We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

My 84 year old Mom won a 2 night stay at the Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel at the Burnaby Hospital Volunteer's luncheon. She has been volunteering there for over 20 years. When I booked the manager Cedric, explained that although the letter stated a "harbourview room," there were none available but that maybe one would come available upon arrival. At check in, the gal at the desk listened politely as my excited Mom explained she had won the stay and gave us the "best room in the house." Top floor corner suite with a 180 degree view of Victoria. My Mom marveled as they delivered our pot of coffee, as she had never in her life had room service having been born at the height of the depression in 1930 and raising 3 children as a single (grade 1 teacher) Mom. She decided then since we were not paying, we would eat at the hotel restaurant (5 out of our 6 meals) as that was "the least we could do to thank them." The restaurant bent over backwards, generously honoring her requests for simple food changes not on the menu (potatoes and veggies with her salmon) as the unknown "tapenade" might not fit her palate. Anyway, we had a lovely stay, every part of the hotel is top-notch. All I can say is book early Friday and Saturday for the Blue Crab Restaurant as it books up fast especially on the weekend. Mom and I walked to the Empress in less than 15 minutes but if you can't keep up with an 84 year old, then grab the little water taxi from the Hotel dock.

Room Tip: Go for the Harbourside!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
Thank freddie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastHarbourside, Front Office Manager at Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear freddie13,

Thank you very much for your kind and positive review of mom's recent stay with you at the Coast Victoria Harbourside. It is always a humbling experience to read that our team was able to make such an impact on a guest stay. Certainly no expectation on our behalf of having your meals in the Blue Crab, but it sounds like you were both well taken care of by our team of very experienced servers. Many of them have been with us since the hotel opened 23 years ago, and their enthusiasm for looking after our guests is still the same as it was the day we opened.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you and your mother back to Victoria!

Regards,

Cedric Nagy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    854
    473
    108
    46
    15
See reviews for
361
656
64
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
b.c.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

as a woman traveling there alone, I felt quite safe. The room was on the 6th floor, quiet, pleasant view . But not of the ocean, I was at the front of the hotel. So didn't hear the float planes coming n going. Walking distance to every thing.. Canada celebrations were on, great fireworks too! you can sit on the patio and enjoy a local beer, while viewing the marina.

Room Tip: rooms in front are quieter I'm told. as the rooms over the marina, you get the float planes firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
Thank cariboo.b.c.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastHarbourside, Front Office Manager at Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear cariboo.b.c.

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Coast Victoria. It is always humbling to receive such a positive review from a Senior TripAdvisor Contributor. Sounds like you took full advantage of the festivities in Victoria, as well as our recently expanded patio. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Victoria!

Regards,

Cedric Nagy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We were a couple staying at this hotel as part of a touring group.

The hotel itself was comfortable and clean, the room we had didn't have a harbour view, but it's pot luck on a block booking as to whether you're lucky enough to get a scenic room.

The situation of the hotel was pretty handy for the city centre unless you're advancing of years, and find that you slow down as the day progresses.

I speak for a number of the group when I say that we were extremely disappointed in the buffet breakfast. We were treated like second class citizens tucked away in a function room, bare tables and limited service. The first morning's buffet was barely adequate, although after words from the tour director, day two was an improvement.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastHarbourside, Front Office Manager at Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Joseph M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Coast Victoria Harbourside. We are sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations for the Continental Breakfast which was provided for your group. Each tour operator selects from an extensive available menu; the option selected for your tour was for our Coast Continental buffet, which includes assorted baked muffins, croissants, pastries, fresh fruit, yogurt, granola, juices and coffee and tea.

As you alluded to, our team was able to provide some additional items on the second day to meet the requirements of your group at no extra cost. I am somewhat disenchanted to note that you were still unsatisfied with our efforts to address these concerns.

In order to minimize the cost of tours down, many tour groups choose to book our Comfort or Superior rooms without a view to provide the best value to our mutual guests. It is our pleasure to offer upgrades to harbour view rooms when available, including for our tour group guests. This option can be arranged ahead of time through your travel agent or tour operator who will be able to check availability and quote the corresponding upgrade rate. We are also able to quote an upgrade cost upon arrival at the hotel should any harbour view rooms be available. Note that as these our typically our most popular rooms, we are unable to guarantee availability in these room types unless they are pre-booked.

It is our desire to ensure the expectations of all of our guests are met or exceeded, and it appears that we were unable to do so in this case. Unfortunately, your contact information was not provided to us by your tour operator. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly at the hotel should you wish to further discuss your concerns.

Regards,

Cedric Nagy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We got there in the morning and the front desk agent didn't even greet us or at least smiled. We asked if it's possible to check in early but instead of looking at the computer first, he immediately said, "Well, check in is at 3." I then asked him if we could store our luggage and without saying a word, he just grabbed our luggage and just gave us a claim tag. He didn't even get my information and he didn't really seem interested in us helping out.

That's the only bad experience in our entire stay. Everything else was perfect. The front desk agent who we talked to when we came back after 3pm was very helpful. The hotel is in a quiet location, close to Fisherman's wharf and downtown. The room was very clean. The cleaning staff makes sure everything is perfect every day. We had room service and they had excellent food. Upon checking out, the front desk agent asked us about our stay and was very friendly too.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise_edm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastHarbourside, Front Office Manager at Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Denise_edm,

Thank you very much for your candid review of the Coast Victoria Harbourside. Although we do not often receive feedback such as yours, I have taken the opportunity to reiterate with our team that each guest interaction is as important is the next. I would like to apologize for the substandard welcome you received and look forward to demonstrating our true colours on your next visit to Victoria.

Regards,

Cedric Nagy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay,BC
Level Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

As a traveller you will have stayed in many hotels some high end some less so and the overall experience is not always defined by the number of stars on the hotels rating. The Coast in Victoria will rank much higher as an overall experience than you would expect. Staff are genuinely friendly through out the hotel, the food is very good and the views out on the harbour, especially on a sunny day, are relaxing. You will enjoy staying at this hotel, feel you have received great value for money and it's proximity to downtown Victoria is just right for a walk and then peaceful at night. Whether for business, which I have done often, or pleasure it is first class for a very reasonable price. The seafood chowder is very good and the crab cakes the hotel's signature feature with a class of Chardonnay, a wonderful healthy way to enjoy lunch. If you think I have overstated this hotel after staying here for the past 20 years, then you will be happy to find I am not exaggerating this assessment in any way. The room is very middle of the road but then that is not why you visit Victoria. It is very clean, beds are comfortable and they had my Starbucks coffee for breakfast in the room. The hotel is 3.5 out of 5 but your experience will be 4.2 when you check out. It takes more than hotel star ranking to make a hotel first class and this one tries hard to do just that.

Room Tip: If you can afford it get a water view but it is not necessary given that you aren't in Victoria...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Polish-Golfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastHarbourside, Front Office Manager at Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Polish-Golfer,

Thank you very much for your review. It is always an honour to receive such a high ranking from not only a long term guest, but a Senior TripAdvisor Contributor as well.

We hope to have the opportunity to be of service for years to come.

Regards,

Cedric Nagy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed there in King Bed room and loved it.

The views are amazing, with you looking right over the Harbour. Check in was smooth, delightful staff all the way through from the front staff to the repair men who said hello in the morning and gave us directions. Very nice and helpful staff.

The Bed was fabulous, a great night sleep and then you get to go to the Bluecrab Restaurant for breakfast which is included in the price of the room. Vouchers are worth over $14.00. I had the breakfast buffet which was great and my wife had Eggs Benedict which was fabulous. It cost us less than 8.00 for breakfast.

We will definetly be back. I think we found a new place to stay in Victoria.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastHarbourside, Front Office Manager at Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear George M,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Coast Victoria Harbourside, and for taking the time to share your experience with other TripAdvisor members. I was happy to note that you enjoyed the interaction that you had with all our team and were able to receive a great night sleep.

Although breakfast is not included in all of our offers, it sounds like you were booked in one of our inclusive packages - I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast.

We look forward to seeing you on a future visit to Victoria.

Regards,

Cedric Nagy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Made reservations 5 weeks in advance, got stuck in the lowest floor without a view what so ever. Room was dated and somewhat dirty which was an extreme disappointment. Customer service in the bar was terrible.
The one bright spot was Janet Etter, a local artist that ended up being a goodwill ambassador for the hotel. Her art was the one thing that brought detail to the surroundings. Having her there made the hotel friendlier as well as brightening the main floor that otherwise is not inviting. The price was reasonable but would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Pick a more updated hotel in the city center, the little bit in extra cost is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastHarbourside, Front Office Manager at Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Michael K,

Thank you for your comments regarding room selection during your recent stay at the Coast Victoria Harbourside.

We are pleased to offer a number of different room categories and views in order to suit different budgets and guest expectations. As our Harbour View rooms are our most requested, it was possible that these had already sold out for a stay of four nights at the time you made your reservation. We have taken great care to ensure that guest expectations are met by clearly identifying which of our room types feature harbour views.

Our Comfort Rooms are located on the lower floors of the building and provide great value for those guests who do not place a high importance on staying in a room with a view. This was the room type that had been reserved via your booking agent.

Our Superior Rooms are located on higher floors and offer more expansive views of the local area, James Bay or towards downtown Victoria. These rooms also feature additional amenities such as robes. Some may have partial views depending on their location in the building.

Our Harbour View room category consists of our harbour-facing guest rooms on the North side of the building. All of these rooms feature full harbour views and the same upgraded amenities as our Superior category.

Our top floor features our Premium Rooms, including some with harbour views, and a select number of suites including our city view One Bedroom Suites and our breathtaking Harbour View Harbour Suite. Our Premium Rooms all offer larger balconies, evening turn down service and an enhanced, more refined, product.

I would be happy to assist in selecting the room category that best fits your expectations on a future visit to Victoria. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly at the Hotel when making your travel plans for your next visit to Victoria.

Constructive criticism is a critical component of our success, and I will be sure to pass along your feedback to our Executive Housekeeper regarding your note about room cleanliness.

Thank you once again for your feedback, and I look forward to being of service on a future visit to Victoria.

Regards,

Cedric Nagy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,994 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Oswego Hotel
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,692 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA

Property: Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA
Address: 146 Kingston St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1V4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Victoria
#14 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#14 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria has a whole lot to offer. Nestled between Fisherman’s Wharf and the beautiful inner harbour, our new Urban Style Hotel concept at Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA is yours to enjoy. Our Victoria hotel features a spectacular oceanfront location, providing one of the most captivating views in the area – Letting guests soak in the natural beauty and historic splendor of Victoria, right from their hotel accommodations. Our business hotel is situated on Victoria’s lively outer harbour, featuring a full-service 52-slip marina, award winning restaurant and gorgeous event spaces. All hotel guests are welcome to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service within the downtown core. Many of our well-appointed guest rooms & suites feature breathtaking harbour views. Our rooms come with complimentary wireless Internet and a range of modern amenities. Electric Bidet Seats (TOTO® Washlet), 55” flat screen TVs and traditional welcoming origami cranes, a symbol of hospitality, are standard throughout all. Most offer Juliet or patio-style balconies. These high quality amenities are signature features of APA Hotels in Japan and unique to APA’s Urban Style Hotel concept. You’ll also have access to our fitness center, with whirlpool, sauna and Victoria’s only indoor/outdoor pool overlooking the harbor - not to mention our signature award-winning restaurant, Blue Crab Seafood House, which has been recognized by Frommer’s as the “Best seafood spot in Victoria.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel And Marina
Coast Hotel Victoria
Coast Harbourside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing