We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel by the sea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
New Westminster, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel by the sea”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The location of this hotel is the beginning of a beautiful and memorable stay. Upon entering there is a sense of "welcome and relaxation." The rooms are spacious and calmly decorated, not overpowering. The restaurant staff is genuinely pleasant and the food arrives quickly and hot. It is nicely flavoured and served in acceptable portions. I highly recommend a visit to the fitness centre and of course the pool, don't miss it. Make sure you swim outside at night to enjoy the stars.
This hotel is my "go to hotel" each time I go to Victoria.

Room Tip: I have stayed in different rooms and I was happy with all of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    884
    478
    108
    46
    16
See reviews for
370
676
66
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at the Coast hotel for 6 nights. We got a king bed room with a juliette balcony facing the harbour. The room decor was average and the view was amazing. The restaurant and lounge/bar was excellent and we were there multiple times. The staff were top notch and I would recommend the hotel for service quality and staff. A few items in our room were not working correctly however they were minor items (bathroom fan, tv movie ordering). The price was right for the area and view. The pricing for food is a bit high but it's worth the price. It's about 15 mins to walk to the main downtown core which is perfect because it's a bit quieter and your not fighting traffic in and out of the hotel, plus the sidewalk/path is a beautiful stroll along the harbour.

Room Tip: Read the details of the rooms very carefully on their website because there are a few balcony option...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodi462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Location is okay if you do not mind the 20 minute walk to downtown. Prices for food are exceptionally high.

What they can do for you should you have very loud neighbors, move YOU not the loud people. After two hours of constant bass from the room next door, after requesting them to keep it lower myself. Got fed up, could not relax, rest or un-wind down from meetings all day.

Complimentary Shuttle, well thats only on a first come first serve bases. The younger driver, tells you where to meet him when you want a ride back to hotel. Now if you have trouble getting around this does not work. After calling for a drive back, waited for over 30 minutes in rain and cold, and he insisted he drove passed were I was waiting twice. Not true, sat on bench and watched every van that went by. However did follow me back in the cab I flagged down.

Really disappointed with the time spent here. What is happening to customer service.

Needed to vent, however will not be staying at this hotel anytime soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WE2TCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastVictoria, General Manager at Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Hello WE2TCB,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know where we can improve. It's through our guest’s feedback where we find opportunities to improve our levels of service and continue to build upon our strengths in service.

I am so sorry to hear that you did not have a restful evening due to noise from the neighboring room. I completely understand that this is a frustrating thing to have happened
Noise complaints do not happen in our hotel often but when they do, it is our standard procedure to investigate all noise complaints and to log them for future reference. In terms of asking our valued guests if they’d like to move. We want to offer an immediate resolution if possible. We, of course will always ask the offending parties to quit down regardless. The offer to move guests happens as an additional way of trying to ensure they’re totally satisfied with our response to any concerns. I am truly sorry that noise from another room disrupted your time to relax after your meetings.

I am glad you were able to make some use of our complimentary downtown shuttle service. It is a great amenity for all of our guests to use. Due to the shuttle delivering and picking up guests at the location of their choice, including many of our amazing local restaurants, shops and activities, we often find that we have to ask people to meet us at specific, close by location because of parking or no stopping challenges. We do try and minimize this as much as possible for our guests. I apologize if this was inconvenient for you in the rain; I completely understand why you may be frustrated by that.

Thank you again for your comments and I encourage you to contact me directly at any time to discuss your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Nice bright room, quiet, clean, awesome pool (inside/outside), only complaint, the whirl pool, jets were pretty weak, and the towels were all gone on friday night. Great location, walk to al downtown attractions. Comfortable beds/pillows.fastest elevator ever.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for the harbour view. Sleep quality only average, due to float planes coming and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My sister lives in Arizona, and I in Seattle. A few days away to Victoria is just what we needed. Stayed at the Coast Harbourside, just a few blocks walking distance from the Victoria Clipper ferry terminal. Downtown Victoria is an easy walk from the hotel (about 15 min.) and make sure you take the path along the water! GREAT hotel and AMAZING staff. It really was the staff that made our trip so wonderful. The hotel was clean and inviting. It has a wonderful indoor/outdoor pool and indoor jacuzzi that was perfect after a long day of walking Victoria. The hotel shuttle was a big perk to have when we just couldn't walk back to the hotel, very quick and super friendly drivers. The front desk staff was great on suggestions and very accommodating. This is THE place to stay when in Victoria, Canada.

Room Tip: We had a "partial" view of the harbor, and enjoyed hearing the ferry arrive each morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed with a friend at this hotel because the price was reasonable, it's right on the waterfront (with great views of the harbour), and it's in a quaint neighbourhood where a person can walk to just about everything. The room was nicely decorated, and we had a little balcony facing the water. Behind the hotel there is a path to walk downtown -- a pleasant 15 or 20 minute walk all along the water; and Fisherman's wharf (with interesting houseboats and restaurants) is half a block away. We walked to the Farmer's Market on Saturday morning on the way to the Museum, then had afternoon tea at a small tea room nearby. The restaurant in the hotel is wonderful, with great choices and quality; and there is a pool on site. Front desk staff were helpful and courteous, and they informed us that a shuttle vehicle is available daily to take patrons to places and pick them up if they are called. There is a small charge to park a vehicle underground to be safe as parking in the neighbourhood is apparently very limited and subject to tickets and towing if one is a non-resident. All in all, it was a wonderful experience in a beautiful place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherikin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed on a Friday night for a friends birthday. The welcome and the staff could not have been better, the room and the hotel were spotless. The bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have slept in.
We particularly enjoyed sitting in the Blue Crab lounge and restaurant all 3 times we went we were seated at the window which has one of the best views in Victoria. Drink and food service was excellent and friendly.
We used the shuttle van to take us to another hotel were the party was and Vlad the driver was very entertaining. This is a great free service he picked us up to come back as soon as we called.
We will defiantly return to this fine hotel. 5 star service at a 3 star price.
Thank you.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Patti H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,701 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,607 reviews
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA

Property: Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA
Address: 146 Kingston St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1V4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Victoria
#14 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#14 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria has a whole lot to offer. Nestled between Fisherman’s Wharf and the beautiful inner harbour, our new Urban Style Hotel concept at Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA is yours to enjoy. Our Victoria hotel features a spectacular oceanfront location, providing one of the most captivating views in the area – Letting guests soak in the natural beauty and historic splendor of Victoria, right from their hotel accommodations. Our business hotel is situated on Victoria’s lively outer harbour, featuring a full-service 52-slip marina, award winning restaurant and gorgeous event spaces. All hotel guests are welcome to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service within the downtown core. Many of our well-appointed guest rooms & suites feature breathtaking harbour views. Our rooms come with complimentary wireless Internet and a range of modern amenities. Electric Bidet Seats (TOTO® Washlet), 55” flat screen TVs and traditional welcoming origami cranes, a symbol of hospitality, are standard throughout all. Most offer Juliet or patio-style balconies. These high quality amenities are signature features of APA Hotels in Japan and unique to APA’s Urban Style Hotel concept. You’ll also have access to our fitness center, with whirlpool, sauna and Victoria’s only indoor/outdoor pool overlooking the harbor - not to mention our signature award-winning restaurant, Blue Crab Seafood House, which has been recognized by Frommer’s as the “Best seafood spot in Victoria.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel And Marina
Coast Hotel Victoria
Coast Harbourside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing