We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - professional staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
Ranked #17 of 56 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Trail, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel - professional staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had an enjoyable stay here in a clean room with comfy beds and great service from knowledgeable staff.

The hotel employees very pet friendly and greeted our dog with enthusiasm, repeatedly. We were provided with a little package for our dog at registration (cookie, baggie and info sheet).

We did not partake of the restaurant or the pub.

The room was a little warm in temperature. The air conditioning unit was not effective and the air did not seem fresh in the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Manager at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and choosing to stay with us for your visit to Victoria. We are happy to hear that you and your dog had a positive experience during your stay with us. Please be assured that your gracious comments have been shared with the entire team for their reading enjoyment! Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Victoria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    917
    571
    138
    51
    28
See reviews for
498
610
82
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Chateau Victoria shortly before our wedding in September. We had booked a Junior Suite and at check-in were given a corner suite on the 5th floor, a great room. The hotel itself is not all that new but it has been looked after - our room was spotlessly clean. Staff were friendly, funny and professional throughout our stay. Location was great, a short walk to the inner harbour area of Victoria, and we also visited the cocktail bar in the lobby (great drinks), as well as the rooftop restaurant for more cocktails and snacks. We feel like this is our place in Victoria and will be back soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmcat13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments and for choosing the Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites during your visit to Victoria. Please be assured that your gracious comments have been shared with the entire team, everyone enjoys such positive reviews. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed 2 nights-wish it could have been more-we love Victoria and other than The Fairmont this is the place to stay for comfort and service Our family bedroom was superbly comfortable. The restaurant was good for breakfast but we ate out for other meals. Staff could not do enough to be of service. Bar is cosy and has a bar-snack ('bar plates' in Canada) menu. Location is good- just a 3 minute walk to harbour front and downtown. Chateau Victoria is classy.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hunter B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your courteous review. We are happy to read that you had a positive experience during your stay with us and in Victoria. Please be assured that your gracious comments have been shared with our employees; everyone enjoys great comments. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEL Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Recently stayed there in a 1 bedroom suite. Cozy atmosphere, and great hospitality. Centrally located yet so peaceful. World famous bar. Great views from the rooftop restaurant. Will love to come again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jagdeep_bhagat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your precious and kind review. Please be assured that your comments have been shared with our team - everyone enjoys reading a great review.
Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Victoria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We are four sisters that take a trip every year together and, of course, all want to be in the same room. We had a beautiful suite with with two queen bed, as well as kitchenette. The lobby is beautiful and welcoming. Although the hotel is conveniently located, the hotel provides a shuttle with friendly drivers to take you to nearby restaurants, etc. We had a nice breakfast on the top-floor restaurant with great views. We enjoyed unusual cocktails in the Olive Room with complimentary tasty sliders. The staff throughout was very friendly and accommodating. If you want to keep your window open, expect to hear seagulls which can be loud.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arlen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you Arlen for staying with us once again and for your excellent review. We are very happy to read that you had and your sisters had such a positive experience with us during your annual visit to Victoria. Your gracious comments have been shared with our entire team; everyone enjoys a great feedback! Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed in a beautifully renovated room on the forth floor, the décor is well thought out and bed and linen made of a great night's sleep, the hotel is centrally situated and within easy walking distance to all amenities and tourist sites. There is an excellent Restaurant with views to die for, which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, the food is exquisite. The cocktail bar in the main lobby is a must with more casual dining menu offered and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We felt at home form the moment we entered the premises, the lobby was a pleasure to relax in after a good days sightseeing, all in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EBRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review Eleanor. We are very happy to read that you felt at home during your experience with us while visiting Victoria. Your gracious comments have been shared with our team ~ everyone likes great comments like yours. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oly; wash
Level Contributor
54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is the 4th time weve stayed here. Its wonderful. and very clean; the front desk people are wonderful and the bar is good too with friendly people everywhere. We had a little trouble with the Air conditioner and maintenance was there in 10 mintues! Fixed the problem...! Window was open with drapes pulled and we didnt know it! also we had the wrong setting!

Room Tip: I think there all good; we stayed in room 305; a little cheaper; and view wasnt good; but it was a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stinkyoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for staying with us once again, and thank you for your admirable review. We are pleased to hear that our team was quick to respond to your request and please be assured that your gracious comments have been shared with our front desk team; they were thrilled by your recognition! Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 56 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,777 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 56 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 stars 3,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 56 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 stars 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites

Property: Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
Address: Chateau Victoria 740 Burdett Ave | BC, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Victoria
#16 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#19 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Victoria at its finest through an authentic local experience in the heart of downtown, steps from the Inner Harbour. With deeply entrenched roots in the local community and a strong sense of environmental responsibility, we strive to share all that makes Victoria special with each and every guest. Our owner, Mr. Clive Piercy, has a long history on Vancouver Island that began when his grandfather started J. Piercy & Co. back in the mid-1800s. To this day, we remain true to those origins in all that we do - from supporting local farmers to sponsoring local events. Our rooftop grill has been voted in the top ten restaurants with a view in BC, and our cocktail lounge off the lobby has been named one of the top ten hotel bars in the world three times. Experience the best of Victoria through a truly local hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Orbitz, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Victoria Hotel Victoria
Chateau Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing