up all the lines in the house to flush out any remaining discoloured water. As you can imagine, this was a frustrating and annoying situation that was beyond our control but was corrected very quickly.

It is disturbing when a guest feels it necessary to review us so negatively, especially when we cannot see how this accurately reflects the kind of accommodation or experience we offer. We work very hard at making guests feel welcome and comfortable as they enjoy the experience of living the moment in a grand 100 year old home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This was our first experience with a bed & breakfast facility and we were very pleased. The location was on Puget Sound and our room had a great view of the Sound and the Olympic Mts beyond the Sound. Breakfasts were very good with each breakfast completely different from the others making for a great variety.
The room was very nice but the bathroom was very small with little storage space for shaving gear, etc. The other drawback was that the bed had a thick mattress and box spring making it difficult for my wife to get in and out of bed. A step stool might have helped.
Overall - a great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ram1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My mother and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Dashwood Manor. We splurged and asked for the master bedroom of the house ~ The Chelsea. It was a comfortable, beautiful room with views of the sea. The bed was delightful and the linens and duvet felt like butter. Three winged chairs were perfectly set by the windows where one could look out at the water and watch people go by as they happily walked the seaside path. The washroom was spacious and had a luxurious jetted tub. Of course breakfast was delicious; a true gourmet experience. Dave was a fabulous host who remembered our names and treated us like royalty. He had maps of the area available, gave great directions, and made reservations for us to attend Afternoon Tea at the Empress Hotel. The manor is perfectly located directly acoss the street from the huge Beacon Hill Park and is just minutes from downtown Victoria.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Going to Victoria on business, it's always nice to tack on a couple of days for pleasure. We chose the Dashwood because of its location-- close to downtown, and right on the bottom edge of Vancouver Island with the ocean just steps away. There is no shortage of awesome walking either along the expansive shoreline or in Beacon Hill park right across the street.

The mansion is gorgeous-- a hundred years old and nicely appointed. Breakfast was tasty if a little off-beat-- ham and pineapple croissant.

My wife was disappointed in the view however... the advertised "ocean view" (at least in our room) was really only a partial view. Also, the room was quite dusty which bothered my allergies. A working area / desk would have been nice, as would a reading light beside the bed.

Overall, Dashwood is a nice way to experience Victoria-- a great place to launch forth into days of exploring.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myklreinhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave L, Owner at Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Yes, the house is 100 years old this year, and it is a glorious mansion. The house is prominently located along Dallas Road, Victoria’s scenic waterfront drive. All guest rooms have ocean views since we are directly across the street from the ocean. Our website photos and descriptions are quite clear about the views from each guest room. Five of the rooms look directly out to the ocean while the others face more directly to Beacon Hill Park or our character Fairfield neighbourhood, but all have very nice ocean views.

These guests chose our Windsor Oak Room, the original dining room in the house with its original oak panelling, ornate fireplace, hardwood floor and coffered ceiling. The room looks directly out to lovely Beacon Hill Park’s wooded area with a very nice view of the ocean to the west and south to the Olympic Mountain Range of Washington State. As a point of comparison, many local bed and breakfasts located blocks away from the ocean advertise ocean views and have views that are minimal compared to the view from Windsor Oak. The reservation was made online where we have all the room description and photos available to help a guest make the choice that suits them best. Frequently a guest will call and ask our opinion as to the best room for a view and amenities they prefer, but these guests did not do that.

The Windsor Oak Room has a very special and unique ambiance that is highly popular with guests who appreciate heritage. The major pieces of furniture were newly purchased within the past four years and are of a very high quality, complemented nicely with some antique pieces that suit the scale and nature of the room. It is comfortable, clean and in keeping with the ambiance of the room itself. We are a bed and breakfast and not a hotel or standard motel so we do not always have the standard desk hotels provide for guests on a working trip. This room has two, luxurious upholstered oversized armchairs with a side table between so there is ample space to sit and work at a laptop or read. There are also two bedside lamps in addition to the overhead chandelier. It is interesting to note that these guests asked to be moved to a room with a better view on their first day of what was to be a four night stay. As we were fully booked except for one standard room the guest clearly did not want, we could not give them a room with the view she was looking for. The following morning after breakfast (a delicious and very popular Dutch Toasty) the guests left to find other accommodation for the following three nights. Although it is always a disappointment when guests feel so strongly that they cancel part of their stay, in this case we believe the guests should have asked our opinion and checked more carefully if they expected every room to have the best available ocean. We try to be clear and we hope guests will let us know which criteria are show stoppers for them.

Our cleaning routines are very well established after almost 17 years in this business. Our rooms are not dusty or dirty – our industry inspectors would help see to that. We have never, in all the years of being in business, been penalized by an inspector for dusty or dirty rooms. Remember, the house is 100 years old and we have not gutted and modernized as we believe that would destroy the special character of this heritage designated building. If the guest was bothered by allergies, it could have been a myriad of things in the environment that triggered a reaction, from local plants to foods he ate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

A great B&B for enjoying Victoria. The Somerset room had a great balcony view. The breakfasts were better than any other B&Bs we've been to and Dave is very helpful. The location is within walking distance of everything. Only thing they could improve is to add a bike rack in the parking lot.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hkbuczek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews