We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great views and beautiful hotel...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great views and beautiful hotel...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

I have stayed in this hotel a few times and have never been disappointed. The service is great, the views are spectacular, and the service is good. My only reservations on this hotel are 1) the hotel pool is an indoor outdoor and so I find it chilly and uncomfortable in the winter and 2) the restaurant is very expensive. I don't mind the cost for dinners, but I find the breakfast and lunch menus out of line with other hotels in the area. I would recommend this hotel to anyone but suggest that you go elsewhere for morning meals.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    431
    97
    43
    14
See reviews for
307
549
56
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Coast Harbourside in Victoria, British Columbia last week and had an amazing stay. The staff at the front desk, the cleaning staff and those in the restaurant have a true customer centred culture and provide excellent service. Clearly the management has done a tremendous job so that all of the staff are engaged and truly want to make ones stay an incredible experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lloomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
165 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

My wife and I and her mother stayed here for a 4 night visit to Victoria, as part of a larger trip down the west coast. We'd visited Victoria before but had always stayed outside the city. This time we wanted to be within walking distance of the harbour area. We were also on a budget so reluctantly decided not to book the Laurel Point, which looks very nice but was $100 a night more. We knew the Coast Harbourside slightly as we'd eaten at its Blue Crab restaurant several times in the past. It had harbour view rooms at a very reasonable price, so we booked two.

For the price I think we were expecting something fairly ordinary - adequate but perhaps no more - but we were surprised. The hotel is pleasant and well-maintained, the staff very helpful, and the rooms well equipped and comfortable. As we knew from the hotel descriptions, the balconies are extremely small - nowhere near large enough for sitting, but they did allow you to step outside to get a 180 degree view, so still worth having.

Victoria has an inner and an outer harbour. The inner harbour seems to be the centre of everything in Victoria, with the parliament building to one side, the Empress hotel on another side and all kinds of interesting activity in and around the harbour. Sadly, you can't see this from the Coast hotel, which does however have fine views of the outer harbour. You see boats coming and going, including the Coho ferry going to and from Port Angeles. And - best of all for me - you can watch the sea planes landing and taking off right in front of you. This goes on all day and is great to see. I think someone in one of the reviews here complained about the noise; they are noisy when taking off but personally I like it and they don't start before 8am, so it's not as if you'll be woken in the middle of the night.

The walk from the hotel into town is very easy and attractive, along the edge of the outer harbour and then a short distance along the road to the inner harbour with all its many attractions. The downtown area with its shops and restaurants are is just off the other side of the inner harbour - maybe 20 minutes pleasant walk from the hotel.

So, I'm giving 4 stars because ideally we'd have liked to be even closer to the inner harbour area, and would also have liked a proper balcony that we could sit on. Having said that, I really can recommend it - it's all good and excellent value too. We would definitely stay there again on another visit to Victoria.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan_from_Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quesnel, Bc Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Victoria Coast Harbourside Hotel. It was a clean and quite hotel with comfortable beds. The rooms are actually quite small. If there were 4 people sharing the room with the 2 queen size beds it would pretty tight. There is only about one foot between the wall and the side of the one bed and the side of the desk is only about 2 inches away from the head side of the other bed. The Hotel advertises high speed internet in all rooms but what they don't say is that it is not wireless internet. If you want wireless internet you have to go downstairs to the lobby. Unfortunately, touch pads, net books and ipods do not have connection ports for their internet cables. I was staying on the 6th floor so I was quite surprised when I got up one morning and went and had a shower and when I came back in the main room I heard something outside the window. I looked out and there was a man right out the window. He was putting up scaffolding. It would have been nice if someone had of mentioned that they would be working outside the windows when we checked into our rooms. The Blue Crab restaurant and lounge were quite good. There is not a lot of restaurants or shopping right around this hotel as it is in more or a residential area as opposed to the downtown area,. The views from the hotel of the inner harbour are very nice and the restaurant had floor to ceiling windows as well so it is neat to be able to watch the ducks, and otters swimming in the harbour while eating.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarabyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Located a 10 minute walk from downtown Victoria, the Coast Harbourside provides a respite from the full bore tourism that makes the city such a great place for visitors. Located on the water, the hotel borders on a quiet residential area with some excellent and unassuming restaurants scattered nearby.

In season, a short walk to Fishermans' Wharf for Fish & Chips at Barb's floating restaurant is a must. The eclectic mix of commercial and pleasure craft, floating residences and businesses all sharing the dock is fascinating. Follow Dallas road for a longer walk, past the Heliport and cruise ship terminal, and follow the seawall to Holland Point and Beacon Hill Parks.

This is a relatively small hotel with all the appointments one expects in a good business oriented hotel. The restaurant is good but pricey for my government meal allowance! The rooms all have some sort of view except the lowest on the inland side. The staff are unfailingly helpful, and the concierge is quick to offer a ride downtown should the need arise.

A quiet neighborhood, great walking nearby and all the usual amenities make the Coast my favourite hotel in Victoria.

Room Tip: Waterfront rooms have fabulous view of the harbour, Upper inland rooms look out across the low rise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackbirdguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

I was here with my son for a hockey tournament and we were very comfortable in the room we booked. It was clean and comfortable with a little balcony overlooking the harbour. I watched the seaplanes take off and land, as well as the Nanaimo Clipper set out for it's voyage. The location is central enough to be able to walk to shops and restaurants. The staff at the front desk was very polite and helpful, and the shuttle bus driver was very accommodating to our group. The lounge/restaurant served good food and drinks, but closed down about 10:30, even on the weekends, which seemed a bit early. Also, be aware that parking is an additional 12 dollars per night, which isn't always brought up at check-in. Overall, I would stay here again, and recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teadro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

Our latest stay at the Victoria Harbourside was Nov. 12 & 13th. We are frequent visitors to Victoria and have stayed at many different hotels in the downtown area. We have a good sense of what makes a good location in the city core. The Harbourside has a nice location for us as it is easy walking distance to DT, Provincial Parliament Buildings, etc. We also like to run and the hotel is at he edge of the downtown with immediate access to Dallas Rd. (waterfront) and Beacon Hill Park(several blocks down). If you have small children be prepared to stroller them home as it may be a bit of a stretch to ask them to walk the 10 minutes in to the core, be busy all day, then walk home. You definitely do not need a cab, peddy cab, car to get anywhere from here.

The best part about the hotel are it's rates, especially in the off season. It is a relatively comfortable hotel with pricing below market. BUT expect to get what you pay for. The hotel has scene better days. It is not up to 4 star standards of other hotels in the area. (EG Ocean Point Resort) The rooms are clean but the bed is less than comfortable. Bathrooms are an older style with steel tubs and shower curtains.The kind of unit where you need to throw down a no slip mat first. The toilet in ours was barely working. the heat/cool system is a cheap through-wall unit which is a bit noisy. (a la motel style)

The pool area is OK and has an indoor/outdoor pool and an indoor whirlpool. The issue here is with the cheap off season rates comes the teenager teams on the weekend trips. You've been warned. In high season this has never been an issue.

Service is certainly satisfactory. They staff do try their very best. Unfortunately we had to experience small bit of a hiccup. They desk person had written the wrong room number on our key envelope so we ended up at the wrong room. We trudged back downstairs and instead of looking into the matter the gal at the desk immediately reprogrammed the keys to the room number written on the envelope which let us into someone else's occupied room. Embarrassing. No apology was made at the front desk but a different gal quickly looked into things and explained what had gone wrong.

If you are the kind of traveler who likes a good location and a clean, satisfactory experience at a better than market value, then this is your gem. If you value a better quality bed and other niceties then try somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mountiantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#16 of 53 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
Inn at Laurel Point
#10 of 53 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 53 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 53 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina

Property: Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina
Address: 146 Kingston St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1V4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Victoria
#14 Family Hotel in Victoria
#14 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A captivating location, a 42 slip marina, the award-winning Blue Crab Seafood House, and Victoria's only indoor/outdoor swimming pool make the Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel one of Victoria's most popular. Guests return time and time again for the quiet ambiance, unique waterfront setting, friendly hotel service and delicious food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel And Marina
Coast Hotel Victoria
Coast Harbourside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing