We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“credit card world :-/”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Duncan, Canada
1 review
“credit card world :-/”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

As a teacher I had expected that there would be a level of trust and respect but it is not the case. Annually the teachers meet here for the south island zone meetings so the rooms are taken care of by our locals. However, there is this policy that dictates whether or not you can enter the room that the local union has purchased for you. If you have no credit card or cash you do not get your key.
My local president had made arrangements so that I would not have to go through this embarassment but according to the clerks there was no such notice. I let my president know what had happened and that I would head back home. She contacted the hotel and said I should come back. Due to the way I was treated I really did not want to return at all but did so at the request of my local union president.
Without going into my own history too much....I have had to begin re-establishing my credit after my ex-husband ruined it for me....so I have no credit cards....I didn't have $50 to give them for contingencies.....this money is for my meals while I am here.
I am not impressed with this treatment personally or professionally. Having stayed here before and didn't cause problems ...shouldn't this be enough?? Perhaps giving them my drivers license would have sufficed? My entire deck of identification.....blood donar card...anything...
I had purchased a pre-paid visa for this purpose before and the hotel said it has to be a real visa and would not accept it....so I haven't done that again....
Not feeling good about the stay here and worry that the staff will sabbotage my stay here or at other hotels/resorts by submitting a complaint. Usually I enjoy my time here....not this time.

Room Tip: this room is noisy....street is well travelled
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastHarbourside, General Manager at Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Debbie M:

Thank you for accepting my call this past week, and the opportunity to discuss your recent stay.

I look forward to the opportunity to have you stay with us in the near future, and as discussed, the opportunity to improve on our recent performance and earn back your trust.

I truly appreciate your time and thank you for presenting me the opportunity to take steps to improve on our performance. Without your guest feedback we cannot continue to improve our services. We all look forward to the opportunity to be of service.

Sincerely,

Jim Douglas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    813
    465
    103
    45
    14
See reviews for
346
627
61
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We always stay at the Coast Victoria Harbourside when we are revisiting our home city. The 10th floor corner suite is fabulous. Clean, spacious, well accommodated, with a wrap around balcony and gorgeous view over the inner harbour. The bathroom is very large, and well appointed with all the usual amenities, including a bidet.
The fridge was welcome to keep our wine, etc. cool. King bed was very comfortable, nice sitting area, free wifi. We have always found the service to be top notch and staff more than pleasant and accommodating . What more could you want.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotia-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastHarbourside, Front Office Manager at Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Scotia-7,

We were delighted to have to opportunity to welcome you back to the Coast Victoria Harbourside. Our Premium (10th floor) Harbour View rooms are in such high demand, that they can only be reserved by calling our reservations office directly. I'm happy to see that you were able to secure a stay for an entire week in your preferred room!

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back next time you are "home"!

Regards,

Cedric Nagy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Great location, close to the city and overlooking the harbour. A great hotel from which to explore the charms of Victoria. We had a room with a view of the harbour, and enjoyed watching the ferries, cruise ships and float planes. It was just a short walk to Fisherman's Wharf with its quaint floating village.

Room Tip: The ideal room would be one with a view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Aussies1442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastHarbourside, Front Office Manager at Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear 2Aussies,

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Coast Victoria Harbourside. It sounds like you were able to make the most of your harbour view room.

We look forward to having the opportunity to be of service on your next visit to Victoria.

Regards,

Cedric Nagy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We booked our stay here for our trip to Victoria, BC. It is within a couple blocks from the ferry from Port Angeles. This is a definite 3-4 star hotel experience. The room service from the Blue Crab restaurant downstairs was amazing. Best clam chowder I have had ever. We also made use of the shuttle, and concierge service, a few times. Kevin, the night time concierge was the best. He was very fun to talk with and loves to share Victoria with the guests. We will definitely be back to enjoy this great hotel, and experience again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrNurse78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastHarbourside, Front Office Manager at Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear MrNurse78,

Thank you for your recent visit to the Coast Victoria Harbourside. I'm happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of our many amenities such as our convenient on-demand shuttle and the delicious room service! Kevin will be delighted to hear that he made such an impact on your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Cedric Nagy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We enjoyed this hotel. it is well kept an d friendly. Well helpful with recommendations and has a shuttle. We had a room with a view of the harbor. Small balcony, but view of sunrise and sunset. Harbor is beautiful and you must take the Water Taxis. Recommend and would stay there again.

Room Tip: get a harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rphrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastHarbourside, Front Office Manager at Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear rphrun,

It was a pleasure hosting you during your visit to Victoria. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that mother nature co-operated and displayed her magnificent sunrise and sunsets. It's always worth the upgrade to harbour view!

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Cedric Nagy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Very nice hotel at reasonable price. Great view of the marina/harbor from the bar and restaurant. Water taxi pick up is right there from the dock. There is a good whale watching outfit right below the hotel, and you board the boat right there. You can walk along the water to the inner harbor/ downtown/Empress in 10-15 minutes. Front desk staff was wonderful. We arrived early in day (noonish) and they were able to get us right unto our room. Gave us all kinds of advice on where to go and how to get there. Emilio was also wonderful, and drove us to several places downtown for dinner. Rooms were nice and clean. Ours didn't have much of a view (roof and back of airconditioning unit), but hell - there are 4 sides to a building - SOME rooms have to have less than a stellar view. We weren't there to spend time in our room looking outside the window anyway, the room was not advertised as having a great view, and I have the feeling that had we asked, they would have switched us if they had another room available. But we didn't ask because it wasn't important to us. All good. Very convenient location as I said. And Fisherman's Wharf is literally a 5 minute walk nextdoor. Just a great, convenient location, very nice accomodations at a reasonable price, nice bar and restaurant, great view by the marina, and very nice staff. I would absolutely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone. Well done Coast Victoria.

Room Tip: Avoid west side 4th floor if a view is important to you - roof and back of A/C unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 358Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastHarbourside, Front Office Manager at Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear 358Michael,

Thank you very much for your visit to Victoria, and the Coast Victoria Harbourside. I was happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, specifically with respect to the location of the hotel and our Front Desk team. Emilio was thrilled to hear of your compliments.

Although our 3:00pm check in time is one of the earliest in Victoria, it is our pleasure to provide an earlier check in if the room has become available earlier.

We look forward to be of service in the future.

Regards,

Cedric Nagy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were impressed by the look of this hotel but when we got our room we were a bit disappointed. It was only average and it is the first hotel we have stayed in for ages that has not had a room safe to keep our passports etc in. The room was kept lovely and clean but in general it looked a bit tired and in need of updating. There was nowhere to sit and relax outwith our room except for the bar.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotty538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastHarbourside, Front Office Manager at Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Scotty538,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Coast Victoria Harbourside. We are always sorry to hear when we fall short of expectations. Although your comments with respect to room cleanliness were appreciated, I was troubled to note that you were unable to find anywhere relaxing to sit apart from your room or the lounge at the Blue Crab Seafood House. Many guests enjoy relaxing on the outdoor ocean-view patio, in our lobby observing our Resident Artist, or in the more private Lower Lobby.

Should your travel plans bring you back to Victoria, you will be pleased to note that we do offer a complimentary safety deposit box at the reception desk.

We look forward to the opportunity to be of service in the future.

Regards,

Cedric Nagy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Inner Harbour
0.2 mi away
Inn at Laurel Point
Inn at Laurel Point
#10 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,943 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Oswego Hotel
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA

Property: Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA
Address: 146 Kingston St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1V4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Victoria
#14 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#14 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria has a whole lot to offer. Nestled between Fisherman’s Wharf and the beautiful inner harbour, our new Urban Style Hotel concept at Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA is yours to enjoy. Our Victoria hotel features a spectacular oceanfront location, providing one of the most captivating views in the area – Letting guests soak in the natural beauty and historic splendor of Victoria, right from their hotel accommodations. Our business hotel is situated on Victoria’s lively outer harbour, featuring a full-service 52-slip marina, award winning restaurant and gorgeous event spaces. All hotel guests are welcome to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service within the downtown core. Many of our well-appointed guest rooms & suites feature breathtaking harbour views. Our rooms come with complimentary wireless Internet and a range of modern amenities. Electric Bidet Seats (TOTO® Washlet), 55” flat screen TVs and traditional welcoming origami cranes, a symbol of hospitality, are standard throughout all. Most offer Juliet or patio-style balconies. These high quality amenities are signature features of APA Hotels in Japan and unique to APA’s Urban Style Hotel concept. You’ll also have access to our fitness center, with whirlpool, sauna and Victoria’s only indoor/outdoor pool overlooking the harbor - not to mention our signature award-winning restaurant, Blue Crab Seafood House, which has been recognized by Frommer’s as the “Best seafood spot in Victoria.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel And Marina
Coast Hotel Victoria
Coast Harbourside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing