We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but some downsides”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
U.S.
Level Contributor
94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great location, but some downsides”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2009

Things to know: the hotel isn't air conditioned, and there is no air conditioner in the bedroom. This means that all doors have to be left open to allow the room air conditioner in the living room to try to cool the bedroom. The door to the bedroom is glass in any case. There is no bathroom attached to the bedroom -- the sole bathroom for the suite is in the hall next to the door. The suite has a coffeemaker and a refrigerator but you can't cook there. The rollaways are airbeds that lose air during the night leaving your teenager in a somewhat contorted position. The decor is frumpy. The hotel is in a terrific location, though, centrally located but also quiet.

Helpful?
1 Thank Shain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,168
    694
    160
    55
    32
See reviews for
627
728
100
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2009

Good location but not much in Victoria is too far out of the centre. OK price but a slightly dingy, worn suite. Great little kitchen. Portable AC unit reeked of mold when run. Hole in the ceiling of the bathroom drained water onto the toilet when the upstairs neighbors ran water on the floor from the shower(I hope it was the shower.) Front Desk staff was pleasent yet ineffective, "We'll send up a maid to sop up the water pouring from the hole in the ceiling!" FIX THE WATER PROBLEM AND THE HOLE! Vista 18 hostess seemed to care less. Busy weekend in Victoria but no excuse .

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevceder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2009

Great location, only a couple blocks from the Empress Hotel, waterfront, and all the downtown shops. Front desk was perfectly helpful and front lobby pleasant to the eye. The rooms were clean, but that's about all I give them. The bed spread was so old there were threads frayed everywhere and the color was faded, the beds themselves were a mass of lumps, and the view was an ugly parking lot with a tractor crane. Luckily we spent very little time in our room, as we were enjoying all the wonderful sights. Victoria is simply divine. The room served its purpose as a place to shower and sleep, and be on your way the next morning.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoneybeeLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2009

Having lived in Victoria for 5 years, we knew this hotel's location was perfect! It was out of the hustle & bustle of the touristy clusters near the Legislative Buildings but still close to everything.

Front desk and cleanliness of the hotel were excellent. They even had a little package with goodies & treats to welcome our dog as well. We were told Pet friendly floors are only on 2 floors of the hotel so we were limited to our choices of rooms. We were situated right above the front lobby and facing the entrance.

The air conditioner is a separate unit and was next to the tv. A little loud but this helped minimize the white noise.

Overall experience: Great.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbgizzmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2009

Had a 3 day get away with 4 longtime friends. We loved the Chateau. The location was the best around as we were within a couple blocks of everything downtown and the main attractions on the inner harbor. The Chateau is just behind the Empress and Marriott. The staff was always friendly, cheerful and very helpful. They were very knowledgable and told us exactly which buses to take to get to the gardens and castle. They drew maps to everywhere else we wanted to go. The rooms were very nice and comfortable for 5. We had a queen one bedroom suite which easily slept 5 .We had a seperate sitting room with very nice sofa bed ,chair, desk, window, closet and mirror. We had two TVs, two sinks, frig, lots of mirrors(important for 5 women) stand up airconditioner which was quiet and worked well. The temp was in the 80's and the conditioner worked well. We had a small balcony with a nice view of the harbor. The food in Vista 18 was wonderful and everything was fresh and homemade. We especially enjoyed breakfast. The view was the best in town. The lounge downstairs was also nice and friendly with good food.The room was ready when we arrrived at 9:30am and they staff locked up our luggage till we left on the 3rd day at 6:00pm. The van driver was at the dock to pick us up within minutes of arrival and returned us to the Victoria Express when we left. The drivers were very friendly and shared about Victoria when we arrived. I would highly recommend the Chateau for anyone wanting to be downtown in a very nice, friendly and clean hotel. I will definately return to the Chateau with my husband. The cost for a suite that would sleep 5 was $200. Most hotels we would have had to book 2 rooms for a total higher price. I would also recommend high tea at the gardens. What a setting we had at the garden and it was half the price of the Empress. The only thing not a positive would be the morning downtown traffic noise which would apply at any downtown hotels.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kclange25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2009

Stayed for four nights. Room very clean with air conditioning, iron board and iron , hair dryer. Facilities excellent, pool very good but 5ft at shallow end and 9ft deep. Not too good for young children but very good for adults. Very good location , close to Inner harbour within walking distance of everything. Staff very helpful and friendly. Take local bus to such places as Buchart Gardens as cost less than bus trip. Meals in hotel quite reasonable. Also internet service was free but users only allowed 15 mins at a time which is fine. All in all a memorable stay in such a lovely hotel with very helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank immp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

Our family of four had a special guest, a first-time visitor to Canada, and this was our first time to encounter the need for two rooms to meet fire codes. After reading reviews on TripAdvisor and shopping around, Chateau Victoria was the first to suggest a suite, and sweet it was! For a rate comparable to two rooms at other accommodations, we had a beautiful, immaculate, two-bedroom two-bath penthouse suite, with a complete kitchen, and a rooftop deck that wrapped around a quarter of the hotel! We felt like rock stars! Our college-aged children asked if we could cancel our plans for the evening and just enjoy the amenities of the room (expansive 180 degree view of downtown and the harbor, big screen, jacuzzi tub). With the convenient location. we had time to walk along the waterfront to dinner at Red Fish/Blue Fish, visit the amazing museum, and return to relax together in our spacious room, too. The friendly and helpful staff thought of everything - robes in the big walk-in closet, kitchen provisions, etc. plus free parking, internet and local calls. The only thing missing was the noise of the rowdy street and early morning float planes I've unfortunately come to associate with visits to Victoria. We feel blessed to have found this gem and we'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamBrenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,454 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites

Property: Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
Address: Chateau Victoria 740 Burdett Ave | BC, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Victoria
#16 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#19 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Victoria at its finest through an authentic local experience in the heart of downtown, steps from the Inner Harbour. With deeply entrenched roots in the local community and a strong sense of environmental responsibility, we strive to share all that makes Victoria special with each and every guest. Our owner, Mr. Clive Piercy, has a long history on Vancouver Island that began when his grandfather started J. Piercy & Co. back in the mid-1800s. To this day, we remain true to those origins in all that we do - from supporting local farmers to sponsoring local events. Our rooftop grill has been voted in the top ten restaurants with a view in BC, and our cocktail lounge off the lobby has been named one of the top ten hotel bars in the world three times. Experience the best of Victoria through a truly local hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Victoria Hotel Victoria
Chateau Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing