We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina by APA
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Kent,England
Level Contributor
241 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Lovely view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

We were lucky to be given an upgrade on arrival so had a lovely harbour view room, room was very clear and the bed was comfy, the staff were very helpful, we had a couple of meals in the Blue Crab in house restaurant and the food was very good, service was a little slow but extremely knowledgeable about the menu. The air con is a bit full on in the restaurant so take a cardi if you go ladies!!! The pool/ hot tub is a bit public swimming baths instead of luxury hotel spa and once again there is the none lockable lockers unless you firstly trek off to the front desk to ask for one!!! Again you don't know this until you are standing in your cozzie with your clothes in your hand and no lock!!! Aaarrgghh. I risked it and put mine in a locker and pushed the door closed but didn't get a lock and it was all there when I returned. My other pet peeve is the paying to park business, why when you pay to stay and they own the underground car park do you still pay extra to park??? We actually got our parking refunded as our last night was hell due to a load of noisy, inconsiderate Koreans charging about on our corridor until 3am!!! Not the hotels fault but it was a nice gesture.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank stormtwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    778
    453
    102
    45
    14
See reviews for
332
606
61
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Visited with my brother and sister-in-law from the UK and we were all very impressed with location and proximity to downtown Victoria and inner harbour.Staff were very helpful and friendly,plus the rooms had great decor and views.Will definitely stay again on our return to Victoria.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We were exceptionally pleased with our choice of hotel. The location was perfect for us, with a good walk to the harbour and town. Great staff, superb food in the bar area and, of course, the restaurant. Quite expensive in the restaurant, but excellent service and quality of food. Somebody commented that the Blue Crab is the best seafood restaurant in town!

Room Tip: Make sure you face the harbour. It's a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

It is located in a beautiful spot very close to central Victoria , actually walking distance or take a water taxi ($5) . Rooms are rather small and the walls between them seem to be very thin. You can actually listen to your naighbours. In fact we had very noicy ones which kept on making banging noices until late after midnight. We complained to the front desk and nothing happened.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastVictoria, General Manager at Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina by APA, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Hello Billy D,
Thank you for your comments.
I am so sorry to hear that you did not have a restful evening due to noise from the neighboring room. I completely understand that this is a frustrating thing to have happened
Noise complaints do not happen in our hotel often but when they do, It is our standard procedure to investigate all noise complaints and to log them for future reference. We will first call the room to ask that the noise stop and then check back via walks of our guest floors throughout the evening. If the noise persists, we then knock on the door to check the state of the guests and the room and will then make a decision to either ask them to quit down or ask them to leave. Generally there is no need for a third visit.
I am truly sorry that noise from another room disrupted to your evening, and I will be sure to reinforce to our evening security that persistent noise cannot be tolerated under any circumstances.
Thank you again for your comments; I hope you had a safe and enjoyable journey home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We were here for a couple of nights towards the end of our trip to Canada and this certainly is one of the better Hotels we have stayed at.
The Hotel is in a great spot - we preferred it as it was a little way out of the centre of town, but still easily within walking distance. We liked the fact we were on the harbourside, near Fisherman's Wharf and next to a stop for one of the little water taxis.
The room itself is not massive, but clean and fully equipped with everything you need to ensure your stay is more than comfortable. The bathroom is really good.
We didn't eat in The Blue Crab, as it looked pretty costly, but did have a bar meal, which was really tasty and good value. The view from the bar area overlooking the harbour was great too.
As another reviewer has said, the fact that the Hotel has a shuttle that will take you into town whenever you want is also a really great idea.
The thing that narks me is that you get charged for parking your car - not the most expensive we had in Canada, but I still begrudge paying it.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms do not have great views at all - if you want a view of the Harbour, best to ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pod3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Have stayed at this hotel many times over the past 10 years for business and pleasure.  Like my experience with all Coast hotels, they are very reliable with value for the money, great friendly and attentive service, and great catering and meeting rooms too.  The Harbourside just re-opened after being completely closed for several months for building remediation work.  It's maintained very well and the harbour views are beautiful.  It's a 10 minute walk into downtown, so if you don't mind that you will be rewarded with a quiet and relaxing location and wonderful views.

Room Tip: Try to get a harbour view room overlooking the inner harbour. Even if you have to pay for the upgra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2000neon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We have been coming to the Coast for years and this year was the biggest disappointment of all. I have never had an issue paying the rate at this hotel but this time was not worth it and I had to remind them of the 3 night package deal they were offering. This hotel is in desperate need of repair and the service has fallen so far below par. I was not expecting shiny and new but at the very least I think a good steam clean of the carpets would not be too much to ask for. The bathroom we had was so dingy that I asked for it to be cleaned because I thought it was not done yet. The additional cleaning was no help. The Blue Crab lounge was always a great place for a cocktail and now they did not even have one type Port on the shelf. What lounge does not have a cheap Port sitting on the shelf? I am sad to have to write this review because of my previous love for this location and what it used to be.

Room Tip: Every room on the 4th floor was old and dingy and it is very loud so expect to hear all aspects othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ducfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastVictoria, General Manager at Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina by APA, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments in regards to your recent stay. I'm truly sorry that we did not live up to your expectations It is so important that we please our returning guests on each and every one of their stays. I'd like to hear more about your experience, so please contact me directly either via email; s.quinney@coasthotels.com or by calling 250.940.1123, as I would really appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you. I hope to hear from you soon.

Scott Quinney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.7 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#15 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inn at Laurel Point
Inn at Laurel Point
#11 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Inner Harbour
0.5 mi away
Victoria Regent Hotel
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina by APA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina by APA

Property: Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina by APA
Address: 146 Kingston St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1V4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Victoria
#14 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#14 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina by APA 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A captivating location, a 42 slip marina, the award-winning Blue Crab Seafood House, and Victoria's only indoor/outdoor swimming pool make the Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel one of Victoria's most popular. Guests return time and time again for the quiet ambiance, unique waterfront setting, friendly hotel service and delicious food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina by APA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel And Marina
Coast Hotel Victoria
Coast Harbourside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing