We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprise, nice Hotel, perfect location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Brunei
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A surprise, nice Hotel, perfect location.”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We book last minute on the road so it was a pleasent surprise when we checked in to find all was well. Perfect location with whale watching downstairs, short walk to Victoria town centre. Clean and tidy rooms with view across the harbour entrance. Beds comfortable, bathroom clean and enough towels. I would highly recommend this hotel, it's now our hotel of choice in Victoria, stayed at several others in the past.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T0mS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    860
    473
    108
    46
    15
See reviews for
363
660
64
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camas
Level Contributor
226 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Arrived and greated by a bellman (Vladamir 0 a great personanilty) Front desk girl was frazzelled but held her cool under pressure and gave us great service. The room was spacious, TV, refer, view of the bay. Great place.

Room Tip: ask ffor a room facing the Empress hotel our view was of the Fishermans warf which was ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamasGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We arrived at the hotel and were greated right away by very friendly staff. The front desk clerk asked if we were a Coast Club member, I wasn't sure, so she said that they would upgrade our room anyways. We booked a three night stay that worked out to $118/night a good deal for this level of hotel. The hotel room was clean, quiet, and had a couch, desk, fridge and coffee maker, and no smoking. Beds were comfy, no problems with anything!! The maid service was friendly, greeted us every morning. We went to the lounge and had a drink and lunch (the House red merlot was lovely). The food was excellent and the bartender was extremely friendly and a pleasure to chat with. The view from the restaraunt/lounge was great. You could catch a little water taxi from our hotel dock to a multitude of waterfront areas $5 per stop per person. Whale watching tours also on location. Although we had a fridge in our room, there was really no where close to buy or purchase any food to store. Breakfast was not included in our price and runs about $15/person, it would have been nice to pick up some fruit, cereal and milk to have in the morning (we usually eat healthy and light breakfast's, if we had a car this would not have been a problem). We did not have a car, so getting around meant using our feet for the most part. This hotel is a bit off to the side of the main marina and the Parlaiment buildings, but the walk to downtown Victoria was pleasant and beautiful. A walking path along the water front took approximately 10 - 15 minutes. It is lovely and quiet. There are benches, flowers, trees and park-like settings all along the route, Absolutely beautiful to walk, run, sit, and relax!! It is fine to walk it in the morning, but after a long day of walking around downtown for several hours, it is a little long (we run and we are in fairly good shape and we were tired at the end of the day...water taxi back to the hotel is a good idea after the long day). There is a Fisherman's wharf that is near by, we tried the fish and chips at Barb's Fish Stand. There is not much to see but there is a park under construction near the wharf and will improve the "to-do" in the area immensly once it is completed. The conceirge booked us a tour for Butchart gardens, we went by coach bus (meeting at the Empress), which also gave us free entrance to the Butterfly gardens and returning back at different times during the day (I would recommend going this route even if you have a car, since the driver gives you information and you relax on the way there and back). The conceirge also gave us information on catching the BC Ferry to Vancouver. The pool in the hotel was nice, 1/2 indoor and 1/2 outdoor (no weight room, to my husband's dismay, he had to swim with me instead). Very clean. We had breakfast and dinner in the main restaurant, both the staff and food were excellent! If you have a car, you don't have to walk, but you will need to find parking downtown and you'll have to pay to park. You can get the hotel bell man to drop you off downtown, I think, or you can take the water taxi. After leaving the hotel, we were a little disappointed we didn't pick the Coast Vancouver to stay in when we left for Vancouver.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RlynnP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

always love to come back to the Coast in Victoria. great location to take walks to the inner harbor at night (the parliament building looks nice at night) also only a 8min walk to the Heli Jet terminal.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinotn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alberni, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

When we went to check out, the hotel tried to charge us for services used by other guests! We were literally held captive in their lobby for hours because we refused to pay for someone else's restaurant meals. When they finally realized their mistake and my wife & I were allowed to checkout & leave, all I wanted was an apology, which they outrightly refused. We used to stay in the coast hotels all the time. Not any more. Btw... the Sept 2011 date in my review is incorrect. It was much earlier than that. But there's no expiry date on a truely terrible experience like the one we had.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leif G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastVictoria, General Manager at Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you for your comments in regards to your recent stay. I'm very sorry that we did not live up to your expectations in terms of an accurate bill on check out.. Please contact me directly as I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you in person.

Warm Regards, adn thank you again for your comments,

Scott Quinney
Geberal Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Absolutely fantastic value at this hotel. We have nothing negative to say about it. The rooms were quiet, clean and excellent value for your money. When we come to Victoria again, we will definitely be staying at this hotel again. Love the view of the harbor and the quiet location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christhebrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at the hotel and couldn't of picked a better place to stay. Friendly staff, free shuttle to and from any place you want to go in Victoria. The restaurant there was very nice, overlooking the harbor. Really enjoyed watching the sea planes takeoff and land. Would choose not to stay any where else. We will be back.

Room Tip: Any room will be great. You don't need the room overlooking the harbor, unless you prefer it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,996 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Oswego Hotel
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,697 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA

Property: Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA
Address: 146 Kingston St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1V4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Victoria
#14 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#14 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria has a whole lot to offer. Nestled between Fisherman’s Wharf and the beautiful inner harbour, our new Urban Style Hotel concept at Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA is yours to enjoy. Our Victoria hotel features a spectacular oceanfront location, providing one of the most captivating views in the area – Letting guests soak in the natural beauty and historic splendor of Victoria, right from their hotel accommodations. Our business hotel is situated on Victoria’s lively outer harbour, featuring a full-service 52-slip marina, award winning restaurant and gorgeous event spaces. All hotel guests are welcome to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service within the downtown core. Many of our well-appointed guest rooms & suites feature breathtaking harbour views. Our rooms come with complimentary wireless Internet and a range of modern amenities. Electric Bidet Seats (TOTO® Washlet), 55” flat screen TVs and traditional welcoming origami cranes, a symbol of hospitality, are standard throughout all. Most offer Juliet or patio-style balconies. These high quality amenities are signature features of APA Hotels in Japan and unique to APA’s Urban Style Hotel concept. You’ll also have access to our fitness center, with whirlpool, sauna and Victoria’s only indoor/outdoor pool overlooking the harbor - not to mention our signature award-winning restaurant, Blue Crab Seafood House, which has been recognized by Frommer’s as the “Best seafood spot in Victoria.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel And Marina
Coast Hotel Victoria
Coast Harbourside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing